We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 93
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Priceline
USD 93
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
USD 78
View deal
HolidayInn.comUSD 93
HurbUSD 98
Hotels.comUSD 93
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
369
233
124
52
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
369
233
124
52
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk river view restaurant staff king bed leonard downtown bartender
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2020

Spent 2 weeks here while working in Milwaukee during pandemic. Hotel was clean. Staff accommodating and helpful despite limited abilities.

Karen at front desk in the evenings always had a cheerful greeting after a long day at work, along with great dinner suggestions. Would recommend this Holiday Inn.

Date of stay: April 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank lauriel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2020

Laurie, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review. We understand the importance of hygienic ambiance and are pleased to read we exceeded your expectations. We are particularly glad to know our staff made such a good impression on you. Our goal is to be as helpful as possible to meet every need that a guest may have. Comments like yours let us know we are doing a good job. Your compliments will certainly be shared with our team, especially Karen. We appreciate your recommendations and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront.

Sincerely,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2020

Mat and his team are awesome, friendly, and willing to do whatever it takes to take care of their guests. I appreciate their service, professionalism and grace. When in Milwaukee this hotel is a must stay for everyone.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 335rossl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront. We are thrilled to know our Mat and the rest of our staff were able to impress you with the impeccable hospitality we are known for and that you had a great time while you were here. We will be sure to share your compliments with our team. We appreciate you recommending us to future guests and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020

The rooms are amazing the staff goes beyond any Holiday In I have ever visited ,The location is just minute from down town. Flexible . We had birthday event there .The hotel staff could not do enough before and after the event , The riverfront beautiful, clean and nice, Close to many restaurants for options, Quiet , open and plenty of room to gather for many meetings , NO big check in counter just face to face with customers and smiles . Never no we can do not that or help you with that . Not only should u plan to sty there but plan your event there ,You will be amazed .

Room tip: Any room will be a great option .
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2020

Thank you for sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront while you were here for the birthday celebration. We are pleased that our location on the banks of the Milwaukee River and only minutes from downtown made us the perfect spot for your visit to our city. We are also happy you loved our accommodations and that you were impressed with the service provided by our devoted associates. Our team will be pleased to know they had a role in making your stay with us a memorable one. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope to see you the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

My husband & I stayed overnight to spend some time in the area visiting a relative. The hotel was staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room as well as the hotel was clean and had more than enough room. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank laraeof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront for your overnight stay. Even though you didn't get to spend much time at the hotel, we are glad your room was comfortable for you and that you were pleased with our friendly team. It was a pleasure having you as our guests, and we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Sincerely,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

Well, this was one very interesting experience. I got there a little after 8:00pm on a Saturday night and was amazed by the hotel. It looks beautiful on the outside. The parking lot is large and the hotel is huge. I grabbed my two bags and walked in to the lobby to be greeted by no one. I waited at the front desk for about 9 minutes, when finally a receptionist came around. Her name was Kris. She was nice and polite but was swamped with all the guests coming in. There was a big 5K run this weekend and a soccer tournament, so the hotel was flooding with guests. I was surprised Kris was alone at the desk.
I checked in and she gave me my room key. I mentioned that I am an IHG Rewards member and she told me that they took it into the account. I took my bags and took the elevator to the 2nd floor. I found my room but when I tried to use the key, it didn't work. I tried a few times and then decided to head back downstairs. As I came down I noticed a couple waiting to check in. Once again no one was at the desk and they waited for a little while. Since no one was coming around we started calling the hotel phone to see if anyone will come. Kris finally came back and was surprised when she saw me. I told her the key isn't working and showed her the room number that she wrote. She re activated the key and I headed back upstairs with all my bags, once again.
Well, that's when it got interesting. I definitely didn't expect what I saw in the room. I had to head back downstairs and ran into the couple I was waiting with at check in by the elevator. They asked me if the key worked and I said "It worked alright, but there are people in the room." Yea, there were definitely people living there with their clothes all over the bed and shoes on the floor. So I went up to Kris and told her what happened. I had to repeat myself twice. She looked at the computer and said well that's not your room and gave me a key to room 203. Well, it's not my fault she wrote the wrong room number in the first place.
The rest of the night went much smoother. I explored the fitness center and hung out at the bar while waiting for food. I went back upstairs to my room. Let me tell you, the room was spacious with huge TV, beautiful painting, a bunch of lamps and a great bathroom. Everything was going great until I was ready to go to bed. Well, the heater kept making the crackling noise. I tuned it off completely and it still made the noise. For half the night I was trying to make music out of that annoying noise, debating if I should switch rooms. I finally fell asleep.
In the morning, I head to head out around 8:15am to get to my 5K race. I stopped by the desk and got a breakfast coupon. I went to the bar and asked them for an apple juice since it was too early for me to eat breakfast. A nice woman by the name of Deneece gave me apple juice and a straw. As I was waiting there, her co worker came up saying to her "I don't understand why people think they can get free food." Well, I am sorry but we as guests are given breakfast coupon to get free food. Was the restaurant staff not informed? We shouldn't feel bad for doing something we are given. I didn't say anything but definitely felt a little sad for the couple with their two kids sitting and happily chatting at the table. They were the table the waitress just left and was most likely complaining about.
This was definitely an interesting experience that I never experienced in any of my hotel stays in over 15 years. I would highly suggest the management to have extra staff at check in especially Saturday night. One person can't do it. Furthermore, when I was checking out this morning, Kris was at the front desk. Last time I saw her was at 11:00pm at night. This poor woman should get some rest.
I rated the hotel 4 out of 5, because I believe you can do better. The building and location is perfect and the rooms are spacious. With a few extra staff members and hopefully no more hotel keys made for wrong rooms, and no more crackling noise from the turned off heater, this hotel can definitely be a gem in Milwaukee. I would also like the breakfast coupons to be either used or taken out all together, so the restaurant staff doesn't have to complain. I wish the hotel staff all the best and thank you Kris for working so hard last night with the amount of people you had.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L7149LSveronikak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2020

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Holiday Inn Milwaukee Riverfront while you were in town for 5K run. We are pleased to read your comments about our beautiful city and spacious accommodations. We are also glad you were impressed with the service provided by our front desk associate Kris but apologize for the challenges you experienced during check-in with regard to your room as well. What you encountered is not a normal occurrence at our hotel, and we'll be taking steps to improve the guest experience for everyone. We are also sorry for the issues with the heating system and will make sure our engineering team takes care of the unit right away. We value your loyalty and your concerns and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a perfect stay you deserve.

Sincerely,
Mat Meadows
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews