We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Totally overrated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Milwaukee
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hotel is seriously understaffed at all times. At night, they have one valet that also functions as maintenance and housekeeping. The staff is very nice but I have had to wait for my car to be pulled up as well as call the front desk numerous times before someone answers. All of this makes for a very frustrating visit. My car was pulled up to the valet and left running for 15 minutes before I came down. There should be no reason to let a car run without anyone in it. A waste of gas and horrible for the environment.
Decor is very outdated, gym is super tiny and was filled with over 100 dead flies the morning I went to use it. No exaggeration.
Room was clean and comfortable aside from the cheap pillows but I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank constance p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroMilwaukee, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Constance p,

Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received at Hotel Metro. We have built our reputation on genuine, caring service and I am sorry that, as a team, we failed to deliver during your stay. I sent you a private message via your TA profile on 04/20 in hopes of getting some additional information so I can address the service issues directly. If you have a moment, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

Best.
Allison Geschke
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    113
    62
    33
    27
See reviews for
43
191
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This retro hotel that is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee and on one of the hottest entertainment and restaurant streets in the area; Milwaukee Street. It has class, distinction and the service and amenities to go with it. In particular we have visited the restaurant and bar on the main floor. They have a fabulous happy hour that feature quality wines, locally brewed beers (not a broad selection on tap...but good ones) and great martinis....or so I'm told as I am more of a wine and beer girl. They feature a happy hour appetizer menu that is reasonable in selection and a great price and varies based on the chief's selection. The is a "certified green" property and they make every effort to utilize local purveyor's and you can taste and feel it in the vibe.

We haven't stayed over night yet but if our initial experiences were this good, we feel fairly confident that the room/amenities will be just as impressive. They also have a roof top bar that is open seasonally and during big city events. We are looking forward to the summer months to experience it as I believe they building is at least 16 to 18 stories tall. Come with your sweetie or with your friends and enjoy. They also feature business and social/wedding planning options...I work for a major company and I'm considering it for an company offsite meeting.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before accepting... We are thinking that's what we'll do as this isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroMilwaukee, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
GLVB,

Thank you so much for the kind words GLVB! We are delighted to hear you had a nice time in our onsite restaurant, METRO. We very much look forward to hosting an overnight accommodation for you in the near future! Please feel free to contact us directly with any corporate meeting inquiries! We hope to see you soon.
Best,
Allison
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
204 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here recently for business; it was a rare delight to be accomodated in something besides a chain hotel. The very unique decor is delightful. My room was huge, bisected by a curving partial-height wall into "living" and "sleeping" areas. The bed was quite comfortable. Heavy curtains helped mute outside traffic noise, and I slept well. The bathroom and amenities were quite nice. I met several colleagues in the attached restaurant for breakfast and lunch; the food was creative and excellent. I hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroMilwaukee, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for the kind words Fuzby! We look forward to your next stay with us. Please feel free to contact us beforehand for any special accommodations or requests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I really liked this hotel in downtown Milwaukee. The hotel is in an older, historic building, so it does have certain old building issues, Yes, the A/C was tempermental (don't think it got below 75 degrees our first night. I rated the sleep quality slightly lower because of this), the water took its time moving from cold to hot, and the walls are a little thin, but I consider all those "character" when staying in this type of hotel.

The hotel is classy and the rooms are nice and big. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. Not quite a 2 bedroom as the rooms are merely divided and open to the other rooms. So, if you are looking for privacy from children or other people staying with you, you will not have it in this suite. Each room had its own flat screen TV as well as the sitting area. The beds were super comfy and the amenities were top notch. We all loved the bath robes. The hot tub on the top floor with great view of the city was also a favorite. They also have a sauna, but neither us, or other guests, could ever firgure out how to work it.

The hotel has a certain charm because of its retro style and location in downtown. Walking up to the front entrance always reminded me of walking up to an old 1920's era hotel. On weekends the hotel even has its "Metro Taxi" which is an old style car with suicide doors. The cab is complimentary and we enjoyed taking it out to dinner. But its really the staff that "made" our stay. Congrats to management as everyone from valets, bellman, front desk, bartenders, housekeepers, and wait staff were very friendly, patient and helpful. David at the front desk virtually shaped our Milwaukee experience with recommendations on where to visit and dine. The valets at The Metro are up there with the best I have encountered. The food at the Metro Cafe (we ate breakfast and dinner) was really, really excellent.

If you don't mind some old time character, you cannot go wrong wrong with the Hotel Metro. Would definitely stay again. I think the wife and I may make a trip back this summer without the kids!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WildChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroMilwaukee, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for the review, WildChicago! We look forward to having you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Loved our stay at Hotel Metro. Plenty of space so you don't feel crammed in a room with a bed. The separate living area with second tv made a huge difference for us. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and roomy too. The only improvement I would suggest is that they work on the lighting. There were a lot of little lamps with very low wattage bulbs and it just felt really dim all the time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alsChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetroMilwaukee, Manager at Hotel Metro, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for the review AlsChicago_IL! I will definitely pass on your kind words to our staff. I will also speak with maintenance about your advice to increasing the light bulb wattage. Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#6 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walker's Point
Iron Horse Hotel
Iron Horse Hotel
#1 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Downtown
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Milwaukee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 411 East Mason Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#15 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#18 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
Price range (per night): $237 - $385
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metro 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic, Art Deco inspired, hotel is located in the heart of downtown Milwaukee's Art and Entertainment District. Our suites are not just spacious, they are HUGE! Our suites range from 450 sq.ft. to 750 sq.ft. and can accommodate up to four guests per room. We are located in the middle of a very walk friendly and restaurant rich neighborhood. We are very close to Lake Michigan's waterfront, the Milwaukee Art Museum, Harley Davidson Museum, BMO Harris Bradley Center and the Wisconsin Center. Hotel Metro is a Four-Star, full-service hotel and has been fortunate enough to have been recognized as "One of the Top Hotels in the World" by Travel & Leisure Magazine, as well as "Where to Stay" by the New York Times. Most recently, we were honored with the 2013 & 2014 Excellence Award from TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing