We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Milwaukee”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I treated myself to a night at the Iron Horse Hotel while visiting relatives in Milwaukee. The place is fantastic. Sitting in the lobby is like being in an art museum, the room was huge with state of the art Kohler shower and other amenities. The bar was fun and pleasant and the restaurant served a great breakfast. I loved the fact that dogs were embraced and welcomed by name, and I loved being close to the Harley Museum which blew me away. The staff at the Iron Horse were the greatest- always offering lots of water in all the settings and being attentive but not pushy. I WILL BE BACK !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

I am so happy to hear that you were able to spend time with us and had such an amazing time. Your comments on our staff and the pieces in the Lobby are so appreciated by everyone here. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
There are newer reviews for Iron Horse Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,137 - 1,141 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel in early february for a two night stay. This was for a business trip, and was first class all the way. The beds were large and comfortable and the state-of-the-art television made you feel right at home. I was able to order room service one evening, and was extremely impressed with the quality of food. The hotel definitely had a way of making you feel spoiled. The only reason I rated it a 4 rather than a 5 was because of the train noise in the evening (around 9PM). You could hear them stop and load/unload. I also had some minor billing issues; however, these issues were promptly and respectfully taken care of. Overall, it was a great stay. I'd recommend this for a romantic weekend get-away or a business trip.

Room Tip: The business center was small and didn't have much room to work. I would stay in the suite to o...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBum8502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

If you left here feeling spoiled than we did our job and we hope all of our guests leave here feeling like that. I am sorry about the train noise and the billing error. When you decide to stay with us again, please let me know and I will be sure to have you in a room that is away from the train. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

"Worth a Journey" is what Michelin guides call their most impressive locations. The Iron Horse Hotel--as a hotel--succeeds in that territory of excellence while remaining casual, comfortable and entirely welcoming. Having constructed it from an old industrial building, it has high ceilings in the rooms, which are very upscale comfortable modern--and those looking west and north have great views of downtown. Food and drink are plentiful and well conceived for the property identity. The staff is well trained and customer focused--this is true throughout the hotel, but especially at the front desk. Our friends in Milwaukee love when we visit because they know there will be a visit to The Iron Horse for drinks and dinner! Outstanding!!!

Room Tip: I like the rooms that look to downtown skyline and bridges.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prontomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you so much Dr. M for the review! We are always so happy to see you when you come in. I am sure we will see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Amazing and one of a kind! Definitely going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Being on someone's bucket list is truly a great compliment. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Where do I start? We parked our bikes in the covered and well lit motorcycle parking and when we walked in the front door we were each greeted with warm and smiling faces eager to assist us with any aspect of our stay AND they handed each of us a fresh Tequila Sunrise! The rooms were so clean and tidy I felt right at home. The lighting and decor was modern but felt very warm and comfortable. The bathroom was exquisite and the shower was absolutely fabulous. We traveled over 600 miles in one day to Milwaukee and we were all covered in road grime and in were serious need of a shower. After the other three took their showers I took mine and literally stayed in the shower blasting the hot water for over an hour and never did the water get cold! I could have slept in the shower and been happy with my stay! The hotel is extremely dog friendly which makes me totally happy although we didn't bring our dog with us we will bring him on another stay. We saw many dogs in various sizes in all areas of the hotel bu not once did we see a hair or hear so much as a bark the entire stay. Next to the elevators there is a communal bowl of water and food along with some treats and a chalkboard with all of the dog's names that are staying in the hotel that day. Both of the restaurants had awsome food and drinks and the staff was extremely accomodating and happy to see us. The breakfast buffet was wonderfully surprising with an abundance of items which were served at the appropriate temperatures. The nightlife there at the hotel was always abundant but not disruptive and all of the guests were respectful of the hotel and the other patrons. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel and plan on staying there many more times. In fact, my husband and I plan on taking a trip to just stay in the hotel for a romantic weekend getaway. if you're in Milwaukee, you have to stay here. If you don't, you will regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltLife19751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you so much for this great review. Your comments on our showers and our VIPooches were glowing and we appreciate that so much. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,902 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Ambassador Hotel
#12 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price Range: $280 - $607 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing