We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Iron Horse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 206*
USD 180*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 148*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 216*
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Pfister Hotel(Milwaukee)
USD 226*
USD 197*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 144*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 165*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 171*
USD 160*
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Milwaukee West(Milwaukee)(Great Value!)
USD 120*
USD 103*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 169*
USD 158*
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Metro(Milwaukee)
USD 187*
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,826)
Filter reviews
1,826 results
Traveller rating
1,485
254
48
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,485
254
48
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe harley davidson museumsmyth restaurantcorner alcovemattress factorywelcome cocktailoutdoor barrain showerboutique hotelexposed brickcool hotelfavorite hotelgreat barlight sleeperamazing hotelrooms are spaciousfrom chicagohigh ceilings
Filter
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 1,826 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

"Worth a Journey" is what Michelin guides call their most impressive locations. The Iron Horse Hotel--as a hotel--succeeds in that territory of excellence while remaining casual, comfortable and entirely welcoming. Having constructed it from an old industrial building, it has high ceilings in the rooms, which are very upscale comfortable modern--and those looking west and north have great views of downtown. Food and drink are plentiful and well conceived for the property identity. The staff is well trained and customer focused--this is true throughout the hotel, but especially at the front desk. Our friends in Milwaukee love when we visit because they know there will be a visit to The Iron Horse for drinks and dinner! Outstanding!!!

Room Tip: I like the rooms that look to downtown skyline and bridges.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prontomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Thank you so much Dr. M for the review! We are always so happy to see you when you come in. I am sure we will see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Amazing and one of a kind! Definitely going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Being on someone's bucket list is truly a great compliment. Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Where do I start? We parked our bikes in the covered and well lit motorcycle parking and when we walked in the front door we were each greeted with warm and smiling faces eager to assist us with any aspect of our stay AND they handed each of us a fresh Tequila Sunrise! The rooms were so clean and tidy I felt right at home. The lighting and decor was modern but felt very warm and comfortable. The bathroom was exquisite and the shower was absolutely fabulous. We traveled over 600 miles in one day to Milwaukee and we were all covered in road grime and in were serious need of a shower. After the other three took their showers I took mine and literally stayed in the shower blasting the hot water for over an hour and never did the water get cold! I could have slept in the shower and been happy with my stay! The hotel is extremely dog friendly which makes me totally happy although we didn't bring our dog with us we will bring him on another stay. We saw many dogs in various sizes in all areas of the hotel bu not once did we see a hair or hear so much as a bark the entire stay. Next to the elevators there is a communal bowl of water and food along with some treats and a chalkboard with all of the dog's names that are staying in the hotel that day. Both of the restaurants had awsome food and drinks and the staff was extremely accomodating and happy to see us. The breakfast buffet was wonderfully surprising with an abundance of items which were served at the appropriate temperatures. The nightlife there at the hotel was always abundant but not disruptive and all of the guests were respectful of the hotel and the other patrons. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel and plan on staying there many more times. In fact, my husband and I plan on taking a trip to just stay in the hotel for a romantic weekend getaway. if you're in Milwaukee, you have to stay here. If you don't, you will regret it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaltLife19751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you so much for this great review. Your comments on our showers and our VIPooches were glowing and we appreciate that so much. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family! The rooms are very chic and modern! The hotel'srestaraunt, smyth, has great food that incorporates ingredients from local farms. Hotel has a convienent location.. Near airport and not to far from downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katethegreat594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you so much for your compliments on the hotel and our restaurant Smyth. They are so appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I spent this past weekend in Milwaukee with the main reason of staying at the Iron Horse and I wasn't disappointed. The service and staff were top notch. They were very friendly when we checked in and upon checking out. The front desk also went out of their way to try and find a place for us to have dinner on Sunday (which was difficult since most restaurants close on Sundays).

As you can see from the hotel's website, the hotel is beautifully designed. I stayed in a king room on the fourth floor and was very satisfied with the design and size of the room. They also offer free Wi-Fi! I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jestrada13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at The Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. To hear that we were one of the reasons that you came to Milwaukee is truly an honor. I am so happy to hear that we lived up to your expecatations and you had a great time with us. If you should be back on a Sunday again we will be better prepared with restaurants for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews