We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Iron Horse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iron Horse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Milwaukee
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Grove, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed at the Iron Horse Hotel in early february for a two night stay. This was for a business trip, and was first class all the way. The beds were large and comfortable and the state-of-the-art television made you feel right at home. I was able to order room service one evening, and was extremely impressed with the quality of food. The hotel definitely had a way of making you feel spoiled. The only reason I rated it a 4 rather than a 5 was because of the train noise in the evening (around 9PM). You could hear them stop and load/unload. I also had some minor billing issues; however, these issues were promptly and respectfully taken care of. Overall, it was a great stay. I'd recommend this for a romantic weekend get-away or a business trip.

Room Tip: The business center was small and didn't have much room to work. I would stay in the suite to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBum8502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
If you left here feeling spoiled than we did our job and we hope all of our guests leave here feeling like that. I am sorry about the train noise and the billing error. When you decide to stay with us again, please let me know and I will be sure to have you in a room that is away from the train. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    209
    38
    17
    13
See reviews for
165
724
63
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

"Worth a Journey" is what Michelin guides call their most impressive locations. The Iron Horse Hotel--as a hotel--succeeds in that territory of excellence while remaining casual, comfortable and entirely welcoming. Having constructed it from an old industrial building, it has high ceilings in the rooms, which are very upscale comfortable modern--and those looking west and north have great views of downtown. Food and drink are plentiful and well conceived for the property identity. The staff is well trained and customer focused--this is true throughout the hotel, but especially at the front desk. Our friends in Milwaukee love when we visit because they know there will be a visit to The Iron Horse for drinks and dinner! Outstanding!!!

Room Tip: I like the rooms that look to downtown skyline and bridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prontomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you so much Dr. M for the review! We are always so happy to see you when you come in. I am sure we will see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Amazing and one of a kind! Definitely going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Being on someone's bucket list is truly a great compliment. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaOtto, IN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Where do I start? We parked our bikes in the covered and well lit motorcycle parking and when we walked in the front door we were each greeted with warm and smiling faces eager to assist us with any aspect of our stay AND they handed each of us a fresh Tequila Sunrise! The rooms were so clean and tidy I felt right at home. The lighting and decor was modern but felt very warm and comfortable. The bathroom was exquisite and the shower was absolutely fabulous. We traveled over 600 miles in one day to Milwaukee and we were all covered in road grime and in were serious need of a shower. After the other three took their showers I took mine and literally stayed in the shower blasting the hot water for over an hour and never did the water get cold! I could have slept in the shower and been happy with my stay! The hotel is extremely dog friendly which makes me totally happy although we didn't bring our dog with us we will bring him on another stay. We saw many dogs in various sizes in all areas of the hotel bu not once did we see a hair or hear so much as a bark the entire stay. Next to the elevators there is a communal bowl of water and food along with some treats and a chalkboard with all of the dog's names that are staying in the hotel that day. Both of the restaurants had awsome food and drinks and the staff was extremely accomodating and happy to see us. The breakfast buffet was wonderfully surprising with an abundance of items which were served at the appropriate temperatures. The nightlife there at the hotel was always abundant but not disruptive and all of the guests were respectful of the hotel and the other patrons. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel and plan on staying there many more times. In fact, my husband and I plan on taking a trip to just stay in the hotel for a romantic weekend getaway. if you're in Milwaukee, you have to stay here. If you don't, you will regret it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltLife19751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you so much for this great review. Your comments on our showers and our VIPooches were glowing and we appreciate that so much. Thank you again and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family! The rooms are very chic and modern! The hotel'srestaraunt, smyth, has great food that incorporates ingredients from local farms. Hotel has a convienent location.. Near airport and not to far from downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katethegreat594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesValona, Front Office Manager at Iron Horse Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you so much for your compliments on the hotel and our restaurant Smyth. They are so appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milwaukee hotels
Downtown
The Pfister Hotel
The Pfister Hotel
#5 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,834 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Milwaukee Downtown
Downtown
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
The Brewhouse Inn & Suites
#6 of 56 in Milwaukee
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#13 of 56 in Milwaukee
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iron Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iron Horse Hotel

Property: Iron Horse Hotel
Address: 500 W Florida St, Milwaukee, WI 53204-1534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Milwaukee > Walker's Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Business Hotel in Milwaukee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milwaukee
#2 Family Hotel in Milwaukee
Price range (per night): $356 - $738
Hotel Class:4 star — Iron Horse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iron Horse Hotel is Milwaukee's most chic and sophisticated property - the transformation of a 100-year-old downtown warehouse into a modern luxury boutique hotel. As the industry's first upscale hotel geared for business travelers and motorcycle enthusiasts alike, The Iron Horse Hotel meets the distinct needs of both corporate and leisure guests with its special services, unparalleled amenities and 100 loft-style guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Iron Horse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Iron Horse
Iron Horse Milwaukee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing