We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic gem”

Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurants
Reserve with OpenTable
Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurants is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 114 Restaurants in Middleton
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lake Street, Allen Blvd
Description: Captain Bill's waterfront restaurant features award winning seafood in a rustic, casual and fun waterfront atmosphere. Recently voted "Best Seafood Restaurant" in the Best of Madison poll, Captain Bill's diners rave about the clam chowder, crab cakes and coconut shrimp. Escape to our waterfront deck, enjoy an ice cold beverage, a mound of shrimp and oysters, crab, lobster or our Friday night fish fry. Happy hour in the bar Monday thru Friday from Open until 6:00pm and all night Thursday .
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Captain Bills is a classic, reliable, upscale restaurant which has been serving seafood for years. Although the “famous” clam chowder has lost its appeal, Capt Bills is still a good choice for date night, a family celebration or happy hour. The raw oysters were plump and delicious. The oysters Rockefeller were not traditionally made. They had more of a spinach artichoke topping- if you like that sort of thing. The scallops in lobster sauce were cooked perfectly - stick to the seafood as the steak wasn’t as appealing. They have great happy hour specials with 1/2 price appetizers. It’s one of the few places you can sit outside and enjoy the lake! Friendly service from everyone - from the sweet hostess to the servers to the manager.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Divatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2018

Great ambience, with outside deck and view of the water. Starters and Desserts were middle of the road. The main course was good. Steak was a bit overcooked but the lobster was excellent. Mixed drinks were served after becoming very diluted with melted ice. We ate during 'Restaurant Week' so they were busy. However, given that this was an excellent opportunity to showcase their establishment, this opportunity was lost. Staff was very friendly. We will certainly give them another try.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tocolighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

They have a great Happy Hour with drink and appetizer specials. The portions on entrees are generous and delicious.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spminkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

For someone who's watching his/her weight, a seafood restaurant should offer numerous choices low in calories and high in nutrition. Captain Bill's did not disappoint. Preparation and presentation make all the difference between "healthful" and "not healthful" in seafood entrees. My husband and I were there on a Friday night, but we passed on the tradition fish fry selections because -- well, that fish was fried. Instead, I chose Dragon Fire Salmon, marinated in hoisin sauce, grilled and topped with a pico de gallo made mainly with cubes of pineapple. A real sweet-and-sour treat! The side salad also was excellent -- greens, with raspberry vinaigrette dressing on the side and not a crouton (fattening) or leaf of iceberg lettuce (yech) in sight. My husband opted for the New England style clam chowder, and said it was very good. He also liked his Surfin' Salmon, prepared with cedar planks.

There were a couple glitches. Although we got seated near our 8 p.m. reservation time (and reservations are a must on a Friday night), it took quite a while, and a prod from the host, to get a server to our table. And my husband ordered a baked potato, only to be told, minutes before his entree arrived, that they had run out of baked potatoes. These things happen in even the best of places from time to time. It didn't spoil our experience, but it's enough to knock a star off my rating.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We didn't get a table outside but we did get a window seat. There was a very strong cold draft. Aja was a wonderful server. We enjoyed the bread and the special butters. My salmon was delicious along with the rice and veggies. The other meals at the table were enjoyed. The one dessert was also good. It is just like a typical WI supper club and I would be happy to go again. Prices are reasonable.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank singingaccordionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurants also viewed

 

Been to Captain Bill's Waterfront Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing