We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveller rating
840
187
44
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
840
187
44
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool costa rica zip lining horseback riding beach club main restaurant san jose pura vida swim up bar howler monkeys liberia airport ceviche golf course rainy season remote location hour drive the pacific ocean
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

This Hotel is like a nice old timeshare. The rooms are spacious (Laurel 401). The air conditioning works well. Lots of stairs and very steep inclines to drive. The main part of the resort have very limited parking, if this place was full no parking would be available.

Marvin (front desk staff) was wonderfully cheerful and tolerant of a cranky driver. Marvin also remembered me by name two days later which was a nice feeling. From San Jose International Airport, it is a 5-5 ½ hour drive to this hotel. To top it off, half of the trip is on unpaved roads, for mucho kilometers. This is a major headache for the drivers as well as passengers’ bladders/kidneys/uteruses. Multiple trees blocked sections of the dirt/ gravel road. Some trees are weighing on the power and telephone lines. It was an interesting 5 hour drive from the San Jose International Airport. If you like the remoteness and off the beaten path this hotel is for you.

The pools were very nice. The beach is public and not the best, rocky and unkept. But the walk is quick and close. There is a restaurant bar near the pool by the beech. The Coco Ceviche was best at the Coco Beach Club bar. Our room had its own infinity pool, which was a nice touch if you wanted to relax in or near a pool without having to go to the resort’s pools

At the main restaurant we saw several Scarlett Macaws eating some nuts in the trees and some whales breaching the ocean. That was a treat for all us. We found the restaurant food very good in most cases but overpriced. I can get this food in Mexico or the Caribbean for a fraction of the cost. The food was plated and presented well but when you sit in an open-air restaurant it is hard to avoid having to fight the bugs, raccoons, birds etc for your meal.

We went to two local restaurants off the resort property and the food was good or even better than the hotel. The food at these two local restaurants where still overpriced but almost half the cost of the resorts.

Each time We left the resort, we were tired of road conditions. Frankly for the cost of the resort, the food, the bar drinks, the resort should be putting some money into the local infrastructure.

On one of return trip back to the resort, there was a small landslide from the heavy rains on the hotel property right near the room we were staying in. Not an issue by itself, it was the time it took to clean up the mud and debris. And the effort to clean it up, and because of these reasons the hotel lacked 5 star resort rating. Anyone can call themselves whatever they want but this is not a 5 star resort. I personally did not find this resort worth the cost or the time to drive to. Highly disappointed in too many areas to give five stars.

Room Tip: The two bedroom villas were nice like Laurel 401.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2017FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Greetings! We are delighted that we offered a chance to showcase truly unforgettable sights like Scarlett Macaws and whales in their undisturbed, naturally-gorgeous habitat. Our secluded location draws off-the-beaten path travelers who want to embrace Costa Rica's authentic culture and intense eco-adventures. By investing in the local community through art and educational programs like the Islita Art Museum, the Islita School, and the Islita Community Center, we have fostered a uniquely welcoming place that lets travelers immerse in the local community. We appreciate your insights about your experience and expectations and we thank you for selecting Costa Rica as your travel destination. Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived via small charter aircraft which seated 2. We were a bit delayed and came through some sizable thunderheads in this little plane, so needless to say once safely landed we were happy. We stayed that way for the entire week. However, the reason this beautiful resort gets 4 stars is service. Not bad service, just hard to navigate service. We were able to navigate but it took sitting in front office until excursions or problems were resolved. Example: Hi, it’s raining today , could you find us some dice?
Annswer, “No, sorry.”
Not , Gee, no, but how about cards or I’ll get you some later today.
So not 5 star service
The resort is well appointed and the spa was amazing. We had a couples massage , worth every penny. We could hear the howler monkeys and birds as we had our treatments.
Loved having our own plunge pool and was happy we rented a golf cart. The restaurant off property had the best lobster.
The beach was without any water clarity while we were there, so no snorkeling. We did enjoy the beach bar and food.
We played golf, went bird watching, monkey watching, Macaw project, and had spa treatments.
It was a great time.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank melissam45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Greetings Melissa! Thanks for your kind observations about the attention you received. We pride on matching our spectacular, secluded surroundings with superlative service and we have noted the way in which your request for dice was mishandled. We are delighted to learn that your stay was highlighted by relaxation, amazing wellness treatments at Casa Spa, immersion in nature, and savory Costa Rican cuisine. We certainly hope to see you again in the near future. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

This hotel is a beauty in the middle of no where in Costa RIca... Love it. The best is the romantic dinner on the beach. This is something Magic that you will remember for ever. Also the room have small pool outside of you cabin to make you enjoy the moment. Will be back soon.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank bobtessier69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Middle of nowhere lets us offer travelers a unique glimpse of Costa Rica's authentic coastal lifestyles and unspoiled eco-adventures. Plus, our sustainability programs have created a healthy, safe, and welcoming destination to explore and connect. That is the magic you describe and the magic we pledge to preserve and share. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing gem!! Nestled on the coast secluded from the world this property allows you to enjoy Coata Rica at its finest. Beach is within walking distance or you can take a shuttle. Hiking on your own or plenty of hotel activities. Views were amazing. Wait staff is very friendly and accommodating, Margarita and Miguel were our main servers. Casa spa is a must, Jessica and Fabiola give great massages, wish I could take them home with me. Bartenders Gabriel and Luis taught a mixology class and both times introduced to authentic Costa Rican drinks and all were delightful. Can say enough about this place. I would recommend to all.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Terresa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

We love your Pura Vida enthusiasm! Thanks so much for finding us and for embracing the unique charm of Costa Rica's authentic coastal lifestyles and landscapes. We are proud to offer a gateway to our country's raw eco-adventures, tranquil pace, and welcoming hospitality. Casa Spa is the hearth of relaxation and we thank you for taking the time to celebrate their wellness magic. We will relay your comments to Gabriel and Luis :) Warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Ok...the room was very large and had a stunning view. The hot tub didnt work despite two calls to,have it fixed. There were many little bugs in room...running all over bathroom counter, some in bed. The 3 other hotels we stayed at in CR did NOT have bugs in the room. The free activities were pretty good. We did the ziplining (ok...not great), horseback riding was nice...lovely horses. But you have to be on road a lot that cars and atvs are on. The horses dont mind but its a bit scary. The yoga class was fine..a bit simple. The beach is a LONG walk away and not very nice compared to many others in CR. There is no town at all so there is nothing else to do. There is a nice little restaurant near the arts center...i cant remember the name....it is the smaller of the two. Back to hotel: The staff was pretty nice...the food was ok. They pour the lamest glass of wine....three ounces, if lucky, for $11. A joke. I bought a bottle at the little store in "town." We were supposed to,stay for five nights but left after three despite losing points and having to pay for another hotel. Its just very dull....closest town is samara, which is a good 30-40 drive. Cannot recommend this place.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank sharonla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at Hotel Punta Islita, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Greetings Sharon and thanks for taking the time to describe your experience. We certainly wish we could have dazzled you with our unique location and included eco-adventures and cultural experiences. Our secluded setting is far removed from touristy locations and is geared towards travelers who want to immerse in the tranquil pace of an authentic coastal village. I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy visiting the Islita Art Museum. This is our flagship community outreach program and one of the best venues to connect with our local neighbors and artists. Costa Rica is a marvelously diverse destination, offering options for all travel styles. We hope you fully enjoyed the rest of your vacation. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews