We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
28
20
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
20
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer was cold local charity great evening caravan park great pub dollar notes country pub stayed here across the road machinery outback stopover aussie warren yarn feed poetry
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here as an alternative to Longreach on our way home. Surprisingly good meals for a bush pub... lovely fresh side salad and huge serves. The room was clean and comfortable - recently refurbished by the look of it. Probably the most comfortable (king size) bed I’ve slept on since we left home 2.5 weeks ago. Ice cold air con. Shared bathrooms at the end of the verandah, spotlessly clean. For $65 per night we thought it was outstanding value and would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ILT_NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Ilfracombe is 27klm South of Longreach. Even if you did blink you wouldn’t miss their machinery mile. Well not quite a mile! If you want some pre-dinner exercise take a walk past the time line of old pastoral machinery. Visit the bottle collection and take yourself back to the ‘good ol’ days’.
The hotel has it’s own fascinating history. It was relocated several times by bullock and cart as the railway was constructed in the 1890’s. The manager and staff are friendly and love local, interstate and international visitors. The meals (‘grub’ - Aussie slang for food) are great. Read the history displayed on the walls, take a walk outside (with a hat - it gets hot there), enjoy a drink and try to pin some money on the roof for a local charity. You can’t miss the donated hat display - they all have a story.
I loved the bush decorations outside - barbed wire balls! What a great place.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

I stayed here only one night after a weekend in Longreach. The meals severed in the bar were tasty and reasonably priced. The beer was cold and service friendly. The bar has a lot of atmosphere with money pinned to the ceiling ( done by a special trick that they teach you). The rooms were basic and the bathrooms are share bathrooms. Even though it was in the 30s outside the air conditioning in the rooms kept the room cool. The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Travelling from Brisbane to the 2017 Birdsville Races a group of us stopped into the Wellshot Hotel Ilfracombe for a few cold ones. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality and the professional service (Country Style Service) from the staff and the Owner (Tracey). We all decided to stay the night and mix in with the locals. It was a unbelievable evening for us all. We were treated like Kings and Queens. I highly recommend to all travelers passing through to stay over night and receive the same old country style service that we received during our stay. Thank you Tracey....See you in our next adventure...Yeehaa.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank markieboy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We go there for dinner and it was disgusting, my friend leaned against the table and got a stain on her shirt from the table. Servers were too busy smoking to efficiently serve and when we asked the chef (who looked about 15) about how long the wait would be she rudefully told us to wait.

Stayed: October 2017
2  Thank Happygoings111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews