We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Escape from the Crazy Busy Work Week!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Edgewater Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ephraim
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Escape from the Crazy Busy Work Week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was my first trip to Door County and I selected Edgewater Resort based on reviews and photos of former guests. A girlfriend decided to join me, as we both needed down time from hectic work schedules. I must admit the resort exceeded our expectations. Our room felt like "home" from the moment we entered - clean, cozy & capacious. The view of the bay and Peninsula Park was breathtaking! Our favorite activity was biking the sunset trail within the Park (did it twice!) We are already making plans to return to Edgewater Resort in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your recent review of Edgewater Resort. We appreciate your business and were glad to hear of your positive experience. Peninsula State Park does have beautiful trails even in the winter. Ask about our packages this time of year. Thank you again for your review we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    152
    52
    14
    12
See reviews for
150
449
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Platteville, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Been going to Dooor County for many, many years. Initially decided on the Edgewater for my wedding night because it is adjacent to the best cherry pancakes on the planet (Old Post Office Rerstaurant). Because the Edgewater was the first night and then the last week of my honeymoon with a 3 day gap (Grand Hotel-Mackinac Is) ther logistics were a little complicated. The the dates changed a little; and I stayed in a suite on my wedding night but the one bedroom upon our return. Evertythihg was excellent and I have already made a resrvation for my first anniversary. BUT the very best thing about this resort is the on-site Manager, Brian. I am a traveler for business and am on the road all the time and have stayed all over the country. Brian is one of the best managers I have ever encountered and he makes this facility what it is. He was absoultely superior in getting the details and logisitics worked out for me and was terrific while we were there. I enthisicastically recommend the Edgewater Resort to anyone. But go in the fall to avoid the crush. And don't forget the pancakes. The fish boil was the best I have had in door county as well.

Room Tip: Rent a bungalow (Best Bet) or pay for the watwer view. Tell Brian what you want and he will fix it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our Resort. We were so glad you were able to enjoy your wedding night with us and then come back a few days letter to enjoy your honeymoon. We look forward to your visit with us again in 2012. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed at the Edgewater two times again this year and we're looking forward to our trips there next year. Nothing compares to the Edgewater! What a location and view! We always enjoy the restaurant and Fish Boil, our walks in Ephraim, the beauty of the lake from our bright and cheerful room, and the quaintness of the village of Ephraim. The staff at the Edgewater is always friendly and the manager is terrific and helpful to everyone. It doesn't get any better than staying at the Edgewater!

Don and Laura L

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_lamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to our Resort and look forward to your visit in 2012. Thank you for your comments about our great service. We were glad to hear of your positive experience and our thankful you consider our property to be the "perfect place to stay."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at and it isn't ridiculous in price. We arrived at The Edgewater and were immediately impressed. We walked into the room and it was extremely clean and very spacious. It had a full kitchen with dishes. The room had a living room centered around a fireplace with a TV on the mantle. The bedroom had a jacuzzi and the bathroom and shower were clean and spacious with plenty of towels. We could see the water from our window along with the sunset. A short walk across the street and you can walk by the water or sit and enjoy the sunset. We really enjoyed our time at the Edgewater and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are glad you experienced what you had hoped for. We will look forward to your next visit with us. The fall colors across the water are now in peak and we still have rooms available for the rest of this month. Festival weekends are booking fast. Thanks again for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Have been coming up to Door County since the 50's. Have tried other places in the past but none compares to this. Centrally located, and the view across Eagle Harbor to Peninsula State Park is breath-taking. (See the sunset photo attached). I have one HUGE complaint. It was so good, I didn't want to leave. Making reservations for next year eased the pain a little. See at you at the Edge!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herman77, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for your time to write about your visit to the Edgewater Resort. Thanks also for posting a photo. We look forward to seeing you again for your next reservation. Be sure to ask about our winter packages which will be starting soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ephraim
14.1 km away
The Ashbrooke
The Ashbrooke
#1 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
14.3 km away
Newport Resort
Newport Resort
#3 of 7 in Egg Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
4.7 km away
Country House Resort
Country House Resort
#1 of 17 in Sister Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Homestead Suites
Homestead Suites
#2 of 10 in Fish Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.2 km away
Somerset Inn & Suites
Somerset Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Ephraim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
35.4 km away
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Resort

Property: Edgewater Resort
Address: 10040 Water Street, Highway 42, Ephraim, WI 54211
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Ephraim
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ephraim
#6 Family Hotel in Ephraim
Price range (per night): $143 - $294
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgewater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door County, Wisconsin - Relax at one of Door County's most historic and sought out waterfront resorts. Located in the heart of Ephraim, Wisconsin overlooking scenic Eagle Harbor. A Sense of Simplicity. Visitors to the Edgewater Resort often comment that it's the most relaxing place they've ever stayed - full of today's comforts yet so reminiscent of the past. Whether guests gather on a covered veranda at sunset, unwind in a soothing hot tub, or stroll along the shoreline, they experience a sense of going back ... to a time that was much simpler and much more relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Edgewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Ephraim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing