We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
68
49
23
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
49
23
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rowleys bay fish boil pecan rolls breakfast buffet indoor pool swedish bakery door county on site story teller get away lake michigan family reunion off the beaten path friday night fish bay resort potatoes fitness room
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Location and quiet bay is very nice however the resort needs updating badly. This was a last minute trip for us so the accommodations were limited in Door County but availability here and I guess I understand why now. When we opened our room door the room smelled musty, walls need painting, bedspread very worn and maybe the worst towels I've ever had in a hotel/resort. And then on Sunday morning no hot water, we called front desk and was greeted with apology and they were working on it..... Needless to say we will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 601Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Hello Sarah,

Thank you for your review. We notice that our few bad reviews come from people who "made a last minute decision" or "ended up here by chance."
Those are people who may not fit here at the resort. We go to great pains to keep our resort vintage/retro and continue to redecorate in that style! People who think it is dated have completely missed the point. We feel that a sterile chic resort environment is boring and lacks character. Every lamp, accessory, fabric and piece of furniture is chosen to delight discerning guests. If you like the retro vibe, you will find plenty to like at our resort!

Unfortunately things like water heaters fail even in the most expensive of resorts. We want to apologize about the situation with the hot water and would like to talk to you about how we can make it right by you. Please email or call us so we can talk about it together. Thank you, Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Beds are uncomfortable. My computer monitor is larger than the rooms TV. Prices are high and they have a bakery that is under staffed. It doesn't matter if there are 2 or 15 people in line to place and receive your bakery order, you will see only 1 person tending the lines of people. The bakery also runs out of coffee every 20 minutes, thus putting it on the customer to ask someone to make another pot. They should close the bakery if they can't put at least [2] people serving the customers during the busy times.

Room Tip: Don't plan to bring your pet. None are allowed
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelwi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you discovered us at Grandma’s Swedish Bakery where we make everything from scratch. Yes it is a busy place and we apologize that you had to wait in line but hope you agree that it was worth the wait! We take care of our guests as fast as we can and pull bakers from the kitchen to help with customers whenever possible. We proudly serve Door County Coffee which is a perfect partner to our homemade bakery products. The coffee is amazing and is served in nice big mugs which drains the pots pretty fast. There is always an extra one ready on the brewer. Yes sometimes our guests need to remind us to move the pot to the front.

Recently we improved our beds to make them more comfortable. We actually get a lot of positive comments from our guests on how comfortable our beds are but understand that opinions on beds are a matter of personal taste. It’s your home away from home… but not the same as your bed at home, we understand.

The TVs are actually new but not as big as some hotels may offer. Our guests are usually an active group out enjoying the waterfront or trails. They often spend very little time in their room so a large TV screen doesn’t seem to be a priority.

Hope this response is helpful for you and we hope to see you again in beautiful Door County!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Rowley's Bay is a destination, simply because it's at the end of the Door County peninsula, and the only land beyond it is Washington Island. Groups enjoy the food and the rooms, whether for a learning vacation or a family reunion, and the size of the resort allows everyone to do what they wish. Rooms are very comfortable; food is plentiful and varied, and the buffet lines go quickly, even though many guests go back for seconds.

The French Toast in the morning is made from their signature Cinnamon Rolls, and you don't lack for sweetness there! Wear mosquito repellent if you go hiking in the woods; not necessary if you're biking on the excellent smooth asphalt roads in the area. The bar area is small and friendly. Some of the summer workers are foreign students, with a special visa for work in the US, and they are friendly. We wished the lake had not been so choppy, as we weren't brave enough to kayak in it, but you can opt for a segway tour instead. It was a most enjoyable, restful week.

Room Tip: The air temperature in the hallways is misleading, as it's cold on the lower floors. You can't open windows to check. Bring an Alexa.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Midwestadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Sounds like you had a great time at Rowleys Bay Resort and had a time full of activities and rest as well! Thank you for your nice review and hope you can come back again soon to try the kayaking since you weren't able to get out on the water on this trip.

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I have been to Rowley's Bay (also known as Wagon Trail) many times, but it had been quite a few years since I was last there. I had stayed in the cabins and at the campground, but I had never stayed in the hotel area before. I booked a couple-day trip for my family and myself and we enjoyed our time. The rooms have an old charm to them, the fish boil was so good (one of the best I've had in Door County) and the scenery over Rowley's Bay is beautiful! One of the only things I'd change is how stuffy the pool room is - it could stand to have some doors/windows that open and a little more light. But it definitely works for what it is.

Room Tip: The lake-side rooms have a beautiful view of the bay, worth the extra $20 for the microwave and fridge that the wood-side rooms don't have.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badger_State_of_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for your nice review! Sounds like you have been visiting us for a few years since you remember our "Wagon Trail" name. We love being the vintage resort that our guests return to year after year. Hope to see you again soon! Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Great selection, Swedish meatballs were excellent. Large selection of fresh fruit. The bakery was awesome, especially the cinnamon rolls. Good quality for the price. Staff was very friendly and accomidating

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank jdpillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jewel O, Owner at Rowleys Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Glad you enjoyed our brunch! The half pound cinnamon rolls are one of the favorites at Grandma's Swedish Bakery, breakfast buffet and Sunday brunch. Hope you can come back again soon! Jewel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews