We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A haven away from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Aspen House in the morning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aspen House in the morning
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Aspen House in the morning
Overlooking living room from the balcony
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining room table seats six
Sunny kitchen and dining areas
Desk in living room
Master bedroom has own bath
Staircase with solid oak
Upstairs meditation area
Upstairs bedroom 1 with twin and futon
Day bed in upstairs bedroom 2
Master bathroom.
Upstairs bathroom
Our fire circle in early morning
Pond behind our house in late May
Mother turtle spotted on property in early June '14
View from end of our driveway. Neighbors have three horses
View from Elkhart Lake boat launch in early morning
Driveway to Aspen House
Woods behind the house on a fall day
Pond behind the house on a fall day
Part of the 95-acre site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy W
Springdale, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven away from home!”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful family-friendly home and property was perfect for us! Plenty of room for a larger family, with all the amenities. A large, well equipped kitchen made it very nice to eat most of our meals right there. Everything was very clean with many extra touches (brochures for attractions and activities in the area, carefully folded towels, etc) to welcome us. The home has tons of natural light from many lovely windows, for a bright happy atmosphere. The property is large and private and we saw deer, turkeys, and geese during our stay. The country location is still close to everything we wanted to do. We loved getting to visit with Nanette before and upon our arrival. Her gracious hospitality made our stay that much sweeter. For those looking for a vacation rental in this area....this is it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren g
Troy, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway, felt just like home!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in this lovely home for three nights when we brought out children to visit Elkhart Lake. It was truly the perfect choice for our stay; we have two boys, ages seven and four. The lake was a short distance away and we enjoyed the sunny days there, and then returned to the comforts of this very clean and welcoming house which sits on a large piece of land. Everything we could have needed or wanted was already in the house...it did not have the feel of a rental, more like you were staying with family. Nanette certainly did give us the most pleasant welcome, even taking the time to learn the names of our kids before we arrived. She stopped by briefly to greet us, and it ended up being a highlight of our visit since she brought some puppies she was fostering to play with our boys.

The house itself was very comfortable. The beds were very cozy, the towels fluffy, and while we didn't require them I noticed plenty of extra blankets around the house. The boys enjoyed the books and games in the home, and we all enjoyed being outside, having bonfires and just walking around. It was very private, but close to civilization and lake access. Truly we could not have asked for anything more! We would most definitely recommend this house to anyone who was going to stay in the Elkhart Lake area! :) Thanks so much for opening your home to us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BFMalarsk...
Duluth, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat to relax in!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Nanette and Hans home is an excellent retreat to relax in. Perfectly located close enough to Road America, yet it is remote enough to get away from everything, but nature! While I was making my dinner, I watched several deer grazing the prairie grasses that surround the house. The house itself is very comfortable and Nanette and Hans make you feel at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country setting
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thanks for your kind words, Brian. I'm glad you saw a deer last night. There are many. Please come back when you're not in the middle of a race, and have more time to relax! We'd love to hear about all your adventures.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshleyW35...
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful home”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at Nanette and Hans' beautiful home last weekend and had a wonderful time. The house is lovely and secluded, with gorgeous views in all directions. It feels like your own private oasis. There are three comfortable bedrooms, a beautiful, spacious, and sunny living room and kitchen/dining room, and a big garage. Nanette was very kind and made us feel right at home when we arrived.

Despite it's rural feel, the house is only a few minutes drive from downtown Elkhart Lake. We went for the town's annual winter festival, which was a blast. Elkhart Lake is a picturesque town that is a lot of fun to explore. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are planning to visit the Elkhart Lake area (and if you're not, I recommend that you plan to!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2014
Thanks, J, D and G! Your kind words mean a great deal to me, and you were all very gracious and thoughtful guests. My husband, daughter and I enjoyed getting to know you. You're welcome back anytime.

And definitely come back in the summer, when the village really comes to life and is even more picturesque. It's gorgeous here year-round, but there's something about the lake when it's surrounded by all that green ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thanks for your kind words, and for your gentle and respectful care of our home. You're all welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing