We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“See the heart of Tuscany”

Review of Poggio alla Rocca

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
aerial photo poggio alla rocca
Enter a caption for your photo
Sughera apartment
Sughera apartment
Sughera apartment
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
Sughera apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Alba apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Sole apartment
Sole apartment
Sole apartment
Sole apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
Ginestra and Corbezzolo apartments
brand
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Casale di Pari, Civitella Paganico, Province of Grosseto, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Korean first
Norwegian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Árpád M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“See the heart of Tuscany”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If there ever was a pool with a view, this is one. But that's just the icing on a perfect combination of comfort, quiet and hospitality. Susanna and Francesco are the perfect hosts: they are there when you need them, but otherwise let you enjoy the place for yourself, and there is a lot to enjoy if you are into a rural retreat. To be more precise, if the setting is rural, the amenities offered are very urban(e). Also a great place to explore the region from, with Siena at 30 km and the sea at 50, though the best part of the day will always be when you reach your home away from home. We had a wonderful, memorable time.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicky c
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful views; amazing setting and hospitable hosts.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was one of the most truely beautiful places we have stayed as a family. It more than lived up to our expectations. Situated up a gravelled track the views on reaching it, were stunning. We had had a 7 hour drive from Milan, having been stuck in Saturday holiday traffic and Susanna and Franseco greeted us with a much welcomed and needed glass of wine! Their hospitality continued throughout our stay, with a welcoming evening on the Sunday night, for all the guests where they provided a variety of local products for us to taste, alongside their free wine from their vineyard. Amazingly we were given free wine throughout our stay which was very drinkable! Their hospitality however was never intrusive. Our two teenage girls who we thought may get bored, also absoluely loved this spot and loved spending all day by the pool - (where WI Fi connection was good!) The infinity pool was stunning, with the most amazing views. None of us had ever swam in such an idealic setting. There was one other family and three lots of couples whilst we were there, but there was rarley more than one other couple or the family using the pool at the same time as us. Everyone was very friendly and swapped helpful information.
Aswell as just relaxing in this most beautiful enviroment, we also loved setting off, sometimes in the late afternoon to explore the beautiful cities of Florence, Sienna (were we saw the pratice for the Palio - great atmoshere), and a variety of lovely hill top towns, including San Gimignano with its amazing towers. We loved the local town of Pari which was very quaint and non touristy with a couple of very low key restaurants with great food. At Poggio Alla Rocca we stayed in the old part of this Tuscan accomodation in the Monte Acuto apartment Sole which was perfect for the four of us. It had a lovely 'old' quaint feel to it and was well equiped. It had stunning views over the Tuscan hills out of the bedroom windows and another view the other side, out of the bathroom over the quaint hilltop town of Pari. The breeze through apartment in the evenings meant that we were never over heated whilst trying to sleep, which was great and we did not even need to use the two fans provided. We had a short walk down to the pool side and to tables for eating outside which meant carrying the food down, but his was not a problem for us. We had no problem finding this place and we did not have a sat nav, just Susanna's directions. This was a fantasic holiday, in a most beautiful place. and we would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views and setting with the infinity pool.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam_from...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Utterly fabulous”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We booked our 10 day break here after finding that most of the coastal villas had been booked up and were not quite sure what to expect, having not holidayed as a family in Italy before nor stayed so far inland on a villa holiday.

As it turned out Poggio Alla Rocca exceeded our expectations on every level.
Even at the end of our 10 days I still could not get over just how superbly the infinity pool and poolside areas showed off the hilltop panorama. Facing south, the pool area has views far across the thick olive groves, broad valleys, terracotta villages and distant ranges of the Tuscan landscape which fade through a rolling palette of watercolour greens and blues that change with the arc of the sun. The location benefits from exceptionally clear and expansive night skies and when we arrived the milky way was visible from horizon to horizon. The dryness, height and light breezes also meant virtually no mosquitoes and few wasps which have plagued some of our other holidays.

We arrived late on the evening of our first day and were shown to our poolside apartment by Susanna, the owner. This was Susanna’s first year of hosting her holiday lets, but she is clearly a natural: Exuding Italian warmth, always available to answer questions and yet without ever being intrusive. On the Sunday Susanna and her husband put on a drinks-and-nibbles gathering down by the pool for guests to meet each other, with locally produced cheese, meats and dips washed down with Poggia Alla Rocca’s selection of own-produced wines.

The apartment we stayed in (Sughera) was compact for the 5 of us (3 kids, 1 of whom got the sofa bed) but was well appointed and prepared. On our stay-at-home days a high quality screen and DVD player kept the kids out of the mid-day sun, but for the most part they just wanted to be in the pool.
Although there were several couples and two families staying at Susanna’s apartments in Poggio Alla Rocca and the adjacent Monte Acuto, the shared pool area was generally only used by one or two groups at a time as most of the guests – ourselves included – spent a fair amount of time exploring Italy.
On our days out we discovered that there is a huge amount of Italy within a 1.5h drive (The limit of the kids’ patience in the back seats) including Siena, Florence and the coast. We went to see the ‘Palio’ annual medieval bareback horse races around the central square of Siena, took a horse-drawn tour of Florence, and sampled world-beating ice-creams and Cappuccinos (Cappuccini) at every opportunity. We didn’t make it to the hot springs or to nearby Pari and will save these treats for our inevitable return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hospitality.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UKSnowque...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stunning views and warm hospitality”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

After much trawling through holiday rentals on the internet we picked this because of the photos showing stunning views. On arrival we were not disappointed - you can see for miles( or Km if you are European!). The complex was designed about 3 years ago and you can see that there has been a great attention to detail. It was hard to find even with the Satnav but we wanted to be completely away from it all to appreciate the beautiful scenery Tuscany has to offer.
It is located in a central position for days sightseeing to many local towns of interest. We visited Siena, Massa Marritima, Florence, Montalcino and Pisa all of which are within easy reach. Susanna is very hospitable and we enjoyed the welcome evening were we had the opportunity to taste local delicacies and the wine they produce themselves plus a few extra spirits! The accommodation is tastefully decorated and we stayed in Sughera which was adequate for 4 but would be tight for 6. All the premises are kept clean and well maintained, the shaded area provided was particularly welcome as the temperatures reached 38 degrees while we were there. I would happily return and have no hesitation in recommending this venue to others who want to see some beautiful parts of Italy - I have promised to learn Italian though before I return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The stunning views from the pool area and our property.
Liked least: The fridge - we needed lots of cool drinks and it was a bit small for 4
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing