We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great time - thanks”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in a beautiful Northwoods setting Full size fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Relax in a beautiful Northwoods setting
Full size fully equipped kitchen
An abundance of wildlife right out your door
Your Check-In point
Sporty nine hole golf course on-site
Fish cleaning hut
Indoor pool
Large Hot Tub
On-Site Tennis
Seems like a good way to spend the day!
28 Lakes just waiting to be explored
Campfire Circle on Nature Point
Watch as the Northwoods explodes with color
A Winter Wonderland
Winter Silent Sports
On-Site Ice Skating Pond
Ice Fishing on Voyageur Lake
Over 500 miles of pristine snowmobile trails
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Eagle River, Wisconsin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
motions
FL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not as Advertised”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We booked our stay here through Interval and we are hugely disappointed with Lake Forest Resort and intend to call, as the description contains false information.
Pool and Fitness Center are not on site, you need to drive to the place...Once there it is a sad state of affairs, the place is in need of a lot of work, reminds me of a pool/gym at a one star hotel...We were shocked when we got there...Hot tub is small and was out of service. No aerobics or activities at all. They all should not call it a fitness center, as it was a small room with a few pieces of outdated equipment. No restaurant or bar on site. Office and sitting area closes at 4PM and all day on Sunday. Game room as a pingpong table only. Rooms are very outdated. Internet is HORRIBLE, and the write up actually tells you to go to McDonalds if you want good service. The place was nearly empty when we were there and service was nonexistent, we gave up trying to do anything on the internet. Not friendly staff, when we checked the lady was just not helpful...She had no interest in answering any questions and pointed to a flyer vs any input on her part..We had to drive to get firewood. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!! PLACE IS NOT A RESORT.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
It's very rare that we have a guest who experiences disappointment such as yours so let me start by expressing concern over your concerns, which I will address individually.

The Lake Forest Health & Fitness center is located just up a short hill from the condos, all located within the 200 acre Lake Forest Recreation Area. As we tell guests when they check-in, the facility is not owned or managed by Lake Forest Resort. It is independently owned and operated and we pay a membership fee for our owners and guests to use the facility. The facility is an older one and while it certainly doesn't compare to a new facility at a larger complex, it does supply the basic amenities of pool, hot tub, sauna, exercise room, massage by appointment and water aerobics classes several times a week. We'll be sharing your comments on that facility with its owners.

Being located in the rural Northwoods of WI, high-speed DSL internet service is not available to us, it's sad but true. We get our internet service via an antennae system which provides us with basic broadband. We're very upfront and honest about this and offer our owners and guests alternatives if they require faster service, i.e. going back into town (5 - 10 minutes) to a coffee shop or fast food establishment where DSL is available.

When you checked in yesterday we were about half full, which is normal for this time of year. We were fortunate enough to receive about 8" of fresh snow in the past few days so we have many guests here right now enjoying winter sports, specifically snowmobiling and ice fishing.

The condos at Lake Forest Resort are just shy of 40 years old. We take pride in keeping them very clean and well maintained. We work consistently on introducing upgrades that are within our budget while keeping them rustic, homelike and comfortable. The condos have wood-burning fireplaces and we sell fireplace logs in the lobby.

We're known for our friendly staff and receive weekly positive feedback about them. I'm sorry you felt your check-in experience was less than favorable. Upon check-in, all guests are told that the staff dept. heads phone numbers are posted on the side of the refrigerator and to please call on Sunday, when the office is closed, with any questions, concerns or emergency maintenance issues.

We don't like our guests to feel disappointed, we like them to relax and enjoy their time at the resort and the beautiful Northwoods of WI. On behalf of myself and all the staff, please know that we take guest concerns very seriously.


Sue - Resort Manager
Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip-C...
1 review
“Great time - thanks”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Staff were amazing - helped us find a Church for Christmas Eve service. They have a 3 mile XC ski/snow shoe trail on the property. We used the hot tub at the fitness center. Our Condo was warm, we used the wood burning fireplace. Great week spent there

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Hello Gordon & Family -
So glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with the greater Trip Advisor community. Please come back and see us again!
The Team at Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrgamsk
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful winter wonderland.”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were among the guests for the Christmas week kat Lake Forest. (Fortunately, we were able to book the week. Every unit was booked!

It was perfect weather for snowshoeing, skating, enjoying the fireplace and guests each evening, (Two of the cabins had family members so we had lots of time for visiting.) Everyone there was in a holiday mood, staff was most accommodating, and saw to a most pleasant holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Dear Neal, Irene & Family -
Thank you so much for spending your Christmas holiday with us and sharing your experience with the greater TripAdvisor community. Sounds like you had a lovely time and enjoyed many of the winter activities we have to offer. Please come back and visit us soon.
Happy New Year!
The Team at Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L
Marrshfield, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favorite destination”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have been going here for 25 years, 2-3 weeks per year. The staff are friendly and helpful, units are clean and well stocked, and the grounds of lake and forest are what we look for. Colors in early to mid-Octber make for a beautiful time. We are not ones to eat much or fancy, but the places we go the food is well prepared and service is good. Shopping is typical of tourist, but after the 15th shops alter hours during the week days.
We like the quiet, but is you don't this late is off season (15-29) so likely not a good time to go.
If you swim there is a pool. Workout area is at the pool, but I'm town is a quality facility with machines and free weights. There are trails for hiking and biking.
Least liked, leaving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2016
Bob & Sue -We appreciate you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the large TripAdvisor community. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Autumn in the Northwoods of WI is a special time!
The Team at Lake Forest Resort
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annbah
1 review
“Our entire family enjoyed staying at this location!”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

I would definitely go back! Not only was the place wonderful, the location was unbeatable! There was plenty to keep the children occupied and still give you the best north woods experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
We so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the large TripAdvisor community. It's wonderful to hear that you would not hesitate to choose us again and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing Lake Forest Resort as you vacation getaway destination!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing