We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place”

Norske Nook - DeForest
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in DeForest
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We once went to Norske Nook up north. It wasn't all it was said to be, but we decided to give it another try when it came to DeForest.
It took forever to be seated and it wasn't even a busy day. We waited a long time before the waitress came. The food was over priced for what it was and it wasn't all that great. Any pie orders were turned down as they were out of everything it seemed. What we did get, was not very good. and it was way over priced for what it was.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sunshineinwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norske N, Owner at Norske Nook - DeForest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are very sorry about the experience that we provided you at the DeForest Norske Nook. We strive to give our customers a relaxing family environment with great, comforting food; as well as dessert. Please contact us at info@norskenook.com, or call us at (608) 842-3378 so we can properly solve this issue for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

My wife and IO were coming back from a day trip across the Cheddar Curtain. We xaw a sign for the Norske Noon &nbeing of Nordik heritage we drove to it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank k5of6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

My wife and I went for dinner on Pie Day. Our server seemed distracted and had to return to check our pie order. I ordered the Hot Beef Sandwich, which is listed as Norske Nook's Best - it was lousy. The amount of roast beef was a joke (very little), the bread was dry, and the gravy was watery. Very disappointing! My wife ordered a chicken wrap with mandarin oranges. The chicken looked like pressed chicken and was soft and tasteless. The only saving grace was dessert. We both had pie (Chocolate Cream and Raspberry-Peach). Very good. My recommendation is to eat dinner somewhere else and go for dessert!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Paul_inSunPrairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norske N, Owner at Norske Nook - DeForest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

We are very sorry about the dinner that we provided you at the DeForest Norske Nook. We strive to give our customers a relaxing family environment with great, comforting food; as well as dessert. Please contact us at info@norskenook.com, or call us at (608) 842-3378 so we can properly solve this issue for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Member of family said it was a great place to get authentic Norwegian food. They had been there before. It took forever to get our food, it was cold, the whole room was cold and it took over a half an hour for the waitress to get our bill straight. Every type of pie we wanted, they no longer had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norske N, Owner at Norske Nook - DeForest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

We are very sorry about the experience we provided you at the DeForest Norske Nook. We strive to give our customers a relaxing family environment with great, comforting food. Please contact us at info@norskenook.com, or call us at (608) 842-3378 so we can properly solve this issue for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Honestly, I would say the food was OK, but the pie was the bomb! We had the Friday night fish fry. Beer battered cod. We were really looking for something local, like Walleye. The batter was good but the fish was tasteless. The coleslaw was excellent. We had apple crumb pie and it was fantastic. The crust was amazing! They have a great selection of pies and they sell a cookbook that gives you the recipes for the crust and filling.

Thank Laurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Norske Nook - DeForest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing