We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
62
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed with Pam and Dave at Pinehaven (with my wife) one night August 2015 (see that TripAdvisor review for more detail). Decided to visit again and stayed four nights in Garden Room upstairs (also had adjacent Wicker Room for my mother-in-law).

Like others, I am hesitant to "shout" the praises of Pinehaven too much as it will reveal this hidden gem. But Pam and Dave deserve this praise. The rooms, grounds, breakfasts, helpful local information and genuine hospitality at a fair price simply make this an exceptional B&B.

We will return. I feel like friends with Pam and Dave.

A few tips - do check out the recently refurbished Al Ringling theater in Baraboo - a reminder of days gone by and such gorgeous architectural features. Also see Devils Lake State Park, Pewits Nest Gorge, the local Baraboo meat market and perhaps drive around the "Cheese Trail" to Monroe, La Valle (get the Cheese Trail Map/guide from tourism office or some cheese shops like Widmers carry these). Next visit we shall see Circus World Museum (saw parade last year) and International Crane Foundation. Spring Green is not far away - there you can visit Taliesan - Frank Lloyd Wright home/study ...although quite EXPENSIVE tour and gets hot/humid and uncomfortable inside structures (temps in 80's while there).

So many great places to visit in Baraboo area (and of course The Dells) but whatever you do,.....

Stay at Pinehaven - you will NOT be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sebbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Do you ever have a place that you hate to give a good review because it's just THAT good that you don't want people to know about it? That's how I feel about this place. It's just so great, that I'm selfishly worried that when other people find out about it, there will be less availability for me. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the breakfasts are exceptional, and the best part is the warm, welcoming hospitality. Pam is an expert on the area and always knows the best places to go. The grounds are lovely, and there is nothing better than a walk around their lake, with a stop to see the majestic horses. The setting is so tranquil, all your worries just melt away. This was my fourth stay here, and I hope for many more!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

My wife and I stayed here for the first time while visiting WI for the Packers shareholder meeting. The B&B is just off Route 33 a couple miles east of Baraboo - very easy to find. It sits way off the main road and is very peaceful, with plenty of parking for guests. The entry door has a cipher lock on it and that worked fine.

We were in the Garden room which was very comfortable and immaculate with a queen bed. There was no TV but there is a common area where you can watch TV if you feel like it. There was a small mini fridge in the room and the sink was outside the bathroom at that was only large enough for the tub/shower combination and toilet. There was free wifi and that worked fine.

The breakfasts were very good and the food plentiful. You started with coffee, juice, water, etc along with fresh fruit, granola, muffins, etc and then a main dish like eggs, French toast, etc. The food was wonderful.

Pam and Dave have a dog and a couple draft horses on the property and all the animals are very friendly. We didn't see too much of Dave but Pam was just wonderful, very friendly and outgoing to make sure your stay is pleasant. There are plenty of good restaurant choices right in Baraboo, only about 5-10 minutes away, and Pam is happy to provide recommendations.

We enjoyed our two days here and would definitely recommend it to others. There are a ton of things to do in the area and the hosts could not be nicer. If we are back in this area we would certainly use them again!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I was travelling alone and found this unique & idyllic place by a very lucky coincidence & a tip of a tripadviser user. Of all the places in Wisconsin, I picked the one and only for me. The host Pam and her Husband David are so wonderful people. With her sweet little Dog Maddy, they welcomed me like a friend of the family, instead of a guest.

A 2-3 course breakfast, homecooked and so delicious, wonderful comfy beds in cozy decorated rooms, gave me a perfect start into the days. Pinehaven lies in the beautiful countryside, 2 miles only from Baraboo, close enough for great restaurants and nice shops. Dont miss the historic town centre and the Brodway Diner from the 50's.

Outside of the house is their private lake, surrounded by Pines and a river on the further end. The closeby Devils State Lake park is wonderful for even more hiking. Make sure to say hello to their 2 horses - I have never seen so large ones. If you can make it out of bed early, see the sunrise. The lake turns into a magical place for a few minutes.

There is absolutely nothing to complain. I can only recommend this Place highly and will defenetly would visit it anytime I'm closeby.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. I stayed in the Twin rooms (loved it!) and the Antique Room
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquamarina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

The aptly named Pinehaven Bed & Breakfast is a truly magical place.

The proprietors, Pam and David, couldn't have been more friendly, inviting, engaging and acommodating.

Pam is an excellent chef and breakfast was delicious. Her kitchen is open to a main sitting room and she's extremely comfortable cooking while conversing with her guests.

The grounds and surrounding landscape are unexpectedly spectacular complete with a small lake (large pond), horse pastures, corn fields, rolling hills and sweeping views from various places. It was quite a pleasant surprise to notice these things when first going down the driveway because they cannot be seen from the road. It didn't seem as thought there was a single spot that didn't offer some viewing interest.

The multi-level bed and breakfast fits perfectly into the landscape and is, literally, surrounded by tall, airy, whispering pine trees.

The rooms are large, clean, quiet and comfortable and most of them have easy access to a balcony or deck all with inviting outdoor lighting at night.

Right off of the kitchen is a large, pleasant, screened in room where guests can have their morning coffee, play games or just hang out.

We only stayed 1 night but it would be very easy to make this B&B a destination spot for a longer stay.

Pinehaven is a special place that won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews