We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very long wait”
Review of Vagabond Kitchen

Vagabond Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 115 Restaurants in Wheeling
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 25
Cuisines: American
Description: In 2013 Matt Welsch, the Vagabond Chef, traversed the country by motorcycle discovering and exploring the culinary renaissance in the United States. At the end of the year, Welsch returned home to the Wheeling bringing with him a wealth of restaurant and food experience, inspiration, and excitement which became the foundation of the Vagabond Kitchen. The first incarnation of Vagabond opened on June 8, 2014 in the McLure Hotel. The Vagabond Kitchen operated there until December 2015, at which point the restaurant closed its doors to relocate in a new and better location. Unfortunately, that location fell through at the last second. In an effort to remain on the lips and tongues of the Ohio Valley, the vagabonds operated out of the First State Capitol Building as a lunch counter called the State Cellar. It is now with great excitement that we reopen our doors as the Vagabond Kitchen, right where we should have been all along: in the heart of downtown Wheeling. Come into Vagabond at 1201 Market Street for a truly unique experience. Chef Welsch and his team have taken flavors from all over the world and translated them into something new for the regional palette. A meal at the Vagabond Kitchen is unlike any anywhere else!
Restaurant details
Description: In 2013 Matt Welsch, the Vagabond Chef, traversed the country by motorcycle discovering and exploring the culinary renaissance in the United States. At the end of the year, Welsch returned home to the Wheeling bringing with him a wealth of restaurant and food experience, inspiration, and excitement which became the foundation of the Vagabond Kitchen. The first incarnation of Vagabond opened on June 8, 2014 in the McLure Hotel. The Vagabond Kitchen operated there until December 2015, at which point the restaurant closed its doors to relocate in a new and better location. Unfortunately, that location fell through at the last second. In an effort to remain on the lips and tongues of the Ohio Valley, the vagabonds operated out of the First State Capitol Building as a lunch counter called the State Cellar. It is now with great excitement that we reopen our doors as the Vagabond Kitchen, right where we should have been all along: in the heart of downtown Wheeling. Come into Vagabond at 1201 Market Street for a truly unique experience. Chef Welsch and his team have taken flavors from all over the world and translated them into something new for the regional palette. A meal at the Vagabond Kitchen is unlike any anywhere else!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We spent over an hour waiting for 3 sandwiches at lunchtime. It wasn't even a particularly busy lunchtime. Only after we'd ordered did the waitress warn us that the kitchen was backed up. Instead of leaving and looking for somewhere else to eat in a city we'd never visited before, we decided to wait. And wait. And wait.
Finally, over an hour after we'd ordered, the food arrived. It was not worth the wait. My sandwich, pulled pork, was good. My wife and daughter were not happy with their sandwiches. My daughter, who's a vegetarian, had a sandwich that was so drenched in balsamic vinaigrette that she couldn't finish it despite the fact we were all hungry when we arrived and famished by the time the food came.
Frequently, after an unreasonably long wait, the wait staff will comp your beverages. No.
We paid a lot for not much and left. If we're ever passing through again, we won't stop here.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steveh46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018

We travel to Wheeling once or twice a year to visit family and friends and will be going up soon again. One of the things we're looking forward to is a return visit to Vagabond Kitchen and see what Chef Matt is up to. We lived in Wheeling when the downtown still had a major department store and other shops and have been saddened to see its decline. We hope Vagabond is a harbinger of better times ahead. The food is wonderful and Matt is taking his time in showing the folks of Wheeling a new experience. We look forward to returning again soon and encourage anyone visiting Wheeling or living in the area to give the Vagabond Kitchen a try. I think you'll like it.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jweAVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

a prix fixe meal with courses appearing every 30 minutes. The food was a nice variety of Irish-themed items and the courses appeared every 30 minutes. Live entertainment (a soloist) rounded out the afternoon. This was a tasty, relaxed afternoon meal and a rare Sunday afternoon day off allowed me to enjoy and support a local eatery. Two suggestions: 1) during the meal numerous non-participants entered - there was a chalkboard that could read 'private party - we reopen at XXX' 2) the performer is hard to see from the booth seats that face north.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mulle2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

This is a great local restaurant with a great local chef. But one problem is the atmosphere! The lighting is fluorescent lights in the drop down ceiling making it seem more like a diner than a nice restaurant. Turning off half of those lights, adding string lights, candles on the tables, anything would help! I want to see this restaurant succeed as we have so few nice places in Wheeling. But I don’t think people will go out on “date night” or for a nice evening out and eat in this harsh atmosphere.
On to the food: I had salmon dinner - it was excellent! My husband had cream of broccoli soup and salad. He said salad was delicious but broccoli soup was bland - the worst he has ever had.
Our friends ordered pasta and it was cold. After sending it back to the kitchen to be reheated, they said it was delicious.
Just a few improvements would make this the best restaurant in Wheeling, so I hope they take note.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank vuvu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

I had the Kettlebell Burger I believe. The taste and presentation where both 10/10 !! I can honestly say the food was quite possibly one of the best meals I've had in recent memory. The service, decor and atmosphere were all 10/10 in addition to the stellar food quality. Well done Matt !! This eatery in my opinion easily should be considered one of the best stops in the area, bar none.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank stevehS3127AH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Vagabond Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing