We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous stay with exceptional hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We had the distinct pleasure of staying at the Thomas Shepherd Inn for one evening, and the hospitality and ambience, combined with beautiful, comfortable rooms and a succulent breakfast, made our sejourn one of the best. Jeannie and Jim are the consummate hosts and they bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was most memorable. They are the total package and we would highly recommend anyone traveling to Shepherdstown, W. Virginia to stay at their lovely B&B.

Harry and Carol

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabber69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

My wife and I went up to Shepherdstown for the Halloween contra dance and were delighted to stay just two blocks from the dance hall. The hosts were very helpful, the accommodations were delightful and roomy. We had the room with a private bath across the hall, which was fine. The only thing I would caution people about is that it is a creaky, noisy house. If anyone walks in the hallways, you will hear it. The B&B was full, and I didn't hear any noise from any other rooms, but we heard every door that opened and every step in the hall. Still, for a full house on a Saturday night on Halloween it was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnapolisKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My husband and I went to Shepherdstown, WV to ride the C&O Canal Towpath and to simply relax in a charming town. We chose the Thomas Shepherd Inn Bread & Breakfast based on what was written on this website (TripAdvisor.com). We were delighted with our accommodations.

The Inn is nicely setup with lots of places to socialize with your company, with a lovely porch off the back (the moment you sit down in the porch, you relax), a library, a large living room with several seating areas. It’s well located which meant that we could stroll around the town and simply walk to restaurants/shopping and it's an easy and short bike ride to the C&O Canal Towpath.

Our room was quiet, beautiful, and the beds were comfortable. Our morning breakfast was delicious and the owners of the Inn were pleasant. The Inn’s owners, Jeanne and Jim, were happy to answer questions, give suggestions, but were not “in your face” which we appreciated.

We look forward to our next visit to Shepherdstown, WV and staying at this Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenofArlingtonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My wife and I just returned from a two-night wedding anniversary stay. We cannot say enough good things about the Thomas Shepherd Inn. It is beautifully maintained, the guest amenities are over-the-top compared to most B & B, and (most unusual) the beds are firm and big with new mattresses and hypoallergenic pillows. Besides the spacious rooms, guests are treated to a huge living room with coffee, tea, and sherry, an upstairs library with ice and a refrigerator for your own wine, restaurant lefts-overs, etc, and a comfortable second floor porch with a ceiling fan. There is cable TV in the living room with a large selection of DVD movies, but you probably will find the library and the porch more appealing after dinner. All of the best restaurants in town are within a block or two and Jeanne and Jim will not only recommend the best ones based on your dining interest, but make reservations for you. Plenty of private parking behind the Inn. Excellent B & B breakfasts and anything else you need you only have to mention to your hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Business_TravelerFFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I visited Shepherdstown for a two-night getaway at a quiet time of year, choosing the Thomas Shepherd Inn for its central location and gourmet breakfasts. The owners, Jeanne and Jim, were extremely helpful and accommodating, even before I arrived, with indispensable information about musical events in town and dining possibilities. Room #3 was just right for me: comfortable and well appointed. The one drawback was the street noise, though there was a clock radio with a sound conditioner that helped somewhat. The central location did make it easy to walk to everything, and breakfast was ample and delicious, with snacks and sherry available in the sitting room the rest of the day. All in all, a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgreenspan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.6 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
864 reviews
1 km away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
145 reviews
13.3 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
15 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9 km away
Antietam Overlook Farm
Antietam Overlook Farm
#1 of 3 in Keedysville
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Shepherd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Shepherd Inn

Address: 300 West German Street, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shepherdstown
Price Range: $162 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thomas Shepherd Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thomas Shepherd Inn offers guests the experience of gracious hospitality in an historic setting. Unique shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry are short drives away. Bike or hike on the C&O Canal Path 1/2 mile away. We offer six spacious, air-conditioned guest rooms with private baths. Our living room with fireplace, guest lounge with TV and porch overlooking our garden are available for your enjoyment. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Thomas Shepherd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing