We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike-friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thomas Shepherd Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

As the route planner for three 60-something guys on a bike trip, I picked the Thomas Shepherd Inn mostly on the basis of its location in Shepherdstown. Adequate arrangements would have been enough for us, but our stay was outstanding. Jeanne and Jim were flexible with respect to our breakfast time, breakfast menu, sleeping arrangements, and storing bicycles safely outside. Jim had some specific and helpful route suggestions for us as well. The room and breakfast were great and the location is extremely convenient to the town center. I would definitely stay there again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kibo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas6, Owner at Thomas Shepherd Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

We do enjoy our intrepid bicycling guests here at the Inn - thanks for your nice review! With bike racks in the back yard and most of our wonderful restaurants within walking distance, staying less than 1 mile away from the C&O Canal in Shepherdstown makes things easy for you. The construction near the bridge has finally completed so if you make a return trip you will find navigation easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

The Thomas Shepherd Inn was a treat. The Innkeepers could not have been more helpful re: making dinner plans and with tips on optimizing our time spent in exploring nearby historic attractions. For that, the B&B's location was perfect as it was only a few miles from Harpers Ferry and from the Antietam battlefield. Shepherdstown itself is very historic and the B&B is located right on the main street -- super convenient for restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very good but we selected the one room with a king size bed -- it was outstandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We loved our 2 night stay at the Thomas Shepherd Inn! The innkeepers are so gracious and friendly! They went out of their way to accomodate my gluten allergy making special treats for me. They were amazing!! The Inn is so nice and love the way its decorated and there is a fabulous library. Shepherdstown is such a lovely town we really enjoyed walking around the town. We also enjoyed biking on the C&O Canal towpath and visiting Antetam battlefield. We highly recommend going to Shepherdstown and staying at the Thomas Shepherd Inn!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penniesfromheaven3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Thomas Shepherd Inn overnight after a wonderful dinner with friends at The Press Room. We stayed in Room 6, which was very bright, cheeful and cozy - we felt immediately comfortable and especially liked the electric corner fireplace. Although I'm not a huge fan of the claw tub/shower combos, this bathroom had a great showerhead! I was impressed by the fresh flowers in our room.

Many past reviews remarked on the road noise....I did not find this a problem at all, but my husband noticed the traffic a bit (but not majorly problematic).

The included breakfast (and coffee) was very good, as well. After breakfast, we walked down the street to the Farmer's Market which was quite diverse. If you have never been there, Shepherdstown is a little gem with several unique shops and great restaurants on the main street. It is full of and surrounded by history (Antietam and Harper's Ferry are VERY close by). It is a perfect place for a day trip or relaxing weekend get-away from central PA, MD, WVA or DC. The C & O canal trail is 5 minutes away - perfect for running, walking or biking. I believe kayaks can also be rented for a great experience on the Potomac.

We love every visit we make to Shepherdstown...and would not hesitate to stay at The Thomas Shephard Inn again in the future.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper or road traffic bothers you, you might want to bring earplugs with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidzeyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Thomas Shepherd Inn is a great B&B, charmingly restored, and very comfortable. The hosts are friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed talking over breakfast. Shepherdstown itself was an unexpected delight for us, following a day of hiking in Harpers Ferry. The town has retained its 19th century character, but updated with a combination of interesting shops, one or two excellent restaurants and a few "new age" eateries.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerL344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
0.6 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
844 reviews
1.1 km away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
144 reviews
0.9 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
270 reviews
15.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.0 km away
Antietam Overlook Farm
Antietam Overlook Farm
#1 of 3 in Keedysville
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas Shepherd Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas Shepherd Inn

Address: 300 West German Street, Shepherdstown, WV 25443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shepherdstown
Price Range: $214 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thomas Shepherd Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thomas Shepherd Inn offers guests the experience of gracious hospitality in an historic setting. Unique shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Antietam Battlefield and Harper's Ferry are short drives away. Bike or hike on the C&O Canal Path 1/2 mile away. We offer six spacious, air-conditioned guest rooms with private baths. Our living room with fireplace, guest lounge with TV and porch overlooking our garden are available for your enjoyment. Full breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Thomas Shepherd Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing