We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good, but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mostly good, but....”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The price, location and cleanliness of the hotel was fine. But the bed: I have never slept on a more uncomfortable mattress. It was really terrible.

And that is really too bad, because otherwise, the lace was terrific.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerNBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionShepherdstown, General Manager at Quality Inn Shepherdstown, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was glad to hear that, on a whole, everything was up to your expectations. I apologize, however, that the mattress led to an uncomfortable nights sleep. We understand what an important aspect of your stay that this plays and want all of guests to be comfortable. We will certainly look into replacing the mattress in your room and hope that we get another opportunity in the future to impress you with all aspects of our property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    50
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
30
51
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Though not a luxurious hotel, it is clean, quiet, and the staff was very welcoming and friendly. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byates3789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for one night in July 2011. The rooms are average size for this sort of hotel. They were clean. Bathroom is tiny, with a sink and small counter in the room. It's probably less than a mile from the darling main downtown area of Shepherdstown. Our nonsmoking room smelled fine. More importantly, it was quiet, even though we were literally next to the hotel lobby. Although I love inns and B&Bs, if I return to this area I would probably stay here again rather than pay what seemed to be inflated rates at those sorts of places in the area. Also, the hotel provided a very nice list of restaurants in town, which I thought was great, since we ended up here on the spur of the moment and I hadn't had a chance to do any advance research.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karla79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The property appears to be relatively new. Everything is very well maintained and very clean. All of the staff went out of their way to make for a pleasant stay. We were on the back of the hotel, so your view is of a self-serve car wash. It's your basic hotel. I can't say anything bad about it.

There's a Food Lion across the street. There's also a King's pizza that we walked over to one night for dinner.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Napoleonva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed here for one night while we visited the area. There was an evening program at Antietam, we wanted to stay nearby and the higher rated Bavarian Inn was booked . Comfortable room, fine bed and friendly receptionist. Shepherdstown itself was a pleasant and unexpected addition to our itinerary. Hot/cold breakfast had better variety than some we've had elsewhere, but the actual eating area was too small.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pug-owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepherdstown
1.3 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
825 reviews
0.8 km away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
14.0 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
100 reviews
14.1 km away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
292 reviews
15.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Shepherdstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Shepherdstown

Property: Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Address: 70 Maddex Square Dr, Intersection of Route 45 & Maddex, Shepherdstown, WV 25443-4321 (Formerly Comfort Inn Shepherdstown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Shepherdstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shepherdstown
Price range (per night): $110 - $175
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Shepherdstown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Shepherdstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown Hotel Shepherdstown
Shepherdstown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing