We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
103
18
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
18
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flat screen tv road noise cookies taking pictures spent several picnic tables step back in time cool retro visiting family in the area water pressure annex building modern amenities per night coffee pot great place to stay night stay stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We stayed here last weekend while visiting family in the area. We had tried a larger hotel in the area initially, since we had stayed there in the past, but they were booked up for what we needed. I'm glad they were! What a nice little place. It has nice modern amenities like Wifi, microwave, fridge and coffee maker, but has a retro, by gone days charm. The desk clerk was very helpful and friendly, as was two other staff members I encountered. It has some tables and gazebos in front of the hotel, if you want to relax outside. My 25 yo daughter was a bit lacking in enthusiasm about the place from what she saw online, but did a 180 once she saw the place in person. She spent several minutes taking pictures of the hotel and from around the grounds. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kirke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We spent a night at the Koolwink while taking the grandkids on the Potomac Eagle and I was very favorably impressed by the friendliness and cleanliness of the Koolwink. A walk across the footbridge and the view of the small waterfall was a very pleasant surprise. I highly recommend this motel; and give it high marks for comfort, cleanliness and affordability.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michelep309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Nice little roadside hotel, clean room and bathroom, with a small refrigerator and microwave in the unit. Nice man runs the place, looks like he is putting a lot of effort into maintenance. The water isn't so good for flavor, soda machine is 75 cents a can.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank KerryLDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

My family has its roots in Hampshire County, and relatives have stayed at the Koolwink for generations.
My great aunt ran a tourist home up the road on Route 50 in the 30s and 40s, and one finds the same downhome hospitality and friendliness in this very well maintained retro motel.
Clean as a pin. Very quiet.
Robert, the owner, is extremely friendly and helpful.
There is a bigger commercial hotel up the hill, with all the personality of an office building.
If you want truly authentic country hospitality, stay at the Koolwink.
The rates are exceptionally reasonable.
One can get breakfast up the road at the truckstop or at the nearby McDonalds, and coffee makers, microwaves, and fridges are in each room.
The bathrooms are pristine, and the shower water pressure is excellent.
Highest recommendation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank david10001867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

I recently stayed at the Koolwink Motel for the second time in the past year & I highly recommend it for the following reasons:

(1) It is a family-run business, which is a rarity in today's era of blockbuster chains. In talking to the manager on my visits, I can tell that he is passionate about what he does in managing this fine artifact of Americana.

(2) The rooms have character. I've stayed in both the upper units and the lower units. The lower units are decorated in different shades of a retro green -- green carpeting, chairs, curtains, bathroom tiles, and bathtub; while the upper units (built later) possess a yellow scheme. Both have a very nostalgic wood paneling, and the hand-built desks and dresser units mounted to the wall in each room illustrate a craftsmanship and uniqueness one doesn't find in your typic motel.

(3) Cleanliness. Sure, most motels that one finds themselve staying in these days will be clean. When I stay at the Koolwink, however, there is a different feel about the cleanliness -- almost like the owners have cleaned and maintained a 60+ year old motel room for the comfort of their guests, not the $$$.

(4) Robert, the owner, is a welcome presence who cares passionately for what he does, and this is reflected in the way that he welcomes and treats his guests. I was especially fond of the free DVD players and trove of classic DVDs found in the office for guest use.

(5) A reasonable rate. While there is no continental breakfast, the rate still beats that of the nearby South Branch Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews