We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Hotel is clean, comfortable and great for a overnight stay. Check in was a breeze and front desk was cordial. It is conveniently located by restaurants. Has 3 floors with elevator and steps. Smoke free and pet free. No bad odors. Refrigerator in room was somewhat noisy.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a room by elevator or vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pscopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a great check in experience. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Morgantown. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Holiday Inn Express is my go to hotel when traveling in the USA. They are very consistent and offer good value.

I was in Morgantown for my son's graduation from WVU and was traveling with my elderly parents.

This is the most unfriendly Express site I have ever stayed at. Staff was very focused on themselves and not serving the customer. I say this in a hotel chain that is designed to have little interaction between the guests and the staff, so that should give you an idea of how unimpressed I was.

Checking in was so bad that I had to criticize the front desk clerk directly because the manager could not be located.

As I was checking in there were two groups in front of ours. There were two front desk clerks, but one was having a personal phone conversation in front of us all at a level that it seemed he didn't care if we heard every word.

After waiting 15 minutes for the other two groups to get checked in by the one person working, the other was still on the phone. I asked him directly who he was talking to and he replied his father. I suggested he hang up and call him back on his personal time. He did end the call and then left the front desk. The person left to check us in gave me a rude look and i asked to speak with the manager. Her response was that the manager was not on site.

Bottom line: there are many hotel choices in Morgantown, WV. You may be better off choosing another option besides the local Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Onefiftyone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I sincerely apologize for the disappointing service you received during check in. I can assure you that this was an isolated incident. We treat this matter very seriously and appropriate action has been taken. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience these issues may have caused you. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Stayed at this location for a few nights while working at Camp Dawson. Hotel was very clean, room upgrade was well appreciated. Breakfast is the same old HI Express breakfast (getting pretty old) although the food was OK. Service at the desk was very accommodating and was happy to help with any request. Very close to restaurants, (walking distance) right in the area. Very nice hotel, I would certainly stay at this location when my travels bring me back to this area.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We also appreciate your constructive criticism, it helps us know where we can improve. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Morgantown. We look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The room had an odd smell. Not necessarily bad, just odd. My husband said he couldn't smell it but I tend to notice smells more. Otherwise, the room was very nice and clean. The room had DirecTV which nice. Our room was on the first floor and was just around the corner from the front desk. It was a little noisy in the morning with people walking by to go get breakfast. I would probably ask for a different location if we stay here again.
The complimentary breakfast was great. It had a very nice selection of breakfast foods and a really cool pancake machine.
Overall, the hotel was good and I would stay here again or recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the front desk area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelwithdog08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our complimentary breakfast. However, I apologize that you experienced some issues with an odd smell and noise during your stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with the staff, so we can ensure this doesn't happen again in the future. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015 via mobile

Very nice hotel and rooms. The room just had a bad smell. After a while I got use to it and it didn't bother me. The room was very clean just stunk. I will be back to stay again along with a bottle of spray.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Whytsell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the issue you experienced with the smell in your room. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and hope you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
9.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
5.8 km away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#5 of 24 in Morgantown
562 reviews
4.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
5 km away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
4.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morgantown

Address: 605 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-7305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $125 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Morgantown. We are a 68 room hotel that features many amenities such as a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, spa and exercise facility along with meeting space for 40 classroom style or 60 theatre style. All rooms are accessed through interior corridors and feature a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, two-line speakerphone with data port, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and free high speed wireless Internet access. An elevator is available for access on upper floors. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located on I-68, exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport) or from I-79, Exit 148 (I-68 East/Cumberland), exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport). Stay with us and our friendly staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Holiday Inn Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing