We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay while visiting the area”
Review of Heldreth Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heldreth Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingwood
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The rooms are adequate and very clean. Nice micro/fridge. We prefer to eat meals at Monroe's Restuarant located on Main Street...good location while attending the annual Buckwheat Festival.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jfscas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thanks for staying with us! Hope to see you again for this years Buckwheat Festival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Heldreth Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

I really can't say anything bad about the motel except that it is out of the way of everything and anything. After a 7 hour drive it was still another hour to get to the motel after getting off the highway. The scenery was nice especially from my room, my husband enjoyed looking at the stars. I want to thank the staff for holding on to a lost item...Honesty still abounds...Motel could use a few upgrades like some shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom but other than that it was a descent experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KY_Brenda0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

My field crew and I stayed here for one night and it will likely be the last time! Our secretary called ahead to reserve two rooms for one night. When we arrived at the motel, there was only one room reserved and they lost the credit card information given to them by our secretary. I held the rooms with my credit card under the promise that my card would not be billed and that they would call and get the credit card information the next day. It turned out that they just lost the credit card information and the morning guy that works the office found it. STILL, I checked my account a few days later and found that they had charged me anyway. FURTHER, they added an additional charge and claimed that they had mis-priced the room when we paid for it!!! Parking was not that great and the rooms were so-so. Based on my experience, I would definitely not recommend this hotel to a friend. I would recommend that the hotel managers/owners take a course in data management and organization.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kaldinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

My husband and relatives have stayed at the Heldreth for years, mainly because of the convenient location. We have attended many family reunions in Terra Alta, and most of us out-of-towners stay here. It's not the Ritz, that's for sure. However, it's close to everything, the rooms are old, but clean, and we've never had a problem with parking. The adjacent restaurant serves decent food, and altogether, it's an okay place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jxbigsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

This was one of the worst motels I have ever stayed in. Could not park anywhere near my room because the parking lot was blocked. Then the person working the front desk said that the owners of the bar next to the motel would tow our truck if we parked in the wrong place. There was a sign for an ice machine but we never saw one. My daughter who is 6 drinks ice water every day so we had to drive to town to get ice for her. Couldn't hardly get in the front door the night we arrived for people gathered in front of the office doorway drinking. There was about 15 or 20 people. Management should not have allowed that. You best bring your shampoo and conditioner cause they do not have the complementary ones for you to use. The room was ok but the bathroom was gross. Mold and mildew all in the shower. Oh and the shower!!! I had hot water for about 5 minutes tops. My daugher and I showered in cold water. Never again will I stay there even if if were free. The rate and is way to high for the quality. I have been staying in motels for 9 yrs now off and on traveling and this is the 2nd worst one I have been in.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BonBon72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingwood
25.8 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
1.0 km away
The Preston County Inn
The Preston County Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingwood
37 reviews
11.3 km away
Homestead Inn Guest House
Homestead Inn Guest House
#1 of 1 in Reedsville
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Super 8 Morgantown
Super 8 Morgantown
#19 of 25 in Morgantown
445 reviews
15.9 km away
Alpine Lake Resort
Alpine Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Terra Alta
36 reviews
24.6 km away
Oakland Motel
Oakland Motel
#3 of 3 in Oakland
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heldreth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heldreth Motel

Address: 400 Kingston Road, PO Box 564, Kingwood, WV 26537
Region: United States > West Virginia > Kingwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kingwood
Price Range: $89 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heldreth Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Heldreth Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing