We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Festival in the Forest”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
on the Shavers Fork of the Cheat River, at the gates to the Monongahela National Forest
Living room with access to the deck and hot tub
Dining area with stone fireplace and gas logs.
Second floor bedroom with two singles
Shaded porch
Fenced yard
Spacious kitchen
Ground floor bathroom
on the Shavers Fork of the Cheat River, at the gate to the Monongahela National Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Elkins, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JamesBFra...
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, rustic room, disappointing staff”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge, its view, and its location were all great but I never once met staff and the room cleanliness could be greatly improved. I get that we are in a woodsy area so pests are always an issue but not dead pests on the floor after room service nor spiders and web in toiletry items for guest use. The beautiful room was not as charming as it could have been thanks to the two areas of unrepaired ceiling damage (apparently water damage). We arrived late but found our welcome envelope and room key no problem (unattended by the way). Although an odd way to pick up the key, the Lodge's location is not really one for vagrants or other malcontents, and if we had a problem, I am sure the owner/management would have responded to a call/voicemail. Office hours are also at the convenience of the owner/manager (open 0900) so they were closed when we departed. The key drop-off was also not secure but again, the beautiful location seemed untroubled with traffic and problems. I liked the potential of this lodge, its location on the river and closeness to Elkins but was disappointed in the lack of staff and the cleanliness/condition of the room for cost (about $100/night).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2018
new staff, and our remodeling is complete. We have always been only a quick tel call away...whereas you don't even need to leave the comfort of your room for assistance. If you are looking to find a body just sitting behind a desk...that's not us ! We are out and about serving the needs of our guests...which might be as simple as showing them a fantastic fishing hole. Additionally, we have an on premise ...live in...property mgr who lives 50 ft from the lodge building entrance. While making ourselves available, I am not sure what else we could do...that would not impose on a quest's desire for privacy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmdavi10
Parkersburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
“Festival in the Forest”
Reviewed 20 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

My wife and I, along with our daughter & son and their families spent the weekend in this cottage. We were delighted with this mountain hideaway. The grandchildren & adults had a wonderful time in the hot tube. Will be going back very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2017
Thank you for your patronage. Established in 1984, we are a family owned and operated business, staffed with employees who care to make your stay comfortable. We have a 99.9% Better Business rating, and intend to keep it that way ! Should you ever find anything unsatisfactory, please let us know so that it can be corrected. We look forward to your return. Again, Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: No Internet
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amy M
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Cabin”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Stone House was just as advertised. The photos depicted the cabin accurately. It was well equipped and very clean. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen spacious, the bathrooms roomy and the fireplace very cozy. The staff at the Cheat River Lodge were very welcoming and always available. Overall a great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Having 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms - very spacious
Liked least: Location too close to road, but we were informed of that prior to coming.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncrbrew
the burgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Years Eve 2007”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 for a stay in December 2012

Rented the Stone House for 3 couples for NYE. Everything was perfect. This was my first time renting at CRL and we all loved it. Secluded yet close to town if you need something. Fireplace, hot tub, grill, kitchen, views, etc. Highly recommend this for groups of 3 couples. rented the rhodenedron last year and equally as nice not as large as the stone house.
Nick

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
All of our properties are unique, with different décor, and layout. We try to represent them honestly and accurately on our website, providing all the information needed to select an accommodation that best suits your needs. We are also available by phone at (304) 636-2301 9am to 9pm daily if additional information is needed. It seems like your selection was right on ! Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing