We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Canaan Village Inn(Davis)(Great Value!)
USD 168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakland Motel(Oakland)(Great Value!)
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Park Motel(Petersburg)
USD 58
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 177
USD 142
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 90
USD 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
76
82
47
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
82
47
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblackwater falls state parkwest virginiahiking trailsplay gameshot tubexercise roomsledding hillboard gamesenjoy the sceneryindoor poollarge flat screen tvparking lotjigsaw puzzlecanyon view roomon site restaurantgreat roombit dated
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This lodge is tucked away in beautiful Blackwater Falls State Park, so the surroundings are gorgeous! Since we visited in the off season, it was quiet and very restful. I'm not sure what it would be like during the summer or early fall. We had a room at the lodge, but cabins are also available. The lodge is older, but very well-kept. Our room was not large and the furnishings were also older, but it was very clean, cozy, and comfortable. The bed was nice and soft. The Lodge staff and dining room staff were very courteous and helpful. And the food in the restaurant was exceptional - although it's just good home cooking. ( But that's my kind of eating!) Overall, we were very pleased with the Lodge and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelingbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed for two nights in a cabin at the State Park rather than at the main lodge. The cabin was clean and quite comfortable, but not what you would call elegant or fancy. Our cabin was very secluded. There were others nearby but we couldn't easily see them. The cabin served well as a place to stay while we were driving around the area to see whatever sights we could find. We visited, however, in September before the leaves really turned. We were there between the summer season and the winter sking season. At that time of year, the main activity appeared to be hiking around the various trails. There were quite a few of them so, if that is what you were there to do, you would be quite satisfied. We found that there is not much else to do or to see. We walked down the many steps to the falls and they were beautiful but not spectacular. Pay close attention to driving details as it is easy to get lost. There are not many road signs in West Virginia. We ate breakfast twice at the main lodge and it was a very good and rather extensive buffet. We ate two evening meals there and found the food to be good but nothing special. In September, the town of Davis more or less closes up and takes a rest from busier summers and winters.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ladybug004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Lodge at Blackwater Falls is a throwback to earlier times. It is a lovely place which is well-maintained and very clean. The rooms are smallish, but nice. The staff is helpful and friendly. There is a restaurant on-site which we patronized twice for breakfast and it was quite good. The Falls are the big attraction, and there are also many hiking trails. The scenery is magnificent. We stayed three nights and did not want to leave when it was time to check out. The Lodge rooms do not have refrigerators, microwaves nor hairdryers, but there is a beautiful indoor pool and a well equipped and modern fitness room adjacent to the pool. The lovely, if old fashioned, guest lobby has a fireplace, comfortable seating areas and tables which we saw being used for jigsaw puzzles and people playing cards or board games. The outdoor area behind the Lodge has tables and chairs and an overlook platform for viewing the forested gorge above the Falls. The whole feel of the place is out of time and a breath of fresh air for anyone seeking a respite from the usual routine. Bring your good hiking boots, books, a deck of cards and your favorite board game and get ready for time to slow down.

Reservations are easily made on-line. Room rates are very reasonable. The only discount honored is a senior citizen rate of 10% off rooms for guests aged 60 and over and will be deducted from your bill at check-in. West Virginia's state park system is a treasure. A visit to their website shows that there are several parks with lodges and/or cabin options. We would not hesitate to try any one of them. Thank you, West Virginia!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Strive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is our second trip to Blackwater Falls. The cabin was once again, as clean as a whistle. Of all the trails we hiked, we only came across two families. A very quiet time of the year for visitors to the park.
The scenery was unforgettable! Such beauty!! And of course the scenery is the reason we chose to visit the park again.
We ate 2 dinners at Sirriannis (sp),in Thomas which were very good. A campy sort of place. Two breakfasts at The Flying Pig in Thomas which were very good as well. Dinner at the lodge was forgettable. Overall, we were so pleased and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sofia19771982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We just spent three days and two nights at the Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge, located near Davis, W. Va. The lodge is probably vintage 1960's or earlier and they have added a new indoor pool, exercise room, and spa as well as conference facilities but the main lobby, restaurant, and rooms are definitely dated (old fixtures, rugs, tubs, etc.). That being said, the room was comfortable and clean. The lodge sits on a beautiful bluff overlooking the gorge but could use some work also (better chairs, maybe some flowers?? The park has a lot to offer but it didn't seem that it's qualities were being presented very well, e.g. the various gorge trails, lindy point, the falls itself, no one seemed to be very interested in telling us where these things were, how to get around, places to eat (other than the lodge), all in all, somewhat disappointing for our first visit to BWSP. Restaurants are few and far between in the closeby towns of Davis and Thomas, did enjoy Sarianni's in Davis for our second night in the area.

Room Tip: most of the gorge facing rooms are obscured by large trees (cannot really see the gorge)
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews