We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Gorgeous B&B plus Great Food”
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I treated my husband to an early birthday present by visiting Charles Town and staying at the Hillbook Inn. It was beautiful. They have taken such care to keep the period atmosphere and yet have wonderful up to date amenities. The rooms are wickered into the structure with such care that NO room has the same shape. The grounds are lovely and spread out for nice places to walk. If the delicious breakfast was any indication of the quality of meals at Hillbook we should have stayed two nights and taken advantage of the 3 or 5 course dinner meal that they offered. In addition, staff that work at Hillbrook is very friendly, conscientious, and personable, We look forward to staying at Hillbrook the next time we are in Charles Town.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs in the main building.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted to be your destination of choice when visiting Charles Town. Thank you for your kind words, and happy belated birthday to your husband!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Hillbrook Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our daughter and son-in-law gave us a stay at the Inn and dinner at Redbook Restaurant as a gift. We had a wonderful stay and both the food and service at dinner were truly outstanding. We look forward to staying at the Inn again, and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet getaway with an amazing dinner (and breakfast)1

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in the South suite at the Hawthorne house, located a few minutes from the main inn. The property is in the middle of an apple orchard and in front of a cornfield. Hawthorne is constructed of beautiful stone and wood, along with high-end built in wood cabinets. The South suite has a fantastic bathroom, stone fireplace, and a door onto the porch.it is the only suite located on the first floor (3 on the second floor). The basement in the Hawthorne house has a large TV and pool table that can also be used for ping pong. There is a door on the outside leading to a small fitness room, also in the basement. This house has my dream kitchen too. The kitchen is off limits fro cooking, but each room has a shelf in the refrigerator and there are coffee, snacks, sodas, and ice available. Everything was very clean. My only issue was that the bed was quite creaky - may need a new box spring or perhaps the frame needs tightening.

We drove by the Farmhouse just to take a look and it appeared to be very nice as well. The main property contains the breakfast area/restaurant. The staff was very accommodating with our dietary needs for breakfast. We did not have dinner at the inn. Personally, I would prefer to stay in Hawthorne or the Farmhouse.

Right now there is a special on rooms for $129/night weekdays until the end of the month. I spend a lot of time researching travel. The $129 offer may be the best deal on travel in America. Unfortunately, I purchased on Groupon prior to the deal but even paying more it was still a bargain. You put this property in, say, Newport, RI, and prices would be $500+/night.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kimina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your compliments of our Hawthorn property! We appreciate the details you provided and also your feedback about the bed so that we can correct it promptly. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We spent just one night at this charming Inn for a quick getaway. We had no trouble finding it. The staff was very warmly welcoming and accommodating. Very clean and delightfully designed. The grounds are nice for walking. While they were not serving dinner for the night we were there, we drove several miles into Charles Town and had a very nice dinner at Alfredo's Mediterranean Restaurant. Breakfast the next morning at the Inn was delicious and accommodating to my two food allergies. We unfortunately did not have time to enjoy the spa but it looked inviting.Lots of history in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the delightful Snuggery but would not have been accessible for someone with walking iss...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jreiner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're so glad you enjoyed your evening with us and got to explore the area a bit as well. Thank you for sharing, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

There are nearly 20 rooms at this B&B, some of which are in the main building, some in a nearby cottage/out building, and some within a short drive. We stayed at the Bamford Suite, which is part of the main building, just a few steps from the dining room. It was luxurious and included a private patio with a view of the gorgeous grounds and a private parking spot. We would highly recommend this very private room. The four course dinner was very elegant (Note: No cutoffs and flip flops for dinner; bring a change of nicer clothes). Hillbrook must be very popular with couples celebrating their wedding anniversaries. Every couple we met on a Sunday stay was doing the same. Be sure to read up on the history of this property which was, I believe, at one time owned by George Washington.

Room Tip: We liked staying in the historic main building, parts of which date back to the 1700s
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

What a joy to be able to help you celebrate such a special occasion! I'm glad you enjoyed the romantic Bamford suite for your anniversary stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
9.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
23.7 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
833 reviews
16.3 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.2 km away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
8.7 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Charles Town
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Address: 4490 Summit Point Rd, Charles Town, WV 25414-4682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range: $189 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. We were just named in the Top 10 B&B's in the US! Our fantastic Select Registry property is an historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn that makes us stand apart from any property in Harper's Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing