We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vist for our 40th anniversary”
Review of Hillbrook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillbrook Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Charles Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

There are nearly 20 rooms at this B&B, some of which are in the main building, some in a nearby cottage/out building, and some within a short drive. We stayed at the Bamford Suite, which is part of the main building, just a few steps from the dining room. It was luxurious and included a private patio with a view of the gorgeous grounds and a private parking spot. We would highly recommend this very private room. The four course dinner was very elegant (Note: No cutoffs and flip flops for dinner; bring a change of nicer clothes). Hillbrook must be very popular with couples celebrating their wedding anniversaries. Every couple we met on a Sunday stay was doing the same. Be sure to read up on the history of this property which was, I believe, at one time owned by George Washington.

Room Tip: We liked staying in the historic main building, parts of which date back to the 1700s
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

What a joy to be able to help you celebrate such a special occasion! I'm glad you enjoyed the romantic Bamford suite for your anniversary stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Hillbrook Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

My daughter booked my husband there for a night when we were visiting. We all enjoyed a perfectly made tailored to two types of allergies gourmet dinner. The accommodations were lovely but did include a mile drive to reach a gated beautifully maintained suite in a well appointed house. It would be perfect for a small family reunion.
Also on the grounds are cottages with soaking tubs within walking distance to the restaurant and spa. I plan to go back to try the spa. Breakfast(included) again was beautifully prepared. Highly recommend this getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WVLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you so much for recommending us and for your compliments about the meals and accommodations. We deeply appreciate your kindness!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Thank you, Hillbrook Inn! We had a lovely stay to celebrate an anniversary. We did chauffeured wine tour which was lots of fun. Becky was our guide, she was friendly and engaging but gave also gave us time to ourselves at each winery. The charcuterie tray that comes with the tastings was top notch.. delicious! We stayed in The Sunrise Suite at the Farmhouse, the room was immaculate and welcoming. Snacks and drinks available for free at anytime during your stay was a nice bonus!! We are at the restaurant, the meals were just as beautiful as they were delicious.
The Hillbrook Inn is a hidden gem -- we will be back!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zoe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

We enjoyed reading about how much you enjoyed your stay, including the wine tour, food, and accommodations at the Farmhouse. Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us! We look forward to seeing you again and appreciate you sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We had a wonderful and romantic weekend away in the Fall Cottage. We enjoyed walking around the grounds with our dog, a couple's massage, and a beautiful 5 course dinner. We highly recommend the Hillbrook Inn if you're looking for a quiet and peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizDy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed a romantic and relaxing time away at the Hillbrook Inn. We truly appreciate your kind words!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I needed to stay overnight in Charles Town for business and found Hillbrook Inn online. A must visit for anyone who likes historic inns. I stayed in the Summer Cottage and loved it. Service is fantastic. Grounds are gorgeous and serene. I'll definitely come back. Only 90 minutes from DC.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillbrook, Owner at Hillbrook Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

It was our pleasure to host you, and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you for writing such a complimentary review!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
9.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
23.7 km away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
833 reviews
16.3 km away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.2 km away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
8.7 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Charles Town
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillbrook Inn

Address: 4490 Summit Point Rd, Charles Town, WV 25414-4682
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Charles Town
Price Range: $189 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillbrook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an unforgettable West Virginia Inn and Restaurant in lovely Charles Town. We were just named in the Top 10 B&B's in the US! Our fantastic Select Registry property is an historic country estate with beautiful gardens on 17 wooded acres. Relax in a romantic suite with comfy beds, whirlpool tubs & fireplaces. Experience the gracious service and award winning dining at our secluded inn that makes us stand apart from any property in Harper's Ferry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Hillbrook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillbrook Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing