We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
442
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
442
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on arrival warm welcome bed and breakfast fresh milk b and b spacious room coffee and cake guest house quiet location little touches full english night's sleep feel very welcome beautiful surroundings stayed one night breakfast was excellent top quality
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We have stayed here before and because it was so good we decided to stay here again on our way back from Devon to Northumberland. It was just as we remembered...welcoming and comfortable. We were met on arrival by Mel who served us coffee and cake..delicious. Our room was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Lots of choice for breakfast the next morning all served by Mel who is absolutely delightful. We would recommend this B and B to anyone and we shall definitely stay here again if we are going that way.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This is a lovely B&B. Very welcoming with coffee and cake on arrival. Room lovely, better than most hotels I have stayed in - lots of space, clean and bright. Breakfast fresh and tasty. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We visited this guest house again on our recent trip to Wales. We hadn't been for three years and were delighted to find it as good as ever. The rooms are large and comfortable and there are little touches like complimentary snacks and soft drinks. The situation is excellent, close to the motorway but in quiet countryside. Mel welcomed us with afternoon tea on arrival and served an excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Lovely to see you both again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

A first class place to stay. Beautiful surroundings, lovely room and furnishings and lots of special touches like homemade cake on arrival. A real sanctuary from a busy world. There are plenty of good eating places nearby and lots of places to visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmk52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Nothing is too much trouble for Mel your host at Capernwray House. She has thought of everything to make your stay special ie homemade cake and tea on arrival and treats in the fridge in your room. Amazing breakfast and a peaceful location. All rooms and bathrooms have recently been refurbished.
Handy location for Kirkby Lonsdale, Sizergh Castle and Levens Hall Gardens. Within half an hour of the Lakes.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cheshirecheshire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thankyou very much ... lovely to have met you both x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews