We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
440
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
440
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivalwarm welcomebed and breakfastfresh milkb and bspacious roomcoffee and cakeguest housequiet locationlittle touchesfull englishnight's sleepfeel very welcomebeautiful surroundingsstayed one nightbreakfast was excellenttop quality
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A wonderful place to stay everything first class bedrooms exceptional as was the hospitality. Shall definitely be going back and Mel and Roy are a really great hosts a really warm welcome from arriving and nothing too much trouble. The rooms are spacious spotlessly clean comfy and everything you want provided even down to cotton buds. A beautiful area and the grounds and views from the house are amazing.

Room Tip: wouldnt like to choose as all rooms are the same exceptional quality
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I've stayed here several times since 2003 but not in the last three years. I returned this Summer and much to my surprise my previous single room was now a very luxurious en-suite double (Teal). Adding to that, an expanded and impressive choice on the breakfast menu meant that Capernwray House is now more like a boutique hotel than the top-quality B&B it previously was.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our delightful stay began with a warm welcome (even though we arrived late evening), and a cup of tea and cakes. Our ensuite room ("teal" room) was spacious, clean and fresh, and the breakfast the next morning was delicious and varied.
We wished that we had arranged to stay more than one night and would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Reviews for Capernwray House always single out Mel and Roy for praise and it is well-deserved. They deliver a superb service from their beautiful home in stunning scenery with apparent ease. Their friendliness rubs off on the guests and we had several enjoyable conversations with other guests we had never met before which enhanced our stay. My wife must go shopping on holiday so we had to travel a bit to find them but no more than we would at home. Our only disappointment was the failure of the hedgehog to stroll over the lawn outside our window like it did last year. You can't get the wildlife!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grindino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Capernwray House is in a beautiful, peaceful area and is an ideal base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District. There was the warmest of welcomes from Mel and Roy, the comfiest of beds in a quiet, large spacious bedroom with super view and luxury bathroom..(Kingfisher)...and delicious breakfasts chosen from a menu with lots of choices....to suit all tastes.
Wonderful visit.....highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews