We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, beautiful surroundings and clean luxurious bedroom.”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Capernwray totally exceeded our expectation. Mel and Roy made us welcome from the second we walked in, even giving us a lift to the wedding reception we were attending. The rooms were full of 'special touches' including the fluffiest towels I have ever used. The breakfast was fresh and delicious with lots of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

A wonderful place to stay everything first class bedrooms exceptional as was the hospitality. Shall definitely be going back and Mel and Roy are a really great hosts a really warm welcome from arriving and nothing too much trouble. The rooms are spacious spotlessly clean comfy and everything you want provided even down to cotton buds. A beautiful area and the grounds and views from the house are amazing.

Room Tip: wouldnt like to choose as all rooms are the same exceptional quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I've stayed here several times since 2003 but not in the last three years. I returned this Summer and much to my surprise my previous single room was now a very luxurious en-suite double (Teal). Adding to that, an expanded and impressive choice on the breakfast menu meant that Capernwray House is now more like a boutique hotel than the top-quality B&B it previously was.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our delightful stay began with a warm welcome (even though we arrived late evening), and a cup of tea and cakes. Our ensuite room ("teal" room) was spacious, clean and fresh, and the breakfast the next morning was delicious and varied.
We wished that we had arranged to stay more than one night and would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Reviews for Capernwray House always single out Mel and Roy for praise and it is well-deserved. They deliver a superb service from their beautiful home in stunning scenery with apparent ease. Their friendliness rubs off on the guests and we had several enjoyable conversations with other guests we had never met before which enhanced our stay. My wife must go shopping on holiday so we had to travel a bit to find them but no more than we would at home. Our only disappointment was the failure of the hedgehog to stroll over the lawn outside our window like it did last year. You can't get the wildlife!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grindino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
2.0 km away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
118 reviews
4.2 km away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carnforth
124 reviews
2.8 km away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#4 of 10 in Carnforth
177 reviews
11.9 km away
Ghyll Beck House B&B
Ghyll Beck House B&B
#1 of 1 in Ireby
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range: $155 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing