We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
442
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
442
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on arrival warm welcome bed and breakfast fresh milk b and b spacious room coffee and cake guest house quiet location little touches full english night's sleep feel very welcome beautiful surroundings stayed one night breakfast was excellent top quality
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I've stayed here several times since 2003 but not in the last three years. I returned this Summer and much to my surprise my previous single room was now a very luxurious en-suite double (Teal). Adding to that, an expanded and impressive choice on the breakfast menu meant that Capernwray House is now more like a boutique hotel than the top-quality B&B it previously was.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our delightful stay began with a warm welcome (even though we arrived late evening), and a cup of tea and cakes. Our ensuite room ("teal" room) was spacious, clean and fresh, and the breakfast the next morning was delicious and varied.
We wished that we had arranged to stay more than one night and would definitely stay there again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Reviews for Capernwray House always single out Mel and Roy for praise and it is well-deserved. They deliver a superb service from their beautiful home in stunning scenery with apparent ease. Their friendliness rubs off on the guests and we had several enjoyable conversations with other guests we had never met before which enhanced our stay. My wife must go shopping on holiday so we had to travel a bit to find them but no more than we would at home. Our only disappointment was the failure of the hedgehog to stroll over the lawn outside our window like it did last year. You can't get the wildlife!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grindino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Capernwray House is in a beautiful, peaceful area and is an ideal base for exploring the Yorkshire Dales and the Lake District. There was the warmest of welcomes from Mel and Roy, the comfiest of beds in a quiet, large spacious bedroom with super view and luxury bathroom..(Kingfisher)...and delicious breakfasts chosen from a menu with lots of choices....to suit all tastes.
Wonderful visit.....highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

my family and friends have been staying at mel and roys house every august for the past three years. nothing is a bother for this lovely couple, they make you so welcome and you feel one of the family.we would not go anywhere else when in the area. luxury bedrooms first class breakfast
and service from Mel and Roy second to none Looking forward to returning next year.
best wishes from ian, jean. karen david bill and norma.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews