We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveller rating
441
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
441
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on arrival warm welcome bed and breakfast fresh milk b and b spacious room coffee and cake guest house quiet location little touches full english night's sleep feel very welcome beautiful surroundings stayed one night breakfast was excellent top quality
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 447 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Friendly, helpful, genuine people and a super location in first class accommodation. Quiet too. I should not be telling you this since it reduces my chance of finding a room the next time that we want one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Thanks so much ... Don't worry .. We will always find you a bed! ... Lovely to have you stay and hope to see you again soon

Regards

Roy and mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My mom and I stayed at Capernwray House while we dropped my daughter off at the nearby bible school. Roy and Mel were very gracious hosts, welcoming us we tea when we arrived. Our room was beautiful, well decorated and very clean. Breakfast was tremendous and Roy was very accommodating. The location is beautiful and tranquil. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Thanks so much ... I hope your daughter is enjoying capernwray hall and hope to see you again in the future
Regards
Roy and mel smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Capernwray House for 1 night at the end of September. We received a very warm welcome from Ray who offered tea and coffee on arrival. Excellent accommodation in the Tern room, very clean, comfortable and well furnished. Lovely peaceful and quiet location. Free WiFi was an unexpected bonus. Excellent breakfast with quality local ingredients.

Ray provided menus and recommendations for local places to have dinner - we dined at the recommended nearest pub which provided home made tasty food ... the barman told us he had peeled the potatoes!

We would most definitely plan to stay at the Capernwray House again if we are in that area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIYMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Thanks for your lovely comments ... So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future
Regards
Roy and mel smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My son and I stayed at Capernwray House the night before dropping him off at school nearby. After spending about a week exploring England and Scotland (staying with friends and at a hostel) it was a wonderful treat to be at Capernwray House. We also arrived early and were welcomed in without question. Our room was huge and every detail was perfect - the bathroom was large and elegant and the beds with thick, fluffy comforters made it difficult to get up in the morning! Breakfast was full of variety and delicious. Best of all was the feeling from our hosts that we had been friends for years.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thanks so much for doing us such a lovely review ... It really is appreciated. Hope your son is enjoying his time at the hall and hope to see you again on your next visit..... Regards .. Mel and Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Ecellent, very friendly. Well appointed first class accomodation matched by breakfast. This B&B is in a tranquil location and a warm and friendly greeting is recieved and maintained throughout your stay, Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BryanHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Always nice to see you both and look forward to next years visit!
Mel and roy x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews