We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable downhome country feel!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winthrop
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chewack River Guest Ranch
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Absolutley loved our stay. It's a family run working ranch just outside of Winthrop Washington. Great horses and friendly hosts. We felt very welcome and enjoyed the country atmosphere we felt like we were visiting friends . The 2hour ride into the surrounding hills offered stunning views . The room was clean and comfortable and the price was fantastic . We wil definatley go again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Empty-Nester-Wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2007

We've fallen in love with the Methow Valley, and have started trying different places to stay with our horses. Over Labor Day weekend we decided to try the Chewack River Guest Ranch, which was recommended by a couple of other travelers. We were not disappointed!
We arrived late Friday night, only to run into the owner's son, Beau, who helped us get our horses into nice sized stalls in their barn. They were sharing the barn with some colts brought in for gentling and some of the Charolois cattle the Lundgrens raise on this working ranch. Horse boarding is free for guests.
We then went to our room in the guest house, which they'd left unlocked for us. We had one of the smaller rooms, but it was nicely furnished, including microwave, small fridge, and coffee maker. Outside the large hot tub was calling to us, so we had a nice soak and hit the hay.
The next morning we met Don, the owner, who drew us a map for a nice daylong ride around the property. It included one strenous but not too steep climb up the valley they sit in, a ride across some nice fields, and around well maintained forest service roads. The views were fantastic. We enjoyed the ride so much we did it the second day, on which we were lucky enough to see a black bear run by in the distance.
Because the ranch is just six miles from Winthrop, we were able to go into town for dinner one night, and to pick up fixings to grill on the gas grill available to guests. A nice firepit provided the chance to sit and chat with the other guests while sitting along side the creek that runs in front of the guest house.
We loved our stay at the Chewack River Guest Ranch, and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anavolena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2005

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 1 night on July 30. All rooms were clean and appeared recently constructed. The room was also nice and cool in spite of the intense heat. The first thing we decided to do (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED) is to walk 1/4 mile down to the Chewack River and take a swim - soo refreshing! The owners, Don and Kris (sp?) were also there and we talked with them for awhile - really nice people! They even let us pick apricots off their tree to bring home and eat/can.

The ranch apparently has 150 head of Charolais cattle and about 50 horses. We BBQ'd dinner at the ranch that night and went into Winthrop in the evening for some homemade ice cream at Sheri's. Watch out for deer on the road, they're all over the place here! The next day we went to Sun Mtn Lodge for breakfast then did an excellent 2 hr horseback ride at Chewack Ranch. The wrangler girl took us and 5 others up into the hills surrounding the valley. We occassionally had the horses at a trot or even a gallop, which was very exciting.

I highly recommend the Chewach River Ranch if you're staying near Winthrop!

Stayed: July 2005
2  Thank born2run74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2005

My wife and I spent the first weekend of June 2005 in Winthrop, Washington. This small town has been remodelled to look like a late 1800's Western town, with boardwalks and themed businesses. Less than four hours by car or motor cycle from Seattle or Vancouver, BC, Canada, the town is a great weekend destination. And if you enjoy horseback riding, you will not be disappointed, as numerous stables in the area advertise horseback riding for novices through to experts.

We found a great place 6 miles north of Winthrop on East Chewuch Road. It is called The Chewack River Guest Ranch. It is a family run operation and they take bookings or you can just drive out to the ranch like my wife and I did. They also have accomodations on site if you want the total experience. My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful two hour ride. It was just our friendly guide, my wife and I. We spent the first 45 minutes wandering along the Chewuch River. We then crossed East Chewuch Road and headed up into the foothills for another hour and a half of riding. My wife and I are intermediate level riders, and our guide allowed us to trot and gallop our horses. My wife had a well tempered quarter-horse and I rode a great registered paint horse. Both horses were well mannered and left us feeling confident as we travelled up and down mountainside trails that the horses obviously knew well. The cost, at only $40.00 per person for a two hour plus ride, was reasonable and money well spent.

We highly recommend The Chewack River Guest Ranch for horseback riding when in the Winthrop area.

10  Thank carfaxdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winthrop hotels
9.4 km away
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
Chewuch Inn & Cabins
#2 of 8 in Winthrop
481 reviews
9.1 km away
Methow River Lodge & Cabins
10.6 km away
Sun Mountain Lodge
Sun Mountain Lodge
#4 of 8 in Winthrop
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Mt Gardner Inn
Mt Gardner Inn
#1 of 8 in Winthrop
412 reviews
10 km away
Winthrop Inn
Winthrop Inn
#2 of 10 in Winthrop
134 reviews
9.7 km away
The Virginian Resort
The Virginian Resort
#7 of 8 in Winthrop
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewack River Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewack River Guest Ranch

Address: 588 E Chewuch Rd, Winthrop, WA 98862-9735
Region: United States > Washington > Winthrop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Winthrop
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing