We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We heard about Alderbrook from a friend who had just driven by, and thought we might like it. We are new to Washington and spend our weekends exploring as much as we can.
This was a birthday getaway for my husband. We LOVED it!
The staff was all great. Friendly and helpful. The resort was quiet and relaxing. We loved sitting in the rockers, watching the rain fall. Our room was very clean and very well furnished. The garden view was lovely. Our only complaint was the noisy room service carts. Our room was close to the service elevator/ice machine. I will choose my room more carefully next time.
The restaurant was wonderful too!! I have told all my local friends about it and can't wait to go back in the summer with the kids to enjoy the water. I'd like to try a cabin next time maybe.. what a wonderful find!! Thanks for the great time Alderbrook!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Kirangela, Thank you for the TripAdvisor review. Sounds like you had a great time with your husband for his birthday. Glad to be a part of the memory! Thanks for sharing your experience with your friends too. And thanks for the feedback. It is all very much appreciated. ~Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

527 - 531 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

The facility is very beautiful and was designed for relaxation. The staff are very polite and the rooms are very nice. I was espically excited to see the large soaking tub in my room. I very much like that there is a large hot tub, pool, and sauna/ steam room which are open late. Massages are expensive but you get what you pay for. This is a very romantic and rekaxing place for couples

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephiehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Hi Stephiehawk, Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the large soaking tub, message, and the rest of the amenities. Yes, we are all about relaxation and getting away from it all. Hope to see you again soon.

Frank, for Alderbrook Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Alderbrook Resort shows off the beauty of Washington in the finest and most comfortable manner. The rooms are very comfy and clean; the service is great; and the food is outstanding. The views include Hood's Canal and the Olympic Mountains. Dress is casual per Washington tradition so you can relax 24/7. Enjoy

Room Tip: Go with an upstairs room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Paca, Thank you very much for your review. Very kind of you. Yes, we are situated in a very lovely place and we do our utmost to make our guest feel relaxed and pampered. Thanks for noticing and sharing with your readers. Be well. Frank, for Alderbrook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

From entry to exit, the ambiance of this fine resort charmed us. Massive fire place and open areas. A very romantic getaway. Our room was excellent with a window seat from which to view the canal and the Olympic mountains. The grounds are lovely and well kept with a water fall and pond and well kept pathways and gardens. Relaxation is immediate. The lovely pool, hot tub and spa all are part of the unwind and relax experience. The room is the nicest we've experienced in a fine resort without upgrading to a suite. Our dining experiences were par with other fine restaurants. Glad we chose Alderbrook.

Room Tip: Our room faced Hood Canal and was a good choice for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerwmmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

travelerwmmary, Thank you so much for writing your review. Sounds like you had a great time. Hope to see you again soon. ~Frank for Alderbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I've been wanting to see the "new" Alderbrook for years and my husband and I finally had the opportunity last September. September is a quiet month, but we managed to time it so that Captain Lee was still running sunset wine cruises before moving his yacht to its winter harbor. We enjoyed everything about our stay, and will be back, but a late afternoon cruise made it perfect. Captain Lee escorts you to the flying bridge where he serves a wonderful bottle of wine and delicious cheese board. It was cool but clear and the water was like glass. Couldn't have been a more romantic thing to do, and we couldn't have had a better host. The Jack is booked through the hotel and docks right there in front of the hotel.

The food was good and we enjoyed our massage in the lovely spa. If you're not there during the busy summer season, keep an eye on the restaurant hours. They serve a more limited menu in the bar when the restaurant is closed (and the food there is also good), but it's upscale hamburgers, etc., as opposed to more interesting (and expensive) NW cuisine.

Our room (a Garden View) looked out over the grounds (Japanese garden immediately below) and had a partial view of the water as well as a very small balcony. Pretty darned nice for a garden room. The decor is contemporary "craftsman" style, understated, and very comfortable. The only downside of our room, 317, was that it has an outdoor entrance with wooden flooring (covered with nonslip surface). You do hear some rumbling of housekeeping service carts. I know some guests complained about the charge for the in-room coffee. I agree that the hotel, at its price point, would be well served by making the coffee free, or offering a regular drip pot. The hotel and staff are so gracious; it feels penny-pinching and out of sync with the overall experience.

The rooms with the best views are 326, 426 and 321 and 421. Those are corner queens and kings (respectively) and I'm sure they're priced accordingly. From rooms 111-114 and 211-214 you're going to see the grounds and the indoor swimming area and not Hood Canal. I'd be a little concerned about wedding noise if you book the northern wing (rooms 201-210 and 301-310) and are looking for quiet romance. If you are with a group, however, the parlor suites such as 201/301 and 204/304 have a big deck that would be a great place to hang out and watch the action. The cottages are older and restored nicely, but most of them don't have views of the water. Some people complained about the Creek View rooms and I can see why compared to other options.

My recommendation: by all means, go!

Room Tip: Best rooms are 326/426 and 321/421 but I'd also recommend 320/420, 319/419. Those are a little f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsysSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Hi betsysSacramento, Thank you for commenting. Your review was very thorough and a pleasure to read. Our reservation experts can fill visitors in on other details and confirm/expand on your thoughts. Wow. Thanks so much. Frank, for Alderbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
0.6 km away
Robin Hood Village Resort
24.6 km away
Little Creek Casino Resort
14.0 km away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
Waterfront Inn
Waterfront Inn
#4 of 5 in Gig Harbor
106 reviews
38.5 km away
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Bremerton
130 reviews
37.6 km away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Address: 10 E Alderbrook Dr, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592-9426
Region: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price Range: $91 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderbrook Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing