We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for our anniversary and it was lovely. Complete with personal bathrobes and a beautiful view of the water through the trees (our window faced the side). Before you grab your suits and head for the hot tub and pool, ask the front desk if they will turn on the propane firepit for afterwards. We asked the maintenance guy why it didn't generate much heat and he said it was because it needed to be cleaned underneath the pit or through the pipes or something like that. So my thought was since he's the maintenance guy, why doesn't he do that. Despite the lack of heat coming from the firepit and outdoor fireplace (where we relaxed while waiting for the firepit to be turned on), it was a wonderful environment on the Hood Canal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjames9031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
bjames9031,

Thanks for your comments. We are so glad your enjoyed your anniversary and Alderbrook. We at Alderbrook are always honored when people chose our resort for their special occasions. We will let the GM know about the fire pit. Again, thank you. And Happy Anniversary.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    178
    54
    38
    13
See reviews for
174
290
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We have stayed here before and enjoyed it so much that we arranged for a family trip to celebrate my husband's big birthday last Spring.
The room was nice but our second day there it had not been cleaned up by 4:00 P.M. Since it was pouring rain and a perfect day for a nap I called and was told someone would be there shortly. After a half hour I went to the front desk and politely repeated my request. The woman was very surly and short with me and didn't even offer an apology. I also mentioned that there was no tea available, as advertised, in the room and requested that it be supplied. It wasn't. The maid was very nice and apologized for the delay but your front desk could use some additional training in hospitality.
The pool changing facility was really a mess and could use some maintenance. I hate to sound like a grinch but this was all such a change from previous visits that I'm afraid they might be going through a downturn or maybe the Christmas holidays is not a good time to be there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Claire542, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are honored that you chose Alderbrook for your husbands birthday party last spring. We really pride ourselves on being a consistent source of wonderful memories for our guests.I am so sorry we didn't live up to our expectations this time. I will make sure that the general manager sees this. I truly hope you can write this one off as exception compared to your past experiences with us.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This was our first time staying at the resort. The rooms are very nice and they had a surprise fireworks show at midnight.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thanks for the review Vanessa.

Glad you enjoyed your first stay and had a chance to see the fireworks. Glad you liked the rooms too.

See you again soon, we hope.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I'm almost reluctant to write a good review as I don't want the world to know about this gem of a place. But, here goes. I LOVE Alderbrook. I've stayed there both on business and leisure, and it is a treat for either.

The exceptional:
*Westin-style bed - very comfy, down comforter, pillows, mattress and more
*Views - whether garden or water view, it's all calmingly beautiful
*Ambiance - lodge-style with clean, sophisticated, modern amenities
*Food - absolutely excellent. A bit expensive but some of the best fare around.
*Bath - soaker tub is great for couple's getaway
*Balcony - sit outside and enjoy the peaceful water sounds while sipping coffee in your...
*White fluffy robe and slippers - enough said
*Spa - lotions, bath fizzies smell heavenly
*Lighting - dimmer switches add to the calm ambiance

Not a big deal, just a few things they should consider:
*Spa - a bit pricey. I think it's $120 for a one hour massage. $50 for a quick pedicure. Seems high to me.
*Coffee station - a few times I've stayed there the tea, cream and stirrers were missing.
*Snacks/honor bar - very expensive. $2.50 for an 8oz Diet Coke.

I walked in the pool area a couple of years ago and it seemed fine. They have it (and hot tub) enclosed in a clear greenhouse, protected from rain and cold. During summer months they can open the front of it for an open air experience.

I noticed some people brought kids, but it's definitely more of a couple's / business resort. It's very tranquil, which is one of the reasons I can't wait to go back. It's a nice escape from the stresses of everyday life.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripGalSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
Thank you for all the things you had to say in your review TripGalSeattle.

I am afraid that you really did let the cat out of the bag now by sharing your review : )

We also want to thank you for your suggestions and ideas to consider. It is guests like you that help us make Alderbrook the resort is has become.

Be well on 2012 and see you soon again, we hope.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The rave reviews from other winter visitors are all quite accurate. Alderbrook Resort is upscale without being stuffy, cozy without being fussy. We have made a winter visit for the past five years and find it to be a tranquil refuge from the city and, with the resort's beautiful Christmas decorations and lodge-like lobby, a way to soak in the beauty of the season. The pictures on the resort website are extremely accurate, both of the grounds and the rooms. That window seat is wonderful, especially when the sun is streaming in. When the dark and chill start to get you down, a visit to Alderbrook is like a visit to some of the best parts of summer. We like to start with the one hour ferry ride from Seattle to Bremerton for the feeling of a summer getaway, and if it's not raining, take the boardwalk hike at Theiler Wetlands on the way down to Union. The pool is enormous, clean and well-stocked with towels. The pool area is in a big greenhouse, so even in the time of short days, all the available light and warmth surround you (as well as fabulous mountain views). You can even sit in one of the many chaise longues and read a book by the water -- in the warmth. There is both a steam room and a sauna for warming up, and all manner of workout equipment in the exercise room. Walk out to the far end of the pier and watch birds skitter along the water. Have a mani-pedi in the spa -- which is terrific, by the way, with great big showers, nice amenities, heaps of fluffy towels, nice robes, and a relaxation room where you can sip cucumber water and peer out the floor to ceiling window at the greenery outside. Sleep in, have a late breakfast, and with the application of a little imagination, all the elements are present of a summer holiday.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms have the most privacy since you cannot see the windows of any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diamondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankJKenny, Public Relations Manager at Alderbrook Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
Diamondqueen,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review.

Words here really can't express our gratitude for repeat guests, like you, that make the effort to share your experiences with us. Folks become like family at Alderbrook. For this we are honored and humbled.

Thanks again and please have a safe and happy New Year Diamondqueen.

Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
24.4 km away
Little Creek Casino Resort
38.5 km away
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
Oyster Bay Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Bremerton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
36.9 km away
The INN at Gig Harbor
The INN at Gig Harbor
#2 of 5 in Gig Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 km away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
37.9 km away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
14.0 km away
Super 8 Shelton
Super 8 Shelton
#2 of 4 in Shelton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderbrook Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderbrook Resort & Spa

Property: Alderbrook Resort & Spa
Address: 10 E Alderbrook Dr, 10 E Alderbrook Drive, Union, WA 98592-9426
Region: United States > Washington > Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Union
Price range (per night): $90 - $260
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderbrook Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walking hand in hand, you see an eagle soar overhead. You stop to skip stones across the water. Four, five, six skips. A perfect moment suspended in time. A story for dinner. This is the place where memories are made, where families come back year after year. Like having your own waterfront cottage, only better. Cartwheels on the grass. A game of badminton at sunset. Leather couches and a glass of Washington state Syrah. The sweet succulent bite of fresh oysters. Rooms that make you say “wow” when you open the door. Can this hotel be only two hours from Seattle? It can. Welcome to Alderbrook Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alderbrook Resort And Spa
Alderbrook Resort Union
Alderbrook Hotel Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing