We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Better than expected; would return again.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tumwater Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tumwater Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than expected; would return again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We arrived rather late in the evening (9:00 pm) after travelling for about 7 hours. The GPS found the hotel quickly, but like others have mentioned, getting into the parking lot was tricky and we overshot it and had to do some fancy maneuvers to turn around. It would be really helpful if the hotel provided better signage to the entrance. The two woman on the desk were very helpful and friendly. My husband forgot our Rewards card, so they had to look it up. Unfortunately, they could not find it right away, so they gave us a regular room. When we came back with the luggage, they apologized and said that they found the number and had upgraded our room for the same price. Since the outside of the hotel looks rather shabby in the dark (and hidden behind empty parking lots, gas stations, and other buildings, I thought we would be in a shabby room. To our great surprise and relief, the rooms were newly renovated and looked great! The bed was outstanding, including nice crisp sheets and comfy pillows. The clerk at the front desk provided a suggestion for a quick, but good and relatively healthy dinner down the block, which turned out to be just what we needed. There were no noises from the street (we were on the opposite side from the street), and my husband is super picky so that is important to note. However, there were some loud noises before we went to sleep around 11:00 that seemed to be from someone having a shower (two different times) -- water running/pipes. Other than that, we had a great sleep and awoke to a hearty buffet breakfast usual for Best Western and similar mid-priced hotels. There were no surprises at check-out, and the final price with taxes was about $95.00. The only concern I had was when a man asked the housekeeping staff to let him into his room because he locked himself out. She immediately said yes and went with him. I'm not sure how hotels deal with this normally, but I wondered about security, identification, and proof that he was, indeed, the person from the room. He didn't look shady, but that's not the point!! Maybe some sort of security measure was taken, but it left me wondering. Overall, I would stay at this Best Western again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Select a room on the other side from the street to avoid excess noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEPVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    147
    38
    10
    9
See reviews for
111
134
39
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Access to property is awkward, (whole city area is awkwardly designed) room door would not latch without messing with it and was not latched by housekeeping when I returned on my second night. I got a mumbled "sorry about that" as a response at checkout. No elevator. Express checkout would have been nice. Prefer 3 towels instead of 2 in a king room. When I made reservation, they said they would look my # up and when I checked in, they hadn't, so I asked the lady to do so and need to follow up to ensure that happened. Other than that, staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was impressive. Newspaper available, windows open for fresh air, fridge/ microwave, nice shower, quiet hotel, well appointed and clean rooms. Especially nice was the bedding. It was a firmer pillow-top than I prefer, but piles of pillows and nice blankets.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The night I check in, the gal behind the desk was super helpful and friendly. I noticed my room rate was incorrect, not what I'd paid on-line. I could tell that she would have wanted to explain something to me if it weren't so late at night, but what she said was, "I'll take care of it, no problem." Big friendly smile, problem solved.

Upon check-out the next morning, the two people behind the counter (Courtney and Mr. Munn) were puzzling about my bill, trying to figure out what the gal the night before had done to it. I explained that my room rate was wrong and the gal had fixed it. They started mocking me! "Yep. Ninety-nine cents." They went on and on together, mocking me for saving a whopping .99. I didn't understand what they were talking about at all. I looked at the printout I'd just been given. It said my room rate was $88.xx (I forget the change amount). I remarked to my friend, "That's more than .99, I think I'm being mocked."

The two behind the counter heard me and were completely unmoved or embarrassed by their behavior. They continued to mock me for pushing for .99 in savings. It wasn't until much later that day that I realized that, if my bill had been itemized, I would have seen that the $88.xx amount included taxes, etc. My base rate was still incorrect (the gal changed it from 79.89 to 79.00) but if the two people at the counter had said, "Oh, I totally see how that can be confusing. The bill isn't itemized, that amount you're seeing is the total with taxes and everything." Neither of them did any of that. They just mocked me. When I repeated, "I think I'm being mocked and I'm not liking it." Mr. Munn said, "Would you like a comment card?" I said no thank you and walked away. I have Trip Advisor for a comment card, and I'm pretty sure it will be more effective.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dellaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Staying here since my usual place in Seattle was booked tonight. The clerk at the front desk was very pleasant at check in. The room was very clean and pleasant. All this with a hotel under renovation. Well done folks.

Room Tip: Any room is good. i chose the ground floor simply because I would be out and about early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel was very clean, the staff helpful and friendly. Very easy walking distance from shopping, restaurants and Starbucks. Nice breakfast with enough variety to please most.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMooreKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumwater
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites - Tumwater / Olympia
8.4 km away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#1 of 10 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Olympia
2.7 km away
Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn Tumwater
Comfort Inn Tumwater
#3 of 7 in Tumwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tumwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tumwater Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Tumwater Inn
Address: 5188 Capitol Blvd SE, Tumwater, WA 98501-4442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Price range (per night): $126 - $146
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tumwater Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled in March 2012 with Pillow-top mattresses, 37" HDTV's, Complimentary full hot breakfast buffet featuring fresh baked scones & bagels, omeletes, sausage, bacon, country potatoes, fresh fruit along with your standard continental breakfast favorites, and fresh baked cookies each evening, you're sure to enjoy your stay. With modest prices and a friendly staff to assist you with whatever you might need, we invite you to come give us another look. You won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tumwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tumwater Hotel Tumwater
Tumwater Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing