We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good value, and located near the capitol” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean, good value, and located near the capitol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I needed a hotel on short notice for a meeting in Olympia. I found it quite difficult to find a hotel that had decent reviews and didn't cost too much. It seemed like all the hotels in the area (even the ones with more stars) had kind of sketchy reviews. But the reviews on this hotel seemed to be pretty uniform--that it was a no-frills place but decent and clean. And that's exactly how it was. It's not the most modern or sleek place, and there's nothing fancy about it, but it's decent and clean. The rooms are spacious and have a little fridge in them. The walls might be a little thin, as I could hear the TV next door when I first arrived, but luckily they turned it off early enough, and I wasn't bothered by any noise during my visit. I didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff, but they seemed friendly. Check in and out were fast. The location is good, just off the freeway and relatively easy to find, although they could improve their signage. It was a little tricky to figure out where to turn in because there wasn't really a sign, and the hotel is set back a bit behind some other businesses. But it wasn't too hard to figure out. There are several options for food in the immediate vicinity, including a couple of Mexican restaurants, a pizza place, and several fast food options. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is fairly standard, and includes make-your-own Belgian waffles, which is always nice. They might want to think about putting some signs/labels on things, because there was milk, juice, yogurt, and butter in a mini-fridge with no sign on it to indicate that they were in there. I never would have known except I was looking for butter and an employee told me where it was. There also appeared to be about 3 different kinds of syrup (I assume that's what it was) in unmarked bottles. So a few more labels or signs on things might be helpful. It is extremely easy to get to the capitol building from this hotel, so it's a good option if you're going there in the morning. It's on the same street, just a few miles away. Super convenient! Finally, the price was fairly reasonable.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank era451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    148
    40
    10
    9
See reviews for
115
138
40
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I didn't have a reservation. Check-in was fast and friendly and helpful advice was given to find a quiet room.
The room was big with Fridge and Microwave. The bed was good.The room appeared clean. However, under the bed and furniture a cleaning is separately needed. One can hear showers taken in neighboring rooms. The price was very economically.
The Hwy and a busy street is nearby,so, I suggest to book a room in the North-Wing and on the second floor.
Continental breakfast was OK. Check-out was business friendly, at best.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hh8961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Township, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel has absolutely nothing exciting about it: no pretty view, and no exciting amenities. That being said, the hotel serves its purpose greatly. It is a clean hotel, with very polite staff, and very reasonably priced ($95 after tax for our stay). If just want a good nights sleep for not a lot of money and nothing else, this is the perfect place. Because that is what I wanted when I booked this hotel, I left a very happy customer.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator, so if you request or receive a room on the second floor, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Tourist_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Third place I've stayed in in Olympia (ok this is technically Tumwater but its 5 minutes from Olympia). Cleanest,quietest and best value I've found in the area. For no frills lodging (with a breakfast and free wi-fi) this is a good one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_Zabroski, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review of the Best Western Tumwater Inn. We hope to serve you even better in the future after we have completed a massive renovation in the fall of 2011.

Again, we appreciate so much the kind words you have shared with other tripadvisor.com users and hope everyone has the same quality experience as you.

Rick Zabroski
General Manager
Best Western Tumwater Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The king bed was comfortable. Complimentary continental breakfast included. The room has many amenities: microwave, blowdryer, small fridge. The staff makes an effort to keep the hotel quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Basketballfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tumwater
8.4 km away
Ramada Olympia
Ramada Olympia
#2 of 9 in Olympia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites - Tumwater / Olympia
3.0 km away
Hotel RL Olympia by Red Lion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Olympia
2.7 km away
Extended Stay America - Olympia - Tumwater
4.6 km away
The Governor Hotel, a Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn
Address: 5188 Capitol Blvd SE, Tumwater, WA 98501-4442 (Formerly Best Western Tumwater Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tumwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tumwater
Price range (per night): $117 - $166
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled in March 2012 with Pillow-top mattresses, 37" HDTV's, Complimentary full hot breakfast buffet featuring fresh baked scones & bagels, omeletes, sausage, bacon, country potatoes, fresh fruit along with your standard continental breakfast favorites, and fresh baked cookies each evening, you're sure to enjoy your stay. With modest prices and a friendly staff to assist you with whatever you might need, we invite you to come give us another look. You won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tumwater-Olympia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tumwater Hotel Tumwater
Tumwater Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing