We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold and Rainy - Warm Reception!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cold and Rainy - Warm Reception!”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at the Tacoma Holiday Inn Express in November 2011 for one night to celebrate a birthday at the Point Defiance Zoo and lunch at Anthonys. There was some noise from the freeway, but not too bad. Very close to Tacoma Mall and assorted 'chain' eateries - we chose Famous Daves which served pretty good barbecue ribs and chicken.
Location - It's located just off I-5 at Exit 128, Washington
Check-in - very efficient and friendly - made easier as we are members of the Priority Club - also luckily to be upgrade into a suite as well. Thank you!
Room - we booked a double but were upgraded into a double bed suite - nice and clean with complimentary water in the fridge and popcorn for use with the microwave - these little, but nice touches make a trip. Clean and well appointed bathroom, massive flat screen TV. Clean and comfortable bed.
Breakfast - included in the price. Dining room was fine - Holiday Inn Breakfast with a reasonable choice of 3 cereals, apples, bananas, yoghurts, hot biscuits, gravy, links and sausage patties, cheese omelettes, breads, croissants and bagels, and an automatic pankcake maker!
Check-out - very quick and all billed correctly.
Pool - the area was clean, but the water was pretty chilly - nice hot tub and even a sauna!
A smaller Holiday Inn, but up to the usual standards - I would recommend the hotel and we were very pleasantly surprised with the unexpected upgrade!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    50
    28
    12
    11
See reviews for
46
22
9
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I travel to Fort Lewis for business several times a year, and always stay here. The location is ideal for base access. Go next door for pizza at NEO's (a must).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragazza000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed here on business for one week. Not having stayed at an HI Express before, this seemed to be a decent-looking edition of the chain, which is located within a commercial strip along Hosmer and sandwiched between I-5 (though not close enough to hear the car noise from the freeway) and a middle-class neighborhood in South Tacoma.

Location is a fair bit away from downtown Tacoma and the Tacoma Dome, so if you need to be near those areas, this isn't the place for you. However, the drive isn't all that bad if you need to get to either of those locations. The freeway access to and from the hotel is a little tricky however, unless you're coming from the south, where the on-ramp puts you right there at the hotel.

Parking is a little cramped (one section is inclined on a slope facing the hotel), but a few of the businesses at the strip mall next to the hotel are unoccupied, so it shouldn't much of an issue at this time to actually find a spot.

Rooms are fairly large, with the usual amenities. Refrigerators are large, and include a couple free bottles of water. Bed was fairly comfy for me, but may not be so for those who really prefer firm mattresses. Walls are thin, but thankfully it wasn't much of an issue as the hotel was only half-occupied at the time.

Cable was out for the first couple days - it really wasn't part of why I stayed there, but they were nice enough to add some points to my account for the inconvenience.

Breakfast is standard issue - among continental breakfasts, I'd say the Best Western's near the Tacoma Dome is a slight bit better. The cinnamon rolls were surprisingly good, and the right size to avoid overindulging. They bake cookies in the evening - they're nothing close to gourmet, but they do disappear pretty quickly.

Not much within walking distance in terms of practical needs stores - there is a mini-mart at the gas station right next door, a drug store about a half-mile north near the Lowe's, and a WinCo in the shopping center when you reach S. 72nd St (where you would turn to access I-5.) Also, if you need something better than the hotel coffee, there are a couple of coffee stands opposite each other within walking distance on Hosmer and 84th.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO2TheSecond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here last year thinking it was a little closer to the Tacoma Dome than it was. Even though I mis-judged the distance it turned out great because they upgraded us to the Jacuzzi Room with a great bed and bathroom and super view of the trees and pond behind hotel. Parking was good and the commute to the Tacoma Dome was a straigt shot. Staff was friendly and recommended several places to eat. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridges73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Not the best HI Express in my opinion, but it was clean. Rooms looked like they had been renovated recently, but were already showing signs of wear. The hotel shares a very small parking area with a small retail center. It was just Ok.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawgpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
8.2 km away
Hotel Murano
Hotel Murano
#3 of 28 in Tacoma
3,331 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn Tacoma - Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
1.2 km away
Shilo Inn & Suites Tacoma
7.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tacoma

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Address: 8601 South Hosmer Street, Tacoma, WA 98444-1834
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Price range (per night): $169 - $270
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tacoma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find accommodations at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites packed with all of your travel needs. This Tacoma hotel is located just minutes from Fort Lewis, McChord AFB, Pacific Lutheran University, Tacoma Convention Center as well as major industrial parks. We are also conveniently located near exciting attractions including the Tacoma Dome, Sprinker Recreation Center, Puyallup Fairgrounds, and Tacoma's Glass Museum. Guests travelling on business appreciate our convenient location directly off of Interstate 5. Our friendly staff are eager to assist you with directions or recommendations to any location, including many great restaurants, museums, parks, theatres and shopping centers. We recently completed a luxurious renovation and invite you to come enjoy a relaxing stay with us! All of our rooms are non-smoking and complete with microwaves, refrigerators, high speed Internet and even 37' LCD televisions! You are sure to wake up rested and refreshed with our wonderful pillowtop mattresses featuring the Simply Smart Bedding Collection. Start off your morning enjoying our deluxe Complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, omelets with bacon as well as many other wonderful favorites. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Tacoma! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Hotel Tacoma
Holiday Inn Tacoma
Tacoma Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing