We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Will likely not stay here again.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Murano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Murano
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Tacoma
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will likely not stay here again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Bellhop and valets were exceptional. Check in staff was short and not friendly. Bathtub did not function (would not stay plugged) and bathroom door would not close. Comfortable beds. No place to get food after 10. Small rooms and poor TV quality (why have nicer LCD's if you have crap fuzzy signal?). Checkout staff was kind, but felt they were automatrons with little personality. My credit card was charged $45 more than what my reservation was. Front desk had no explanation and would not resolve it. Will attempt to avoid in future. Way too pricey for what you actually get.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slamgwhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan K, General Manager at Hotel Murano, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
I would like to express my personal apologies for the inconveniences you endured, and for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit.

Our goal is always to provide the highest level of guest service possible and we obviously missed that goal during your stay

Please know the problems you experienced during your stay are not the norm for our property. Ordinarily, we receive great feedback and accolades for our guest rooms, public spaces, amenities, and services in general. It is important that we are made aware of both positive and negative feedback and I truly appreciate your comments, as they will help us in the ongoing training of our associates.

If possible, I would like to speak with you and have the opportunity to discuss some of your concerns together so that I may look into them further. Your comment regarding no place to get food after 10 pm is puzzling as we offer a 24 – hour Room Service Menu. Also, I would like to address your concern about an errant charge to your credit card, and find out what room you stayed in so that I can be sure that the maintenance related items you noted have been properly addressed.

I will look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Stan Kott, General Manager
253.591.4130
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    692
    299
    125
    60
See reviews for
452
794
165
1,171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Gorgeous to look at featuring the signature feature of Tacoma--glass art. From the stunning wall-of-glass entry, hip bar, glass art on every floor, to the well-appointed spacious rooms, this hotel has a great feel. While the look is cool, the staff were very warm, friendly, and helpful. Tacoma has lots of surprises in store, but don't miss the Museum of Glass while you are nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOinLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Every year I go to the Hotel Murano for a festival. This year I was a little more behind the scenes volunteering. Every person I interacted with from the hotel was gracious and polite. The conference facilities are excellent (audio visual and sound) plus the hotel seems to really know it's audience and understand what catering to that audience means. Hot tea and coffe. All day. Lunch stations for fine dining and a quick bite. Full bar. Salon and spa. Not to mention the glass artwork on display. Beds and showers equally wonderful.

I did not leave the property due to the festival, for 4 days. It was refreshing to open a window on the 12th floor and relax - in some much needed fresh air. Not a lot of high rise hotels allow that.

Very quiet property. I expected to hear showers and toilets but nope! Lovely and would also be great for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stay here once a year for a large conference. The rooms are nice, clean and I've never had a bad view. There is much beautiful glass and the work of glass artists throughout the hotel. There is both covered and uncovered parking here. Parking is a bit spendy ($15/day). The Bite restaraunt inside this facility has great food, but can get crowded quickly. Thankfully there are several nice places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spinpygora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel is top notch. Amazing glass (and other) art is featured throughout--the guest room floors each feature a different artist and guests are encouraged to check them all out. My only concern and the only reason I did not give this hotel 5 stars was that on each floor, at least one of the rooms shares a wall with the elevator shaft, and I heard the elevators moving up and down all night. There were no other rooms available for me to move into, but the front desk did provide ear plugs for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tacoma hotels
3.6 km away
Silver Cloud Inn Tacoma - Waterfront
0.3 km away
Courtyard Tacoma Downtown
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Best Western Plus Tacoma Dome Hotel
2.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tacoma Seattle
8.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tacoma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murano

Property: Hotel Murano
Address: 1320 Broadway Plaza, Tacoma, WA 98402-3411 (Formerly Sheraton Tacoma Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Tacoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tacoma
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tacoma
Price range (per night): $198 - $338
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murano 4.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Murano, a boutique downtown Tacoma hotel located adjacent to the Tacoma Convention Center and steps from the city’s best museums and restaurants. Tacoma is the epicenter of the American glass art movement and, honoring that heritage, Hotel Murano pairs luxurious guestrooms and well-appointed event space with a museum worthy collection of glass art from around the globe. Hotel Murano is conveniently located in the heart of Tacoma attractions, including Chambers Bay, site of the 2015 US Open and just minutes from downtown Seattle. With a world-class art collection, delicious cuisine at Bite and craft cocktails at our Lobby Bar, and a full-service spa and salon, Hotel Murano is the perfect place to wake up inspired. As one of Tacoma’s finest pet friendly hotels, Hotel Murano invites guests and man’s best friend to take on Tacoma while enjoying our boutique accommodations, timeless service and modern style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Murano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Hotel Tacoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing