We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was surpised since this hotel is rated #1 in Port Townsend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Was surpised since this hotel is rated #1 in Port Townsend”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the Bishop and were really excited since it was rated #1 on Trip Advisor. However, our experience would not warrant a high rating. We decided last minute to spend the night in Port Townsend and were able to get a room without an issue. We went up and looked it out and it looked wonderful to us. So we stayed. We had a one bedroom suite on the second floor. It was decorated with antiques and was just fine, we didn't encounter a dust or allergen issue that some of the other travelers had struggled with. The issues arose when we went to go to bed; I pulled down the sheets and found multiple hairs, long ones short ones, all sorts of hairs. I called down and the lady innkeeper came right up and changed them - she did mention she thought it was animal hair rather than human (I personally don't care what kind of hair - a hair is a hair). The next issue was that she left her portable phone next to the bed. So I called down to let them know and no one answered so I put it on out in the hall. Around 10 an hour later the phone started ringing and then the phone in our room rang. It would seem the male inn keeper was looking for the phone. They knew we were traveling with a toddler and the call woke her up. I was less than thrilled. This could all have been avoided if they had simply walked up the 25 steps to see if it was outside the door where they had last been. The next issue to arise concerned the shower, like the travelers before us experienced and wrote about, the water was cold - it took about 15 minutes to "warm" up to a luke warm temperature.
As we checked out in the morning the inn keeper apologized for the other calling so late and asked if we were able to get the baby back down, we did appreciate the concern and the apology.
Overall, it wasn't horrible, they were able to fix the sheets and were quick about it, the water wasn't freezing, but I feel like for the money we spent it could have been a lot better. I don't think we would return for another visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the third floor - some have views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheTravelingStaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    117
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
99
191
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NM
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend to exchange Christmas gifts between family who live apart, and had a great experience. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They even let us use a meeting room to store our gifts, then lit the tree and had hot drinks ready when we were ready. We liked the decor and the room was clean and nice. They made sure we had enough linen and dishes for our party of 6. The stairs are steep but we only went up and down a few times over the weekend. You don't get this kind of service in a large hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMtraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This is an old hotel in the heart of a very old town. Stay here if you want to immerse yourself in the history of Port Townsend. Don't stay here if you prefer a modern motel experience.

We (5 adults and one dog) spent two nights in Suite 16 just after Thanksgiving. We had stayed here before (15 years ago or so...) and remembered it fondly. This stay reinforced our appreciation for the hotel. As has been noted, the building is old (built in 1890), and the furniture is old (thought not quite antique, and not necessarily Victorian, but not run down). But the bathroom has been recently updated, the kitchenette was well-supplied, and the large flat-screen TV in the living area was far from old! The suite was just roomy enough for the 5 of us; with the hide-a-bed open it would be a bit of an obstacle course crossing the room on a mid-night trek to the bathroom--but our son solved that problem by sleeping on the un-opened sofa.

The weather was cold and windy, but we stayed comfortably warm just by using the gas-fed fireplace in the living room. There were portable electric space heaters in each bedroom, but we didn't need them. There was no sign of air-conditioning, so on one of Port Townsend's rare hot days, it may get pretty stuff in this old brick building.

It is true that there is no elevator, and our suite was on the second floor. We took many trips up and down that stairway, unloading the car and then loading it up again. If stairs are difficult, this may not be the place for you.

The outstanding feature of a stay at the Bishop Victorian is the friendly personalized service. I made the reservation by phone, and the man with whom I spoke was very detailed in his information. We needed a dog-friendly suite, so he took all the information about our spoiled corgi as well. We got the usual email confirmation, and a week before our trip we also received information about upcoming events in Port Townsend. When we arrived for check-in we were greeted by name, and upon arrival in the suite we found not only treats for our dog, but a dog bed, food and water dishes, and a basket of toys.

I had reason to speak with three different desk attendants, and each one knew my name AND my dog's name! The continental breakfast offered here is pretty typical, but its delivery is certainly not. Breakfasts are ordered the night before, from a list of available options, and your basket-o-breakfast is delivered to your door in the morning. No messy hotel breakfast room. No need to even get out of your robe. And if you need ice, just call the desk--it's delivered directly to your suite.

We will definitely visit here again--hopefully in less than 15 years.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellertown
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is a great old hotel conveniently located in the town, but off the main drag. It needs an update on its furniture, bed linens, etc to continue to compete with the price point. We stayed on the first floor in a one bedroom suite that had window shades, however, the lights from the parking lot are very bright and on all night. The breakfast in the morning was what we had ordered, however, the bagel was very stale.

The people behind the desk were delightful and were very helpful in answering questions about the town and the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stay here frequently for work. The staff are great, continental breakfast delivered daily in a cute basket to your door and right downtown. The only downfall the walls are thin and steep stairwell to room (no elevator). Also room I stay in has no bath. Decorated cute all in Victorian style.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowphantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service and amenities during your stay at the Bishop Victorian Hotel. We do apologize for the steepness of our staircase. Our hotel is a historic Victorian building and we chose to keep the original grand staircase and not install an elevator so as to maintain its Victorian ambiance. Hearing noise through your walls can also be a concern in Victorian buildings, and we do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Further, each suite in our hotel comes with its own private bathroom featuring either a shower, regular bathtub, soaking bathtub or jetted bathtub. If you desire a suite with a bathtub, please mention this to our Innkeepers upon reserving your room and they will gladly offer you such accommodations.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
2.8 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
315 reviews
0.3 km away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
296 reviews
1.6 km away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
543 reviews
2.2 km away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
124 reviews
0.9 km away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Property: Bishop Victorian Hotel
Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price range (per night): $188 - $348
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing