We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stop on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A very nice stop on our trip”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This was an overnight stop on our way to Seattle and we were very happy we paused here! The hotel has the perfect ambiance to reflect the small town feel of Port Townsend. In an old cigar factory, it has been updated to provide comfort with a kitchenette and a modern and very clean bathroom. Nice touches throughout, we found it very cozy and comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite on the third floor for our family of four which was certainly adequate but don't expect "spacious"...it is in an old building, after all! The staff was wonderful and provided a very nice breakfast basket which others have mentioned. One warning: if you are on the third floor, try to travel light...I think I remember counting 48 steps on the way up...but it was worth the exercise!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_in_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDobie, Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to check out our hotel during your stop in Port Townsend. We’re glad you enjoyed the unique character of our hotel, with its mix of old-world ambiance and modern amenities. During your next stay with us, in order to avoid using the Victorian era grand staircase, perhaps one of the two ground-floor suites would suit you best. Also, our sister hotel The Swan, located two blocks North of the Bishop Victorian, has four studio rooms and four cozy cottages located on the ground floor that may meet your needs as well.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    117
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
99
191
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

When visiting Port Townsend, there are a number of historic hotels. What that means is that the rooms are on the second and third floors which requires carrying luggage up several steps. Travelers with bad legs or bad hearts may want to avoid climbing so many steps. We found the Bishop Victorian Hotel to be cozy with a very friendly staff/owner. The location is in the heart of Port Townsend which made it very convenient to go shopping . We stayed in Room 11 on the second floor which consisted of a sitting room with a kitchette, bedroom and a bathroom. The bedroom was sparse, but the sitting room was tastefully decorated. We will stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacNWTraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2011

I visited with my sweetie for a weekend getaway and had a wonderful time. The Bishop is centrally located, the staff were friendly, the room was clean and very nice, and it was just what we were looking for. The continental breakfast was waiting in a basket outside our door in the morning. It was a little out of our price range, but I am glad we decided to stay anyway, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I came here for business but would certainly come back here for a weekend with friends/romantic getaway. I upgraded to a bigger room (#19) and it was great - spacious, mini kitchen, very cozy and comfy and quaint. turning on the little fireplace to eat my continental breakfast - delivered in a basket to my DOOR! - made me very happy. Very comfortable bed, no tub but a shower. Loads of stairs going up so if you're not overly mobile it could be a challenge, but it was worth the hoof up the stairs. Great sitting areas in and outside the room, coffee provided and walkable to everything in the historical part of PT.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We ended up in town unexpectedly and all of our usual places don't take kids under 12. When we called, the staff was so warm and friendly, such a difference from some other establishments. The hotel is an older property that has a great feel to it. Lots of stairs up to the top, not the largest or most modern rooms, but very charming, clean and welcoming. They left a breakfast basket outside our door that was a nice treat to wake up to. The location is perfect for exploring the town on-foot. Very happy with our stay and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2weeksis2little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Townsend
2.8 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
315 reviews
0.3 km away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
296 reviews
1.6 km away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
The Resort at Port Ludlow
The Resort at Port Ludlow
#1 of 1 in Port Ludlow
543 reviews
2.2 km away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
124 reviews
0.9 km away
Tides Inn
Tides Inn
#5 of 11 in Port Townsend
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Property: Bishop Victorian Hotel
Address: 714 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5718
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price range (per night): $188 - $348
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bishop Victorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing