We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Had a lovely stay in the Thornton House Cottage... beautiful setting, gracious and friendly hosts, comfortable and tastefully decorated cottage with comfortable king bed, huge modern shower with both rain and handheld shower heads... I could go on and on! We will definitely stay here again and recommend it highly to others! Thank you to Barbara and Charles for sharing their wonderful home!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conjetti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Thornton House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I loved staying at Thornton House! Barb and Charlie are the perfect innkeepers,
they know when to be helpful and when to give their guests privacy. Barb is a fantastic cook, we loved the abundant breakfasts with homemade biscuits and yeast waffles. The grounds are beautiful and the neighborhood is quiet, comfortable and an easy walk to the stairs to lower PT.
You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KFarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We just spent our one year anniversary here with Barb and Charlie and loved every minute of it. We stayed in the cottage and spent a lot of time in the garden sipping coffee and enjoying the view. In the evening we took our complimentary Shari in the garden and brought home delicious dessert from the Owl Spirit Cafe and watched the sun set. Mornings were our favorite time here though, we loved the family style breakfast where we could meet fellow travelers from around the world and have a nice meal while sharing our stories over some of the best drip coffee I have ever had (and I'm from Seattle)! We loved the accommodations and the company so we will definitely be staying again and again and again....

OK, this part of the review from the 30 year old husband:
its a B&B, so I figured blue plates on the wall, squeaky wooden bed and 75 year old plumbing. I was wrong on all accounts! The food was very good, Barb and Charlie going out of their way to make sure all dietary concerns were met, the room was decorated comfortably and not full of antiques I was scared to use, had WiFi, cable, and a modern feel in the bathroom. I was more comfortable here than at the last Best Western I was in, and this was cheaper too. I am definitely going to recommend this place to anyone headed up there, not only a romantic place to stay, just an all around great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesKateFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Loved staying at Thornton House. Barbara and Charlie are gracious hosts and the breakfasts are supurb. The location is within walking distance of uptown and downtown Port Townsend in a very quiet, eclectic neighbourhood. Ready to return to the comfortable home and lovely bedroom.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I rarely give a five star review. The only other stay that has earned such was over three years ago. Thornton House is a B and B, and so visitors should expect such. A Bed and Breakfast should, in my opinion, emulate a stay at a family friend's house....maybe a family friend whose son is hoping to marry your daughter and wants to make a fabulous impression.

Charlie and Barbara were very gracious hosts. We stayed in the detached room which was spotless, comfortable and very private. The grounds are beautiful and Barbara was working in the garden while Charlie welcomed us and settled us in. We took a short walk into town for supper. Truly, the walk is hardly grueling, and I am a 40-something, pudgy woman who happened to have a broken toe at the time.

The recommendation for supper was spot-on. Breakfast the next morning was made by Charlie and served at a very civilized hour. Though I would have preferred fewer carbohydrates (we had waffles), I had not mentioned this preference beforehand. The food was fresh and very good, and breakfast conversation was lively.

I highly recommend this spot for a romantic get-away (we were celebrating an anniversary). When Charlie and Barbara set about refurbishing and remodeling this home they spared little expense and really did a wonderful job of modernizing while keeping the spirit of the home. Their new kitchen left me wanting a big remodel at my own home! The room in which we stayed was wonderfully comfortable, and none of the chipped old make-do furnishings and details normally found in so many of the B and Bs we have tried in the past. Nicely done!

Room Tip: The detached room is the one we chose and it was very quiet and very private and comfortable. I am...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aljameela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
0.7 km away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
359 reviews
0.9 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
268 reviews
2.5 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
390 reviews
1.7 km away
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
Huber's Inn Port Townsend
#9 of 16 in Port Townsend
50 reviews
1.8 km away
Fort Worden
Fort Worden
#4 of 11 in Port Townsend
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1132 Garfield Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range: $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast is a spacious three bedroom guest house in the heart of Port Townsend’s Historic Uptown District. The original 1885 farmhouse has been carefully restored to reflect the ambiance and charm of a by-gone era. Every effort has been made to retain the original character of the farmhouse while providing present-day amenities and comfort. Newly renovated historic cottage with king bed and private bath with rain shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornton House b&b
Thornton House Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing