We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serendipitous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Consulate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Consulate Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Serendipitous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We hopped in the car on the Thursday after Christmas and decided to just get away for an overnight . . . somewhere! We ended up in Port Townsend and just picked this B & B in the dark, on a whim. So not me! However, we were not disappointed! Decorated for Christmas, it was inviting and warm, We stayed in the Renaissance Room and it was spacious and lovely! The bathroom was stocked with fluffy towels and local soaps and lotion - and not the sample size, either! The queen size bed was very comfy. Breakfast was wonderful! It was delicious and there was a full table of guests. We enjoyed visiting with everyone and only wish we had more time to spend there! Now that we have had a taste, we will be back! So, what are you waiting for? Get that reservation made. You need to see for yourself! Thank you, Nathan and Cindy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amocat37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    21
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
29
128
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We've just arrived back from 3 wonderful nights at the Old Consulate Inn. This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. Today was the first day of the new year and Cindy and Nathan set the table beautifully with Christmas crackers, Nathan played the hurdy gurdy to welcome us to the breakfast table and Cindy prepared a delicous three course meal including some of the best eggs benedict we've ever had. It was a wonderful first meal of the new year. We stayed in two rooms during the 3 days and each room was clean, well-appointed and very comfortable. The owners included such personal touches as home made chocolates brought to each room every evening, homemade chocolate chip cookies left each day downstairs for guests to help themselves too, menus of all the best restaurants in town available for guests to browse, wonderful locally made shampoos, hand creams, etc put into each suite and individual tours for guests regarding the history of the lovely building. We definitely felt that we were not just staying at a generic B and B, but a place that had the feeling of a real home. The owners are very hard working,professional and warm. You will not be disappointed with your stay at the Consulate Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleahjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

My husband and I stayed in the tower room. I was planning this trip as a surprise for his birthday. I was a little concerned that the room was overly feminine looking, but found it very romantic upon arrival. The innkeepers left chocolates on our pillows and the claw foot tub came stalked with bath salts and local soaps. Our room had an amazing view and would be an ideal place to watch the waves, read a book, and drink your favorite beverage. I could hear the bells in my room, but they didn't impact my sleeping and added to the ambiance. Plus, earplugs are provided for lighter sleepers.

Breakfast was exceptional. We had three courses featuring poached pears and home made doughnuts, eggs Benedict with fruit, and gingerbread waffles. There was plenty to eat and conversation was pleasant without feeling uncomfortable. I sometimes hesitate about B&B's because I like my privacy, but the size of this home makes it feel very comfortable. I would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The tower room has a great view, and gets great morning light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliteplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I am not a "b&b" kind of girl; however, this place has made a convert out of me. Upon entering the door we felt right at home. Nathan and Cindy were so friendly and down to earth (as was their precious dog who I wanted to take home with us). We had the larger room which had a fireplace and turret sitting area---perfection. Variety of rooms to meet all tastes and budgets. Location was good for us. We partook in some dining and drinking and were glad for the leisurely stroll downtown (10 min). And last but not least...breakfast. AMAZING. You will be in a food coma afterwards, but there are worse positions to be in. Glad for the experience and will hopefully return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbreardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I thought it might feel a bit strange staying at a B&B unaccompanied (I came to Port Townsend to conduct research), but I felt right at home. The gable room was really comfortable, the perfect size for one person, and the food was probably the best tasting and the most beautiful that I have ever eaten!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Townsend hotels
1.1 km away
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Bishop Victorian Hotel
#1 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.8 km away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.8 km away
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
#2 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 11 in Port Townsend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.5 km away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.1 km away
Ravenscroft Inn
Ravenscroft Inn
#1 of 16 in Port Townsend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Property: Old Consulate Inn
Address: 313 Walker St, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Region: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price range (per night): $241 - $295
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Consulate Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend's Victorian premiere B&B in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Best B&B in Jefferson county 2013 & 2014. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning 'Painted Lady' is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafes of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing