We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
396
133
51
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
396
133
51
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fireside restaurant bath salts gas fireplace marina view corner king room olympic peninsula fireside room there is no air conditioning soaking tub the general manager hood canal the entire staff minute drive one night stay comfortable rooms chef dan totems
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

The location and views were inspiring. It felt very remote and romantic. I highly recommend for romance. The rooms are large. I longed for a balcony and would have willingly sacrificed interior space for one! Each room has a fireplace with easy on gas logs. A large jacuzzi tub was never used because we were west facing third floor and it was warm. We did not want to add any heat or humidity to our room.
No A/C. I am sure they rarely need it. No pool and I always like a swim for exercise. There was kayak and SUP rental at the marina next door. The food served was delicious. The chef used locally sourced, sustainable farm goods. The beach loop walk was easy. A more challenging waterfall hike was right there for the taking. A glass of wine with a magenta sunset was the perfect ending to each of the four nights enjoyed in Port Ludlow.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Romance. We LOVE that this matched your expectations - and yes, we do hear this often....the setting, the quiet, the fireplaces, the jetted tubs - add a beautiful dinner and some memorable sunsets and WHA-LA, romance!

You DID come during a very unusual warm spell - we use the fireplaces nearly all year - even in the summer at night - so, we suggest a return visit so you can experience it completely....

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions - we are gratified by your words and do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

the Inn at Port Ludlow is a lovely place for a short getaway. Rooms are very comfortable, best to splurge for the water view! The restaurant is excellent and if weather permits you can rent a kayak or SUP next door at the marina. The Inn has had its ups and downs with management and chefs over the years but the current group are doing a great job!

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank allisonodenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Thank you for this kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and are very grateful for the recognition of our leadership team....it really validates that we are on track for providing what our guests desire....

And thanks for pointing out the Kayak/SUP offerings - we even have ice cream makers now that you can use while paddling around the bay - you do the work and are then rewarded upon return!

With appreciation....and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

I have stayed three times now in the past 6 years - and have thoroughly enjoyed every stay. The staff is amazing - truly the best thing about the Inn. Helpful, friendly, ready to do whatever it takes to assist you. The rooms are clean and comfortable and offer whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. I was here for a knitting retreat so we ate together - the food is outstanding. I would be disappointed with the regular menu and no vegetarian options for me, but for this retreat we had lots of choices. The Inn purchases from many local farms like FinnRiver and Dharma. You get a real sense of the community working together in this area. Very nice to see.The grounds are lovely with ample hiking opportunities. You can spot bald eagles on the totem pole and enjoy the views from patios and decks.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Thank you for this very kind review. We love having our group guests with us - and especially appreciate the commentary regarding our staff.

We also appreciate that you were able to enjoy the meals - and would suggest that you could come at a different time and still find our commitment in the dining room to not only the fork to table - but the vegetarian menus. We continue to use the local farms and foragers in this way - and the bounty is more and more geared to this approach to eating.

We also love that you were able to enjoy the amenities of the resort - aren't we fortunate to have the eagles (and the many other birds) that awaken us with their songs and lull us to sleep with their closing of the day?

We hope to see you again soon - whether with one of our "knitting retreats" or on your personal journey. Thanks again for making the time to share your impressions. It means the world to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

My wife and I live in Seattle and wanted to have a nice weekend getaway and chose The Resort at Port Ludlow. First off - I couldn't believe how close this was to Seattle. A short drive to the Edmonds-Kingston ferry, then another 35 minutes or so drive from Kingston. The ferry ride was pleasant and broke up the drive nicely.

At the property, everyone was super friendly and courteous. Our room faced the marina and we were treated to a couple of beautiful sunsets. There are numerous hikes in the area, and the hotel provided a walking map of the town with some advice on the trail conditions. We took their recommendation and hiked a nearby trail that followed a stream and waterfall. On the way back, we saw a deer on the property.

The room was large with a comfortable bed and several different pillow types and sizes. The jacuzzi, fireplace, and balcony were all welcome amenities and perfect for relaxation.

We had two breakfasts and one dinner at the Fireside restaurant on the property. All three meals were outstanding - everything was locally sourced and reasonably priced. The scallops we had at dinner in particular were phenomenal.

We also went to the FinnRiver Cidery (about 10 minutes away), which has a great tasting room with covered outdoor seating and live music. Highly recommend that as well.

My wife and I had a great weekend at The Resort at Port Ludlow. It is close to Seattle, yet just far enough away that you are close to nature. It is a great jumping off point for touring a winery or cidery (as we did). As a bonus, you can earn Stash Hotel Rewards points here. We are already looking at dates for a return trip later this summer!

Room tip: We had a west facing room that overlooked the marina. It was perfect.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

WOW! Thank you for this informative and thorough review!

We love that you were "surprised" by how close we are to Seattle. This is a common refrain - and something we are working on sharing with our guests - "so close, yet feels so far away." There really is something about crossing the water that makes you want to take a deep, long breath. We encourage that as well!

And we are always happy when our dining experience surpasses expectations. We strive to reflect the freshest available from our local farms, fisheries and foragers - and are in the belt of some remarkable land/water for the best of these. Our culinary team has a great time "playing with these products" and keeping it simple to really make the most of what we have coming in each day.

We are also delighted that we could guide your journey with suggestions on hiking and touring. There is so much to do in our area that we predict you will come back - sooner than later - to take in just a bit more of this slice of paradise.

Until then - thanks so much for making the time to share your impressions. We really appreciate this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Just 30 minutes from our home across the Hood Canal, Resort at Port Ludlow felt hours away. Our Stay and Play package gave us time at the golf course, inn, restaurant, and marina. The golf course is beautifully wooded and maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating. It felt as though we were the only pair on the course. The Inn was lovely. We had a comfortable, quiet room with a view of the marina and the Olympics - very picturesque. The onsite restaurant the Fireside served delicious food. We had the cheese board, beet salad, Kobe steak, and crème brûlée for dinner, Whidbey Island coffee, corned beef & hash and eggs benedict for breakie. Yum! The servers and front desk staff were fun to talk with.
The Marina was just a few steps away. (Thank you, Steve). Great selection of sundries and spirits. We enjoyed paddle boarding and were even joined by a seal!
We will return!

Room tip: Our second floor, marina view room was gorgeous and quiet.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWardrop, General Manager at The Resort at Port Ludlow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Thank you for this terrific review. We love that you were able to enjoy our golf package - and so much more! There has been an incredible amount of work done on the course over the past year, so it is really gratifying to see that it is "paying off" in this way. The "bones" are quite something - and we are so thrilled to be grooming it back to the original design the Robert Muir Graves intended.

We also appreciate that you were able to enjoy our dining room - and that you explored our food and beverage offerings.

AND we are delighted that you felt cared for through our service culture....

Though we cannot guarantee the "seal greeting" each time, we are pretty certain the feeling you walked away with on this trip can be repeated...so we look forward to your return visit soon!

Thanks so much for making the time to share your impressions - or for painting such a lovely picture of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews