We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ocean Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seabrook Cottage Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pacific Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seabrook Cottage Rentals
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ocean Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is basically a small town of houses ranging in size from tiny cottages to mansions. You rent a place by the night. This is our second time staying in the same cabin that goes by the name " Life is Good". It's almost like having your own timeshare. The rentals are decorated with personal touch and flair. There is a lot to do, walk on the beach, horseback riding, rent a bike($15/day) and ride through the woods. There's a community pool and a lot of the cabins have a hottub. The cabin we rented could sleep 4 people 2 adults 2 kids. It was $140 per night. If you're wanting to stay at the ocean, put this place on your short list. The atmosphere is great and the service is exceptional!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whidbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    36
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
81
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Our group of 8 family members rented Ocean Song for 4 nights, and the experience ranged from excellent to just barely OK. Carol in the rental office was amazingly helpful with our house selection and arrangements - she was so pleasant and went above and beyond to accomodate our group. The other people I spoke with were distracted almost to the point of being rude. The house was perfect - a little more per night than what I had hoped to spend but well worth it in the end. The house was well-maintained, well stocked, beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Unlike some of the other homes this one has very little yard (although it is fully fenced) but makes up for it with a beautiful deck and plenty of outdoor seating for when the weather is nice (nothing is covered). I think it may have more backyard privacy than some of the other homes.

As other reviewers have mentioned, if you stay at Seabrook be prepared to bring plenty of food and cook it yourself. We did eat in the very tiny pub on our first night and although the food wasn't bad it was incredibly slow and they were out of a lot of things. The store really doesn't even have the basics covered and is quite expensive although the propery is remote enough that it's good to have something there. The dog store has super cute things and the people are very friendly. The pottery painting place is fun for a rainy day and they get the items fired & ready to pick up in a day but once again, kind of expensive. The pool was not open yet when we were there but should be a much-needed addition.

The beach is beautiful but you have to cross the main road and go down (and back up) a lot of stairs. Fine for most people but not so good for our family member with heart problems. We did pack a picnic and drove down to the beach in another spot so it worked out in the end. The community fire pits are fun in the evenings and so are the outdoor games. Our house was stocked with all kinds of fun games and movies (bikes too) but if you really like to get out and about all the time you could get bored very quickly when the weather is bad.

One of our family members had accidentally cut herself when slicing some food so we called the office to see if they had anyone medically trained enough to evaluate it and see if she needed stitches. They did not and recommended we drive to the fire station in Pacific Beach. Fortunately there was a first aid class going on at the fire station so some wonderful ladies cleaned and re-bandaged the wound before we drove in to Aberdeen for sutures. Everything worked out fine but other travelers should remember that even though there are a few little towns around there is not even a walk-in clinic within 45 minutes.

The drive was about 7 1/2 hours from where we live in southeastern Washington so that alone will probably limit our trips (considering we can get to Cannon Beach in Oregon in less than 5 1/2 hours). For someone who lives closer to Seattle though this could be a nice getaway.

Room Tip: Pay close attention to internet photos and listings and enlist the help of the rental office if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WallaWallaGolferGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Me and two girlfriends just rented the "Life is Good" cottage at Seabrook and we had a great time! We arrived later than expected on Friday night (due to traffic) but the check-in process was very friendly and quick. The cabin itself was so cute and just perfect for three people - it included two twin beds on a loft, and a small bedroom with a queen-sized bed. The 3/4 bath was roomy, and the kitchen was brand new with all the amenities, including a coffee maker, toaster, pots and pans, dishes, and even a few basic staples (salt and pepper, etc.) - everything we needed. There was even a full-sized washer and dryer, three TV's, board games, a Wii, Blu-Ray DVD player, full-service satellite TV, and (free) wi-fi. We were happy to have all of this since it rained ALL weekend and we spent a lot of time indoors.

Life is Good also has a wraparound deck, its own private fire pit, and a private (but not covered) hot tub in the back. It sits in a little community of similar cottages called "Beach Camp" which also has its own central firepit. Beach Camp is about as far as you can get from town, or about a 10-minute walk through Seabrook's quaint residential streets.

All in all I was impressed with Seabrook, although I'm not sure if their concept of "a new type of community" is really attainable considering very few people seem to actually live there full-time - it is almost all rentals. I was also disappointed with the local businesses. There were no friendly greetings at any of them, and I did not find any business owners who actually live in the Seabrook community (too expensive, they say). Mill 109 - the local restaurant/pub - was a HUGE disappointment and I was dismayed that it was our only nearby option for dining out. They were busy due to a large group who had arrived for a late lunch, and the wait staff made no effort to hide their disdain - I felt sorry for the group members, who were being pointed at as each new potential customer came in the door. "Well, we have this big GROUP here so we can't SEAT YOU."

Once we did finally get seated, I had to ask for menus, ask for water, and ask again for our drink and food orders to be taken. Even though we arrived during their 2-5 Saturday happy hour (as advertised on the Mill 109 website) we were only offered full-price menus until I asked for happy hour menus - I guess you have to be "in the know" to get the happy hour menu! The happy hour deals were good, including $2 microbrews on tap (except, oops, they only had one micro on tap). They did have a good selection of bottled micros, which we enjoyed, and amazing appetizers - the calamari and pork "wings" were to die for! (We had tried to order chicken wings but they were out.) I think the experience would have been better had the waiter and waitress not allowed themselves to get so frazzled to the point that everybody within earshot knew just how busy and overwhelmed they were by the unexpectedly busy Saturday afternoon crowd! When a power glitch caused their point-of-sale system to go out for a few minutes, I was honestly concerned that our waiter was going to suffer a coronary.

We did not get the chance to check out the pool, but it seems to be a popular addition to the community. We also didn't get to ride bikes, mostly because of the rain but also because they are now charging for bike rentals. While I did try to take advantage of Seabrook's pedestrian-friendly design, I think whoever designed the place did not take the poor Northwest weather into consideration. A few covered shelters along the way would have been nice - I was drenched by the time I got to town. No biggie, but in a community that seems to have thought of "everything" and really promotes walking around town rather than driving, this seemed like a big oversight. The fact that most of the weekend's residents were choosing to drive the 4-5 blocks from their cottages to Main Street are a testimony to the lack of pedestrian friendliness (during inclement weather, at least).

All in all we had a great time, and I will definitely go back during the warmer months. It looked like a fun place to bring the kids and the dog!

Room Tip: The nice thing about Seabrook is there are a lot of cabin sizes to choose from, and their website ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TMJplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I've stayed here several times and each house has had something different to offer. It's important to look carefully at the photos and layouts as some houses are more comfortable than others. Some spaces are small and cramped and others are very nice. The overall construction quality of the homes is at best- average, just built well enough to get the job done.

The general area is rather isolating so don't expect great nightlife or outstanding restaurants in the area. The local cafe has gone though several chefs and the quality runs from excellent to nasty.

If you're looking for a retreat and don't mind cooking, it's very nice. It's a true getaway. If you're expecting a lot of privacy, depending on the season, this may not be the place. The lots are tiny and the houses are all very close together so it's not exactly quiet during peak season. Best time is during the off season when occupancy is relatively low.

Bring rain gear- even if it looks decent outside, the wind off the ocean can be very cold. This is not a great location if you think you're going to sun on the beach. Those days are few, even in summer. It's ideal for runners, and those who want to go for long walks or just inside and read a good book. The place is dog heaven!

Cell coverage for AT&T is nonexistent. Verizon and Sprint are so-so. Most houses have Wi-Fi, but not all so ask.

You can drive on the beach and access can be found just a few miles south. But, if you plan to drive on the beach be sure you have AWD or you could end up in a frantic race between the tow truck and the tides.

Room Tip: Make sure you look closely at the house layout and photos to make sure it fits your lifestyle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Overall, Seabrook is beautiful. We have stayed there several times. All but one of the homes we rented has been great, with wonderful amenities.

Our first visit there was like a dream - I couldn't believe how great the place was. They set up the fire pits before it gets dark, even leaving the lighters on the benches so you can light the fire if you're the first one there. They thought of everything.

But one visit is worth sharing just to see another side. We splurged on a summer rental last year (we usually went off-season) so my husband could watch the World Cup while on vacation - he's a huge soccer fan, and if his team did badly he wanted to be on vacation so he could spend the day getting over it by going to the beach. Yes, this sounds ridiculous, but it works for him. When we checked in to the house, the "cable TV" mentioned on the web page consisted of a cooking, hunting, and religious channel. Something for everyone! But no ESPN. Perhaps this is the bare minimum you can get just to get reception out there? He walked over to the rental office to ask about switching houses, but because a wedding was happening that weekend, there were no other houses available. The internet reception didn't work well enough to watch the games online, either. My suggestion is that if you are going for something in particular, call first to verify that they actually do have the feature. My son spent his allowance buying a new xBox game to bring with him, but when we got there it was a regular xBox, not an xBox 360 as advertised. Nitpicky, yes, but he was really excited to play it.

And another thing to check when you make a reservation - make sure your rental isn't in the middle of a wedding party. We had limited privacy with groups of people walking through the back yard as they weren't aware our house wasn't part of their party. The night of the actual wedding the music was so loud we went over to the restaurant for some peace and quiet - only to find that they had very little food available, as well as a limited waitstaff (they were working the wedding). I have no problems with weddings in general - and it's certainly a lovely place for a wedding, but had I known there was a big party going on we would have rented a different house away from the action. I wish the management office had mentioned it when we checked in.

With all that said, I would definitely return - as this isn't the fault of the village itself. Come that Monday, everyone left and we had the quiet Seabrook that we knew and loved back for the rest of the week. There are some really nice new homes I'm anxious to try, especially now that there's a pool going in.

Houses I can wholeheartedly recommend - Weldin has a view of the ocean from the master bedroom deck, and Sandollar is absolutely the most beautifully furnished home we've stayed in, anywhere.

One more thing - the little store is really cute with some nice items - but buy staples like chips and things at the grocery store on the way. A bag of tortilla chips (granted, they were a gourmet variety I'd never heard of) was $8!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedheadedGardenLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Beach
20.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lighthouse Suites Inn
5.4 km away
Hi-Tide Ocean Beach Resort
17.2 km away
Quinault Beach Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
Quality Inn - Ocean Shores
#9 of 15 in Ocean Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.1 km away
Ocean Crest Resort
Ocean Crest Resort
#2 of 3 in Moclips
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
21.6 km away
Grey Gull
Grey Gull
#1 of 15 in Ocean Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabrook Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabrook Cottage Rentals

Property: Seabrook Cottage Rentals
Address: 4275 State Route 109, Pacific Beach, WA 98571
Region: United States > Washington > Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Pacific Beach
Price range (per night): $133 - $938
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabrook offers wonderful vacation rentals in a new coastal neighborhood just south of Pacific Beach on the Washington coast. If you're looking at lodging accommodations in Ocean Shores, Westport, or Long Beach, consider Seabrook. We offer quality vacation rental homes ideal for getaways, family vacations, reunions, business conferences, and retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seabrook Cottage Rentals Hotel Pacific Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing