We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Highlight of our Weekend”
Review of Sandphifer Gallery

Sandphifer Gallery
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Art gallery featuring driftwood sculptures, fiber art, and whimsical drawings by the owner and her husband, who also operate the gallery. Hand dyed scarves and jewelry are part of the selection as well as gifts created by the owner. Kunsthandwerks-Galerie mit entspannter Atmosphare. Angeboten werden Treibholzskulpturen, textile Kunst, sowie originelle Zeichnungen der Galeristin.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 15 June 2018

My teenage son and I first found the Sandphifer Gallery over Memorial Day weekend 2017. We were exploring Pacific Beach and discovered this lovely gallery across from the Navy recreational property. We were welcomed by Stephen, who showed us around the gallery and entertained us with stories and conversation for over an hour. He shared his creative process with us and spoke with obvious affection about his wife and her work as she was out of town that day.
We visited Pacific Beach for Memorial Day again this year (2018) and were eager to return to the Sandphifer Gallery. I purchased a print from the birdhouse collection to give as a gift and a tree frog print just because I loved it! Stephen even took the time to have my youngest son (7) compare two of his sculptures and discover the difference in weight and texture between the two types of wood.
The Sandphifer Gallery is a warm, welcoming, beautiful gallery and we look forward to our next visit. Be sure to stop in when you visit Pacific Beach or Seabrook!

Thank BKSZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Owner at Sandphifer Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

It is always a special treat to see kids come into our gallery who are interested in art! Stephen used to work with children in his younger days and enjoys introducing them to our art work a lot. Thank you for coming into the gallery with your young art aficionado twice. We will make sure to have new and exciting work to show both of you when you return next memorial day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"each piece"
in 3 reviews
"wood carvings"
in 2 reviews
"creative process"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful pieces"
in 2 reviews
"driftwood"
in 7 reviews
"fabric"
in 3 reviews
"mediums"
in 2 reviews
"artists"
in 13 reviews
"drawing"
in 7 reviews
"whimsical"
in 4 reviews
"animals"
in 3 reviews
"shop"
in 2 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

This gallery has been created by a husband and wife team who relocated to the Pacific beach area several years ago. This very sweet and gracious couple welcome guests and browsers. Their art form includes numerous pieces made out of local driftwood which capture the spirit of the area and the eye of the imagination of the artist. In addition there are numerous pieces of painted artwork on various mediums which have a whimsical tone with bright colors. This is a must see while vacationing at Pacific Beach.

Thank Marc A. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Owner at Sandphifer Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Marc, it was really nice to meet and chat with you! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again when you next spend time in our little town. Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

I highly recommend stopping by Sandphifer Gallery! Stunning art! Both the drawings and the wood sculptures are gorgeous.

Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Owner at Sandphifer Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Julie, thank you for spending time at our gallery and for leaving a review. We very much appreciate you helping others discover us. Karin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

After combing the town and seeing all that’s there, I went walking up 1st St. hill and happened upon this lovely gallery. Owner couple are both artists. I enjoyed conversing with both. One works with wood, and the other with fabrics and does sketches of animals - mostly with happy expressions. I had an overall positive feel about this place and absolutely loved the art being presented. Some galleries don’t take time or understand how to display art properly for visual enjoyment but Sandphifer does this superbly. Treat yourself by visiting and take home a feel-good piece of reasonably priced art.

Thank RovingRox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Owner at Sandphifer Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Roxie, we're so glad you kept walking up the hill! It was fun talking to you, and we thank you for your enthusiastic review that may inspire others to come and see our little gallery. Hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We like to discover galleries, to see creative art, and talk to the artists. All of which we discovered at the Sandphifer Gallery in Pacific Beach. If you go there, you will probably find a memory, or a creation you will want to have for your home or for a friend. Enjoy.

Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Owner at Sandphifer Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

It was wonderful meeting you. Thank you for leaving a review for us. We hope to see you again, when you come back to the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandphifer Gallery also viewed

 
Pacific Beach, WA
Pacific Beach, WA
 

Been to Sandphifer Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing