We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Veranda Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Walnut Beach Resort(Osoyoos)(Great Value!)
USD 140*
USD 131*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview Motel & Suites(Osoyoos)(Great Value!)
USD 80*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 80*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn(Osoyoos)(Great Value!)
USD 96*
USD 93*
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camaray Motel(Oroville)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Del Mila Oro Resort(Osoyoos)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
42
9
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
9
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We just returned from our 4th year at Veranda. We had never had a problem before the staff was always very helpful and accommodating until this year. We have an older dog that always comes with us, so we specifically ask and pay for a pet friendly cottage. We arrived late and were frantically unpacking and putting away groceries as the dog wondered around the cottage. We noticed the dog was eating something, we pulled a very chewed up black plastic piece out of her mouth. We assumed it was something from our groceries. A few hours later my daughter was playing with the dog and found more of these black squares, they were ant bait traps. There was a poison control hotline on the back which we called; to say the least it was a very long restless night checking on our pet. We spoke to the desk staff the next morning, why would they not inform us at check in, why would they put these is cottages with pets and small children? Best we got was, sorry for the inconvenience. We left our information so that the General Manager could contact us, the desk staff knew how unhappy we were with the situation. We checked back later, no word from the manager. Nine days later still no word from the manger. At check out time the same desk staff was there, I expressed are disappointment and anger at not hearing from the manager. Patti the manager happened to be standing right there. She claimed she had never received the complaint, which I found hard to believe, especially by the looks on the faces of the two other staff members. She then changed her story and said she had been too busy. The lack of concern, interest, excuses and manners this manager showed in dealing with the situation was appalling. It’s a beautiful place, but we won’t be back. Please check your cottages, our dog only ended up with a bad case of diarrhea; we would hate to hear of something more tragic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty L, General Manager at Veranda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please understand this during the hot summer months, critters such as ants sometime find their way into our cottages and cause discomfort to our guests, so in order to minimize this, we place ant traps in the most common places just like one would do in ones own home. I am really grateful that you have brought this to our attention and the scenario you have described is not something we had thought about…maybe we should have but didn’t and only had the overall enjoyment of our cottage guests in mind. Now that this has come to light and trust me we take it seriously, we have implemented new procedures for cottage guests such as yourselves in order to alleviate this problem in the future.

I truly apologize for not attending to your problem in an orderly and timely manner, its August, the resort is full and things are hectic, nevertheless, I should have been more attentive and can only apologize and learn from this. I am hoping you could contact me directly at the resort as I would like to make this up to you as well as explain in detail the procedures now in place thanks to your actions.

Patty Lawrence
General Manager
Veranda Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We just came back from our second trip to Veranda Beach. We love it to death. There simply is no other place like this place. The property is magical: quaint and well-appointed single family cottages with huge screened-in verandas set among sprawling expanses of lush lawns, where packs of wild (or at least feral) children run amok playing tag, throwing water balloons, or tossing a ball. The cottages don't have garages: you unload your luggage and toys, and then must park just off the property. This is the key to the aesthetic of the whole place: with no cars to get in the way and create hazards, kids and adults can freely roam the charming laneways on bikes, scooters, skateboards etc. Seriously, you will think you are back in the 70's; where else can you see a gaggle of children riding bikes with no helmets or anxious parents hovering behind them? The pool area is wonderful, with poolside drink service (happy hour after afternoon with very tasty maragitas!), the Globe Diner serves up tasty food at reasonable prices and with very friendly service, the general store sells staples and enough candy to make your kids REALLY annoying about begging you for loose change, there are outdoor movies a couple of times a week, and various other activities that keep the place fun. If you are a fitness buff there is a great trail that goes straight up from the property to the top of the hill to the East, about a 30-45 minute climb, and if you are into road riding (as I am), the local opportunities for VERY hilly and astoundingly scenic riding are about the best I have ever experienced. The beach is superb, the lake is warm, and the marina has a good selection of power boats, jet-skis and catamarans for rent if you are into that kind of thing. The staff at Veranda Beach are universally friendly and eager to please - this is not the Four Seasons and there were a small number of issues with our cottage during our stay but they were all of a minor nature and easily and quickly remedied with a call to the front desk. The real star of the show, however, is the Okanagon Valley - if you have never been to the Osoyoos / Oroville area, it's difficult to explain how beautiful it is. Veranda Beach is located on a prime, very quiet penninsula of land on the East side of the lake just next to the Canadian border - there's no border crossing on that side, so there's no through traffic and the resort really is a paradise unto itself and very safe for families. The contrast of the sun on the water and the arid, eroded hills covered with silver sage and cacti is just astonishing. It's a non-stop buffet for the eyes (and I mean like the buffet at the Wynn Las Vegas, not Uncle Willie's). The bottom line is that although Veranda Beach ain't cheap, it's worth every penny and everyone I know who has gone there has already made a return trip or is planning one. You'll love it, you'll wish you could buy one of the cottages (and maybe you will!), and your kids will one day remember it as their Happy Place! My three little ones (4,6 and 7) already do.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage as close to the lake as possible, although they are all great. The cottages on the Northeast corner are slightly higher and have views. A two bedroom cottage with a loft is plenty of cottage for two families of 4 with pre-teen kids, if you want to get your cost per night down.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vergroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Simply amazing.... Beautiful lake, swimming pool, sandy beaches, general store, restaurant (so if you want lunch or drinks by the pool no problem! .....And mostly the fun events constantly being organized by the spectacular staff. Events include Wednesday and Saturday night drive in movies on the wide open parks We take our blankets pillows and popcorn and enjoy the show! The list goes on and on with holiday specific events like Easter egg hunts, fireworks, lobster events, sock hops, sports day, wine weekends, girls getaways with shopping, wine etc etc etc. once you have been there you will go back. Memories to last a lifetime!

Room Tip: Lakefront is amazing if your budget allows or if you are sharing with another family. Check out 119 Malarkey Lane.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We have stayed at least once a year since the cottages were ready. Have magical memories of each visit, especially the time spent with family/friends on the huge screened porches at night. Love the white picket fences, window boxes & green lawns to the beach. Everything is so pristine, yet family friendly. A little slice of heaven on the quiet U.S. side of Lake Osoyoos. Imagine "Pleasantville" and you have Veranda Beach!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Peterborough in an excellent location (103 Bootlegger Lane). Pleasantville is what came to mind as we approached the charming resort.
The cottsge is well appointed with a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a huge screened veranda where we spent most of our time. It was bonus not having to shoo away bugs because of the screen.
The beach area has a lovely grass area as well as a shallow area of
sand. The pool area was comparable to one found in a 5 star resort with the except for the lack of towel service.
Overall, it's a perfect family getaway tucked away in Oroville.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raincoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews