We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing view with the sound of the waves”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset Beach Haven - Winter sunset looking at the Olympic Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset Beach Haven - Winter sunset looking at the Olympic Mountains
Between the ocean on one side and Swantown Lake, every room has a water view. Sunset Beach Haven has breathing room and separation from its side neighbors.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Sunset Beach Haven - Winter sunset looking at the Olympic Mountains
Between the ocean on one side and Swantown Lake, every room has a water view.
Sunset Beach Haven has breathing room and separation from its side neighbors.
The interior is up to date, yet retains the charm of the original cabin.
The Living Room and deck seem to float above the water, and the stunning views.
Seating for up to six at the table.
Good counter for such a compact design. Full-sized fridge, range, and microwave.
The San Juan Island are visible to the northwest. Miles of beach to walk at low and mid-tide.
Views across the Strait of Juan de Fuca and the Olympic Mountains.
Access to the beach is boulder scrambling (at your own risk) or easier for some 3 lots down.
Every night should start like this.
Comfy pillow-top queen bed in the Master Bedroom.
Two twins in the second bedroom, views toward Swantown Lake and the ocean.
A Porta Crib and High Chair are available to use, if you fit in them...
Full bath: soaps, towels, shampoo provided.
View from deck at sunset reflected in Great Room windows.
Ahhhhh.
Love to storm watch? Book a winter stay. Can be calm or can be crazy exciting with a front row seat.
Nearby Ebey's Landing provides some of the best hiking and beach combing around.
Another favorite spot - Deception Pass, fog lifting during a family hike.
Admiralty Head lighthouse at Fort Casey. One of several sights not to be missed.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Oak Harbor, Whidbey Island, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nisha P
1 review
“Amazing view with the sound of the waves”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Julie and Peter were very welcoming hosts, who had the place ready for us when you got there. It is a beautiful part of the island and the house has a great location and view. While enjoying the cosy and welcoming comfort on the inside, you get a great experience of living right on the water. Thanks so much for a wonderful weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Thank you, Nisha, for your stay at our home and taking the time to write a review! It's true, you can't really get any closer to the water (unless you are on a boat...). We'd love to have you back. You were wonderful Guests. -Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilgab1
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Pacific Northwest retreat”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The home was perfect for our summer getaway for 2 adults and two pre-teen boys. Comfy beds and furnishings, a wonderful common room with kitchen - large enough for all to find a cozy corner.

The view from indoors as well as from the terrace that spans the entire width of the home take your breath away at any time of day.

The location was ideal - literally on the water! The tide charts were readily accessible so that we could plan walks along the shore during low tide - perfect for our nature loving boys, who could uncover clams, jellies and all sorts of other treasures. And during high tide, wathcing the waves strike the shore was mesmerizing.

Sunsets on the terrace ended the day.

Amenities were ideal - the kitchen is stocked with everything and more - not just the basic 4 place settings you get in some locations. But included all sorts for kitchen tools and implements, dry goods, spices and refrigerated condiments.

The hosts are generous with recommendations about nearby walks, parks, restaurants and activities. They know the area in detail, and were able to tailor their suggestions to our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location, great level of comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2018
Dear Ilga, We are so glad you and your family chose our place for your week's stay over the summer. So glad the boys got to enjoy the low tides of summer to explore tide pools! And thank you for taking the time to write a review. You captured the feel of our home and were wonderful Guests. We welcome you back anytime, though I know Latvia is a bit far away... -Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
April B
1 review
“Perfect little beach house!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderfulstay right on the beach....truly feels like we were on a boat! The sound of the waves and birds, the smell of the beach was so calming. An absolutely Beautiful view of the sound from the front room and deck ...exceptional sunsets!!
The Mattsons have thought of everything to make their guests as comfortable as possible. It's home away from home. I would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Dear April, It was so wonderful to you have you as our Guests. You took great care of our home and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and all the beauty it has to offer. Do come again! -Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbbends
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Relaxed and refreshed”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was the perfect home for our family of four to relax and refresh after a week long adventure at camp. The beds are very comfortable, the kitchen is well stocked and the owners have anticipated all your needs including a pair of binoculars exactly where you would expect to find them. The owners are very responsive and take great care of this home. The views are fantastic and there are many out door activities on Whidbey and surrounding islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, beds and washer/dryer
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you so much Barbara for choosing our home and taking the extra time to post such a wonderful review. We are relatively new to TripAdvisor so don't have as many reviews posted here as we do elsewhere, so it is really appreciated. We are so glad you found everything you needed and enjoyed the fabulous location too! We try and leave it as we would like to arrive, with little to think about :). Do come again. -Julie and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kszellers
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
“Sunset Beach Haven is amazing!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Its true, Sunset Beach Haven - It's like living on a boat". We just spent the previous weekend at Sunset Beach Haven. This was our first trip to the NW. We decided to stay at a beach house. After doing some research we decided on Sunset Beach Haven. It definitely did not disappoint!! This is as close as you can get to the water and beach. The owners were wonderful! They were very helpful and accommodating. The house had everything you could ever want. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the necessities you would need. They even provided great tasting coffee for the coffee maker. The beds were very comfortable. The view looking out of the large windows was breathtaking!! Saw an amazing sunset!! Did I mention that the sound of the waves lull you to sleep? The house was a good location on the island. We were able to visit all the cities on the island very easily. We went into Oak Harbor to get some necessities, it was a short drive. Sunset Beach Haven was a home run for us!!! Thank you Julie and Peter!!! We will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right on the beach.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Dear Kathi and Steve, Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review, and SUCH A NICE REVIEW! It's our first one on FlipKey so it is extra special. We really do appreciate it and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. You summed up so much of what we love about Sunset Beach Haven, too. Do come again - come escape the California heat for the cool breeze of the Pacific NW!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing