We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time!”
Review of El Lago

El Lago
Ranked #36 of 77 Restaurants in Monroe
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Really delicious food and good prices (average $13-15 per plate). The tamale was moist and not dry- huge plus! I was disappointed in the sangria (Fridas still has THE best!!!)- it's strong, just doesn't have the best flavor. Will definitely be back though! Can't wait to try to sizzling steak fajitas- smelled AMAZING!!!! Staff was also friendly, a little slow getting our tab to us, but we weren't in a rush.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank P5089JFelizabethd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2017

Very pleased with how fresh and flavorful our food was. My wife and I stopped
in on a Thursday evening as we had not yet eaten at El Lago. What we found
was a very nice relaxed atmosphere, great service, and food with wonderful
flavor. Several things on the menu sounded delicious and it was difficult in the end
to choose. We enjoyed our meals so much that on the way home we started planning
what to order on our next visit.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sasmo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We enjoy eating authentic Mexican food at this family friendly restaurant. Also very good prices. We have visited a number of times in the past few months. They also Ave a wonderful outside seating area with a view of the lake (El Lago) during the spring and summer. Very friendly wait staff.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vickie304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Dinner with friends was the reason for the visit. We have seen this location change from another style restaurant to a Mexican food place and thought we would try it out. Service was average.
A friend had suggested we get the Verde salsa to go along with our chips. I had asked our server about it and he said they didn't have it. We stated our frind had just been there and had some but he insisted that they don't have it. When our drinks arrived I asked that server about the Verde salsa and he said "sure, I'll get some for you". Our server never said anything about it when he saw it on our table but also didn't come by again until we were done.
The menu was very pedestrian. I was hoping for something special or maybe different than all of the standard American version of Mexican food but alas no.
There are many better restaurants in the Monroe area, and my favorites are on Main Street. I would direct you there before trying El Lago.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 7traintripper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This gem sits looking west to Lake Tye and meadow's. Lovely outdoor seating along with tiered seating inside so all have a great view. Staff is terrific and the menu full of your favorites along with some wonderful new dishes. Don't miss it!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 639diannef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing