We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice overnight ski trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice overnight ski trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We have stayed here twice. Once in 2009 and agoin last night. The first time we brought our dog, it is always rare to find a dog friendly hotel that doesn't smell like dogs. Somehow the Obertal manages. The cont breakfast is aweesome! Waffles, fruit salad, boiled eggs, yogurt, and the usual suspects as well. We great location middle of everything there is to do in leavenworth. We ski one day at Stevens and the second day at Mission Ridge. The hot tub isn't warm enough, and looks a little less than savory, but still gets the job done after a day on the slopes. Beds are comfy, rooms clean, and nice TVs! We will be back next winter!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    564
    144
    24
    4
See reviews for
511
855
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Walls way to thin, heard everything going on in next room. The toilet tank had a leaking flapper which caused it to refill every 5 minutes which was very loud. Put in a complaint at front desk the next day, was told that nothing can be done until the next day. The small refrigerator was loud while the compressor was on, (finally unplugged it the second night). The brochure said there was a fireplace in the room. It was a fake non-heating fireplace. On the good side, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard4623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
As always, we very much appreciate the feedback. We sincerely apologize to this guest for their disappointment.

We appreciate this guest complimenting us on our friendliness because we take customer service very serious and we do control that outcome of the stay. We hope that all the benefits of our Inn will appeal more to you (the reader) than anything else.

We are aware that, with an older building, there is sometimes some noise bleeding through the walls. Our little Inn was built in 1984 and the materials used in those days were not very good in sound proofing a building. Add to that we are a completely wooden building and that doesn’t help matters.

We did have a problem with the toilet and it required a new part. We immediately went to the store to buy it so it could be installed. Unfortunately they did not have the part in stock. We ordered it online for next day delivery and had the problem fixed the next day.

Our guests want refrigerators in the room, unfortunately, everything with a compressor produces sound. I don’t like the quiet hum of a refrigerator either, nor of the heating system for that matter, but it is an expected amenity and we are not able to diminish the sounds from the fridge.

The “fake” fireplace is a top of the line electric fireplace that provides a wonderful ambiance to the room. The heating units in all rooms are very effective so we chose the option of having the effect only and did not add the heating capability. The vast majority of our guests us love these fireplaces because they are so well made and really add the fireplace ambiance to the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I like variety, trying new places, but this is probably the first hotel I could see myself coming back to. The breakfast itself is worth the return, it's delicious. The rooms are clean and modern, the staff helpful, and the location is good. Overall a great stay, would come here again, but would try the 'spa rooms' next time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you so much for yhour wonderful comments, especially you seeing yourself coming back for a repeat visit. To all readers out ther, this guest is right, our breakfast is wonderful and there is something for everyone. Visit our website for a full list of what is included.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Loved the place, breakfast offerings, staff, coffee, location, location, location. Highly recommend staying here. AAA discounts offered.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

From the outside the Obertal looks like a bavarian motel. I was a little worried why I was spending $200 + on a motel room even if it was during the Lights Festival. I had a large deluxe room which I believe they consider a suite. It was surprisingly clean (especially given dogs are allowed in the rooms). The bed was very comfy - I slept great. The breakfast was better than your standard continental and all the staff was very friendly. The location is great - within walking distance to everything but not noisy. The only complaint was I could hear everything in the room above me; heels, muted talking and barking dogs. I called the front desk about the dogs and they had the owners return to the room to quiet them. I'll definetly be staying here again!

Room Tip: If stairs aren't a problem ask for a third floor room - less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.2 km away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.6 km away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
1.2 km away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.9 km away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#6 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Property: Obertal Inn
Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price range (per night): $158 - $358
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village. We have a variety of lodging options, from a plain hotel room to a 3 bedroom townhouse. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. Our townhouses, apartments and, suites offer excellent accommodations for families traveling together. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Four King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing