We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Obertal Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Lodge(Leavenworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posthotel(Leavenworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Evergreen Inn(Leavenworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Bavarian Ritz Hotel(Leavenworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linderhof Inn(Leavenworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enzian Inn(Leavenworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Rivers Inn(Leavenworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Der Ritterhof Inn(Leavenworth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,171)
Filter reviews
2,171 results
Traveller rating
1,281
695
166
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,281
695
166
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationhot tubin townroom was cleanwaffleselectric fireplaceenjoyed our staywithin walking distanceno elevatorgreat place to staycontinental breakfastgranolafresh fruitstay there againthird floornice breakfastthe main street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,089 - 2,094 of 2,171 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Walls way to thin, heard everything going on in next room. The toilet tank had a leaking flapper which caused it to refill every 5 minutes which was very loud. Put in a complaint at front desk the next day, was told that nothing can be done until the next day. The small refrigerator was loud while the compressor was on, (finally unplugged it the second night). The brochure said there was a fireplace in the room. It was a fake non-heating fireplace. On the good side, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard4623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

As always, we very much appreciate the feedback. We sincerely apologize to this guest for their disappointment.

We appreciate this guest complimenting us on our friendliness because we take customer service very serious and we do control that outcome of the stay. We hope that all the benefits of our Inn will appeal more to you (the reader) than anything else.

We are aware that, with an older building, there is sometimes some noise bleeding through the walls. Our little Inn was built in 1984 and the materials used in those days were not very good in sound proofing a building. Add to that we are a completely wooden building and that doesn’t help matters.

We did have a problem with the toilet and it required a new part. We immediately went to the store to buy it so it could be installed. Unfortunately they did not have the part in stock. We ordered it online for next day delivery and had the problem fixed the next day.

Our guests want refrigerators in the room, unfortunately, everything with a compressor produces sound. I don’t like the quiet hum of a refrigerator either, nor of the heating system for that matter, but it is an expected amenity and we are not able to diminish the sounds from the fridge.

The “fake” fireplace is a top of the line electric fireplace that provides a wonderful ambiance to the room. The heating units in all rooms are very effective so we chose the option of having the effect only and did not add the heating capability. The vast majority of our guests us love these fireplaces because they are so well made and really add the fireplace ambiance to the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I like variety, trying new places, but this is probably the first hotel I could see myself coming back to. The breakfast itself is worth the return, it's delicious. The rooms are clean and modern, the staff helpful, and the location is good. Overall a great stay, would come here again, but would try the 'spa rooms' next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Thank you so much for yhour wonderful comments, especially you seeing yourself coming back for a repeat visit. To all readers out ther, this guest is right, our breakfast is wonderful and there is something for everyone. Visit our website for a full list of what is included.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Loved the place, breakfast offerings, staff, coffee, location, location, location. Highly recommend staying here. AAA discounts offered.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

From the outside the Obertal looks like a bavarian motel. I was a little worried why I was spending $200 + on a motel room even if it was during the Lights Festival. I had a large deluxe room which I believe they consider a suite. It was surprisingly clean (especially given dogs are allowed in the rooms). The bed was very comfy - I slept great. The breakfast was better than your standard continental and all the staff was very friendly. The location is great - within walking distance to everything but not noisy. The only complaint was I could hear everything in the room above me; heels, muted talking and barking dogs. I called the front desk about the dogs and they had the owners return to the room to quiet them. I'll definetly be staying here again!

Room Tip: If stairs aren't a problem ask for a third floor room - less noise.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed in one of the suites and were satisfied. The staff was friendly. Yes, it had a jacuzzi and a king size bed.... But some of the down sides; the walls seem paper thin. I've never heard through the wall of a hotel like this one, we could hear every foot step. Also the carpet was so dirty it was disgusting, it was a dark blue carpet too, so that means it was really stained. The outside looks Bavarian but the inside of the room didn't have a touch of bavarian-ness. We wanted the bavarian feel like the Alpine Rose Inn, we stayed there before and like it better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

We appreciate this guest's feedback.

The reviewer is right, the inside of the rooms is not really Bavarian, however, we have invested over $100,000 last year to upgrade our rooms. All our rooms have flat screen LCD TV's, fully upgraded premium bedding package, new comfortable chairs in every room and bedlamps as well as in-room standing lamps are all new.

Our next big project is the bathrooms. we are working on giving those an update and expect this project to be completed by April 30th of this year. We continuously invest in our Inn and our intent is to make this a very special place in Leavenworth. We have ownedthe Inn now for a little over 1 year and are pleased with our progress sofar, while realizing that the improvement never really stops.

Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews