We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Employees bending backward to accommodate us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Kennewick, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Employees bending backward to accommodate us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were in Kelso for a baseball tournament. Red Lion Hotel gave our group an excellent rate. When we checked in we were surprised by the size of the rooms, they were huge. We've asked for a rollaway bed and with the rollaway the room was still big, plenty of room to hang out for the kids. The sales manager and the hotel employees went out of their way to make us comfortable and happy when we asked if there was a TV for our xbox. Hotel is really close to many restuarants and activities. The baseball stadium was just a short walk away too. I should say the hotel was clean and modern, beds were comfortable, pool was clean. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevator so ask for a room on first floor if you don't want to carry your luggages up to seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kimiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    73
    68
    38
    29
See reviews for
89
50
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with our 2 night stay here. I always lean toward the Marriott branded hotels and was not happy to stay anywhere 2 nights without earning my beloved Marriott points.
Happily the room was clean and had no smells. Bed was comfortable. Awesome pillows and towels! Wife commented that the bathroom was small and the room lacked plugs and lighting for the hair and makeup routine but was adequate. The restaurant breakfast at $5 was a good enough deal. I was at south end, one external door would not open with my key and another door never actually locked so some minor security concerns there. The desk staff was always cheerful and helpful.

Room Tip: close to freeway so maybe avoid west facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank a k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We initially were going to book the Best Western Alladin via Hotwire for $58+tax. After seeing the BW only had an indoor pool with no hot-tub, we decided to splurge and spend $20 finding a great rate for the Red Lion with two Queens.

Was a little disturbed the hotel is right next to I-5 but it is very quiet in side with no freeway noise (good windows/insulation). We discovered the Sport Pub Restaurant does not allow minors - looked decent too with lots of plasma screens. Then we discovered the Hot Tub was not working (being remodeled). Decided to be cheapskates and save $20 and hit the BW Alladin instead. Alladin was definitely a big step down (no fridge or microwave like the RL.) Wish we would have stayed at the RL. If hot tub was working and on-site restaurant allowed minors, I'd give it 4 stars. This place though isn't worth more than $80 a night for the area ad type of hotel. I can see how people paying more may have been disappointed a bit. It's nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed here 2 weekend nights while visiting Mt St Helens. Room rate with AAA was good and easy freeway access. Double queen room was large and spacious but A/C fan not working properly in 90 degree weather in room facing west. (Between closing drapes and fan on High, we cooled the room off.)
Highlight: Staff in sports bar and morning buffet very helpful and friendly.
Low marks: Front desk staff miserably unhelpful. Have to agree with reviewer from earlier this summer to use term "apathetic" re: front desk. We asked about nearby restaurants, hotel sports bar, what to do in the area, what was the convention that was taking place in the hotel - got basically an I-don't-know response on all counts. Sunday morning while walking to the breakfast buffet and coffee bar, the guy behind the front desk was kicked back in a chair, reading the newspaper and never even looked up while we walked by. Weekend staff clearly needs a lesson in front desk customer service. I've not stayed in a Red Lion in a long time, and this was not a good advertisement to draw me back to another one! I'd try the Motel 6 with its better reviews and lower price if we make another visit to Kelso/Longview.

Room Tip: Appears to be a business hotel - wknd got quiet. Check AAA, senior, etc discounts. Maybe other disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahiawakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
184 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here one night on our trip to see Mt. St. Helens. Was adequate. No free breakfast and hotel was adequate. Our room was clean and there was a pool and jacuzzi that we used as well as the work out room and laundry. Is convenient to get to Portland, Mt. St. Helens or the coast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank be32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.6 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
3.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 km away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Kelso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Aladdin Inn
0.5 km away
Motel 6 Kelso - Mt St Helens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Property: Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Address: 510 Kelso Drive, Kelso, WA 98626
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Price range (per night): $124 - $184
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview in beautiful Kelso Washington is conveniently located off I-5 just 40 miles north of Portland, Oregon, 50 minutes from Portland International Airport and five minutes from Kelso Airport. Nearby you'll find shopping at Three Rivers Mall, Triangle Shopping Center, antique and outlet malls and casinos. You'll also find Mount St. Helens, Ape Caves and Lake Merwin a short drive away. For a nominal charge, we can arrange transportation to and from Portland International Airport.Our 161 spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the modern amenities you'd expect including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and fitness facilities. Guests can also enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool and a year-round whirlpool. Fishing, golf, bowling, water-skiing and sailing are all nearby.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The Pacific Grill is open for lunch, and the Scoreboard Lounge features a dinner menu, food and drinks with live entertainment on occasion.With 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we can accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Kelso
Red Lion Kelso
Kelso Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing