We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems Like Your Standard Red Lion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We initially were going to book the Best Western Alladin via Hotwire for $58+tax. After seeing the BW only had an indoor pool with no hot-tub, we decided to splurge and spend $20 finding a great rate for the Red Lion with two Queens.

Was a little disturbed the hotel is right next to I-5 but it is very quiet in side with no freeway noise (good windows/insulation). We discovered the Sport Pub Restaurant does not allow minors - looked decent too with lots of plasma screens. Then we discovered the Hot Tub was not working (being remodeled). Decided to be cheapskates and save $20 and hit the BW Alladin instead. Alladin was definitely a big step down (no fridge or microwave like the RL.) Wish we would have stayed at the RL. If hot tub was working and on-site restaurant allowed minors, I'd give it 4 stars. This place though isn't worth more than $80 a night for the area ad type of hotel. I can see how people paying more may have been disappointed a bit. It's nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 277 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed here 2 weekend nights while visiting Mt St Helens. Room rate with AAA was good and easy freeway access. Double queen room was large and spacious but A/C fan not working properly in 90 degree weather in room facing west. (Between closing drapes and fan on High, we cooled the room off.)
Highlight: Staff in sports bar and morning buffet very helpful and friendly.
Low marks: Front desk staff miserably unhelpful. Have to agree with reviewer from earlier this summer to use term "apathetic" re: front desk. We asked about nearby restaurants, hotel sports bar, what to do in the area, what was the convention that was taking place in the hotel - got basically an I-don't-know response on all counts. Sunday morning while walking to the breakfast buffet and coffee bar, the guy behind the front desk was kicked back in a chair, reading the newspaper and never even looked up while we walked by. Weekend staff clearly needs a lesson in front desk customer service. I've not stayed in a Red Lion in a long time, and this was not a good advertisement to draw me back to another one! I'd try the Motel 6 with its better reviews and lower price if we make another visit to Kelso/Longview.

Room Tip: Appears to be a business hotel - wknd got quiet. Check AAA, senior, etc discounts. Maybe other disco...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wahiawakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here one night on our trip to see Mt. St. Helens. Was adequate. No free breakfast and hotel was adequate. Our room was clean and there was a pool and jacuzzi that we used as well as the work out room and laundry. Is convenient to get to Portland, Mt. St. Helens or the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank be32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here one night, my wife and our 3 pre-teen kids. Got a great price using Priceline (it was a Monday night stay). Staff was very friendly at check-in, as well as when I called two days prior to make sure we'd have two double beds and a roll-away. The roll-away was already in the room when we got there; appreciated not having to wait.

We had a room off of the east side of the hotel, second floor. No view, but probably quieter, as rooms on the west side face Interstate 5. We slept great. Only gripe was the several long black hairs on the floor of the bathroom. Uggghh.

Kids loved the pool, and me, the spa. They had a fitness center there, but it's your typical "let's stuff two treadmills, a bike, and a weight set in a hotel room and call it our fitness center" set-up. The hotel definitely retains it's 70s vibe, with an 80s-era sports bar. All told, though, a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YakimaClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have stayed at quite a few properties in recent years, and quite a few RedLions. This property was "just ok". Booked two rooms that connected. Were given a room at the South end of the complex. I believe the north end may have newer rooms. Our rooms were pretty tired and looked out over the pool area. Nothing super bad to report and slept pretty well, just had a room that was pretty old and needed some help. I've said this before about other Redlions, but time to upgrade your rooms, get some flatscreen TV's and modern furniture.

Check in was pretty easy, as was check out. Nice enough people that work here..They are doing the best they can with what they have to work with. The Roaring start breakfast was great! Love the pancake machine..very cool.

Hotel is easy to access, just off of I-5. Really the only 3 star with restaurant/bar on property between Olympia/Tacoma and Portland.. If this is what you need, it really is your only options unless you drive a bit further. Free WI-Fi and parking are always a bonus!

I'm not sure we will stay here again unless we need to. I might drive the extra hour to find a better 3 star property, north or south. Like I said, it was "just ok". Redlion should drop the price on this property until they spend some money to upgrade it. It is not at the same level as other Redlions that i have stayed at in the past.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelso
0.1 km away
Super 8 Kelso Longview Area
0.6 km away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Kelso/Longview
3.2 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in Longview
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Kelso
126 reviews
2.3 km away
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#4 of 8 in Longview
25 reviews
28.3 km away
Best Western Woodland Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview

Address: 510 Kelso Dr, Kelso, WA 98626-3109
Region: United States > Washington > Kelso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kelso
Price Range: $119 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview in beautiful Kelso Washington is conveniently located off I-5 just 40 miles north of Portland, Oregon, 50 minutes from Portland International Airport and five minutes from Kelso Airport. Nearby you'll find shopping at Three Rivers Mall, Triangle Shopping Center, antique and outlet malls and casinos. You'll also find Mount St. Helens, Ape Caves and Lake Merwin a short drive away. For a nominal charge, we can arrange transportation to and from Portland International Airport.Our 161 spacious guest rooms and two suites feature all the modern amenities you'd expect including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and fitness facilities. Guests can also enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and children's pool and a year-round whirlpool. Fishing, golf, bowling, water-skiing and sailing are all nearby.We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The Pacific Grill is open for lunch, and the Scoreboard Lounge features a dinner menu, food and drinks with live entertainment on occasion.With 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space, we can accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. For business or pleasure, the Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center - Kelso/Longview is committed to care, comfort and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Kelso/Longview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Kelso
Red Lion Kelso
Kelso Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing